We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Backwater Adventure adventure”

Backwater Adventure
Ranked #9 of 85 Tours in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Backwater Adventure is the newest and coolest way to explore the 10,000 islands. Drive your own 2 seat catamaran. Your guide will take you on an amazing adventure winding through the mangroves at speeds up to 30 MPH! With a short stop on a private island to do some shelling or swimming.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Backwater Adventure adventure”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful adventure with Backwater Adventures. The small pontoon boat called a Craigcat was just big enough for the two of us and had a 25-horse engine which kept us moving along at a great speed. Our guides drove another pontoon and lead us on a beautiful trip through part of the area of 10,000 islands to the south of Marco Island, as well as through mangrove tunnels on Black Water River. Dolphins played around our boat and one even swam under the boat! We saw lots of beautiful birds as well. The owners took pictures of us and the wildlife we saw along the way and sent the pictures to us...a great way to remember this gorgeous day. A great way to get away from it all and experience nature up close and personal. The owner/guides were so considerate. We would definitely take this trip again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kingfisherkingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    23
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Highland Beach, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great boat ride”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Overall we are def glad we decided to try this adventure. Our tour guide was super nice and she took pics of us and emailed them ;) the craigcats were so fun to cruise around the water in we actually want to buy one! We got to stop and go shelling on a mini island and we saw dolphins swimming right next to us;) the mangroves are beautiful to tour around and it's def worth it over a canoe or kayak. Pack your lunch you can eat it on the tour. The only thing I would have liked to see more wildlife like alligators etc but can't win um all! Make sure to bring your sunblock;)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, General Manager at Backwater Adventure, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review. We look forward to seeing you again.

We were wondering what we could have done to get the 5 star review so that we may improve our tour.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“boat rental”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have a blast driving a Craigcat into the bayou and thru the mangroves of Goodland,Fla. Lisa is a superb guide and lots of fun. Our trip was cut short by heavy rain/wind, but i did get a chance to put the little craft through some heavy chop. i recommend this trip for all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAT289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, General Manager at Backwater Adventure, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you guys for the review. We look forward to seeing next time you are in Marco.

Just wondering what we could have done to get 5 stars so we may improve on our tour.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and two girls 11 and 13 went with Backwater Adventures this morning for a fun time without me as I am unable to do these type of things at the moment.

They came back raving about it. It was very rustic and we were greated by your tour guide Lisa who got us all organized. Hubby went with 13 year old first while the 11 year old sat on the cat with Lisa their tour guide for the first half of the tour. It went from Goodland out into Gulf of Mexico then up Black Water River, so narrow at points there was a mangrove canapy. Absolutely beautiful they tell me. 3-3.5 hour tour and so worth the money.

Great for ages 8 and up. They supply a cooler with water on each cat so that was nice.

The girls loved being able to actually drive the cats when they were with their dad and were zooming around the back country. Not much in the way of wildlife today due to many storms over previous days but they all had a super time regardless.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mumfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
2 reviews
“Great adventure”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family of 5, the youngest is 8, went out on these boats and had a fantastic time! We saw tons of dolphins and a few alligators! Our guide Lisa was very informative and just a delight. We did this trip last year, this year and we will do it again next year.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cait R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas B, General Manager at Backwater Adventure, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your second review...... Can't wait to see you again next year.........

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backwater Adventure also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Backwater Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing