We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Dog Friendly Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boat House Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2009

A great location at quiet northern tip of Marco. The only Dog-Friendly hotel we found on Marco, ideal for dog who was positively welcomed.

Lovely pool and boat dock/deck overlooking water, facing the sunset - the ideal place for your sun-downer with dog on the dock/deck (but no dogs on pool area). Apart from this hotel, Marco Island is not very dog-friendly - except for the breakfast bistro 200 yds away (dog under table OK) and we did find a park 2 miles away with a lake, for good walking.

Rooms well equipped, clean and comfortable with large walled patio area for each ground floor room. Desire, at reception, was most friendly and helpful.

Be Aware - Walls between rooms easily transmit sound if you have particularly noisy neighbours

Thank backspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 782 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2009

My wife and I spent just one night at the Boathouse Motel. It was one-third the price of the large corporate hotels. A clean family-run "Olde Florida" motel in a great location where biking and boating are just a stones throw away. We were delighted to find restaurants with great food and water views within walking distance from our room.
This a safe and comfortable establishment for those snowbirds needing a winter hideaway.
We lived on Marco Island in the 80's and it was nice to meet the owners ( Island residents) while enjoying the serenity of watching boat traffic moving along the Marco River out into the Gulf of Mexico! Wonderful!..... Frank and Barbara of NJ

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beach000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We just returned from a five night trip to Marco Island. So glad we chose The Boat House. Besides being more affordable than the larger chain hotels, it was much more quiet and peaceful. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location right on the river was beautiful. Saw dolphins swimming by every day. Fishing available right from motel docks. Location was convenient, close to restaurants, shopping, and activities. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

This little ( it only has 20 rooms) treasure is tucked away on Old Marco Island away from the traffic and tourist areas. It's an older motel but certainly not old! I The owner, Desiree, is very pleasant and eager to provide a wonderful stay at The Boat House. The motel has a beautiful deck area and dockage on a channel that is a short hop to the river leading out to the Gulf. The boat watching is fun!
The best room in the house is #11, a 2nd floor end unit with a private deck, plenty of afternoon sun, and great views! The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished. If you are looking for a quiet & comfortable place to stay, try it!
An added plus is that there are 2 very good restaurants, a cafe, and a "locals" watering hole, the Snook Inn, within walking distance!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jimbonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

This was our second stay at The Boat House and it was even better than the first time. We stayed two weeks, just fishing and relaxing. The rooms have plenty of space and are very clean. The housekeeping staff took very good care of us. We saw dolphins daily and even a manatee. You can walk to several different spots to dine. The owners are special folks and make you feel right at home. We loved it and are planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank korahNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

This was an amazing stay. I woke up each morning to views of boats; sail boats, big cruisers, yachts, fishing boats of all types, dolphins, all types birds; sea gulls, pelicans, blue herons, big white birds and small birds. The best of all; you are at the mouth of harbor channels to the gulf of mexico, . I could go on forever. The owners go out of their way to make you comfortable. It is an older, small motel for those of you who love quiet and the time to just soak up the ambiance. I absolutely loved it and you will too. When you go tell to make sure they keep a room for me.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Filis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We were looking for a convenient and affordable condo near the water. This is what we found, at ground level, with boats and birds right in front of our terrace. We do not go fishing, but our neighbors did everyday right from their terrace: fish directly to your oven if you want. Clean and quiet, fully equipped. Owners charming and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelerfromcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
72 reviews
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,647 reviews
Old Naples
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
#17 of 59 in Naples
730 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Naples
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Motel

Address: 1180 Edington Pl, Marco Island, FL 34145-2063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range: $141 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boat House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1994 The Boat House Motel is a quaint little place tucked away in Olde Florida. In this quiet and peaceful environment you will enjoy nature at its best while being close to “civilization”. We are committed to preserve the charm of “Olde Marco”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Boat House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Motel Hotel Marco Island
The Boat Hotel
Boat Hotel Marco Island
The Boat House Motel Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing