We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun on the Craigcat”

Backwater Adventure
Ranked #10 of 85 Tours in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Backwater Adventure is the newest and coolest way to explore the 10,000 islands. Drive your own 2 seat catamaran. Your guide will take you on an amazing adventure winding through the mangroves at speeds up to 30 MPH! With a short stop on a private island to do some shelling or swimming.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
1 review
“Great fun on the Craigcat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

best excursion in the Marco Island area. Super fun to drive. Can't get closer to the water than this. Definitely worth the money. Will do it again next year

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    23
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly owners made all the difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The boat ride through the mangroves and out on more open water was a fun time. We saw some of the airboats and realized what a different experience that would have been - loud, crowded with people, very commercialized. Our experience, with the Backwater Adventure's two person open boats, was much more private and personalized.

We didn't happen to see much wildlife, which was disappointing, but I suppose that's just how it goes sometimes. We had fun getting some speed on the open water and it was nice to be in control of our own watercraft. The owners were friendly and helpful during the booking/reservation process, on our trip and with follow-up - they even emailed us photos that they took of us on the trip, which was very nice. It really felt like we were being taken out to see the sights by local friends, not an impersonal commercial business.

I wish that we would have been able to stop somewhere at a beach or something so that we could have changed drivers, as I was driving and was also the one who likes to take pictures. With the two handed driving, I wasn't able to do both. No complaints though, as we had a wonderful time and it was one of the highlights of our trip to South Florida. We loved seeing the area from that vantage point, which we would not have been able to do had we not taken this tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I happened upon Backwater Adventure in the Marco Review magazine. We called and went on a 3-hour excursion. What an experience! The time went by too quickly and the mangroves were very cool. Had a great time, Doug and Lisa!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Backwater Adventure in Marco Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

On Betsy's recommendation (that's probably really Elizabeth R from the last review), four of us joined Lisa for the tour on the Craig Cat's. It's so cool! We wore shorts and took a light jacket, and there was plenty of room behind the seats for a teenie purse plus a phone, camera, and jacket. Wear water shoes or leave them behind. The neatest part was back in the smaller islands where the mangrove canopy came closer together overhead. Kind of magical. After you get the hang of driving one of these boats, which is basically like two surf boards side by side with an engine on the back, it's easy. Lisa was a great guide and lots of fun. This review is from our afternoon on 12/14/12.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bisja01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Real Disney Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The boats that you drive yourself, and sit atop the water are awesome. We would have had a great trip just driving the boat. Add to that, the dolphons, manatee, alligators, many many birds, all so close...wow! I suggest this trip to all ages, you will have over three hours on the water, stopping just enough to view wildlife. Lisa and Doug hover around you just enough to keep you safe, but also let you take the watercraft and open it up, or just meander. Whatever suits your mood.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank socalsylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backwater Adventure also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Backwater Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing