We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boat House Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on the island”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My family and I have been staying at the boat house motel for 24 years now my children are grown-up and my husband and I get to go by ourselves we enjoy the our morning coffee on the dock and evening refreshment watching the dolphins swim buy the owners just remodeled the rooms and keep the place immaculate can't say enough about it love it and will return again soon. Wonderful place for families and couples who just want time away..

Room Tip: Cant go wrong with any room stayed in all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
First off thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our property! We truly appreciate loyal guests who return time after time throughout the years. Guests like you allow us to make improvements on our accommodations and also allow us to make sure the changes we make impact the guests who stay with us in a positive way.

We hope that you return time after time throughout the years the years to come. We love seeing our guests who always chose to stay with us while vacationing on Marco Island!

We hope to see you soon and until next time, we wish you happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    204
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
161
354
28
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I had the good fortune of finding The Boat House Motel on Marco Island, FL recently. In need of a boat accessible, pet friendly, reasonably priced place on short notice, I stumbled upon a gem in The Boat House. Clean, roomy and comfortable only begins to describe my room there and an extremely helpful staff made what began as an impromptu stop, a great time for me and my party. Close by are shops and restaurants, but still very quiet and private for those wishing to not be disturbed. Located in Olde Marco, this place is fantastic, and special thanks to Claudine who made it all possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
First off we are so glad to hear that you had such a pleasant say with us! We love it when our guests are as happy as you were with our accommodations and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about our property.

The reviews our guests write about our motel allow us to reflect and improve the quality of their time spent with us. We take every word to heart and use it make sure all of our guests are as happy as you were. Our housekeepers are the hardest workers we know and they never disappoint with the cleanliness of the rooms!

We are especially proud to be located in such a wonderful and alive yet peaceful neighborhood. Olde Marco is truly a prime location to spend time relaxing in.

Claudine is one of those employees who work so hard to make the customer happy as can be and we will make sure that she knows our guests appreciate her.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about not only your stay at our motel but the people and staff who helped to make it that way!

Until next time, we wish you safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We just returned from another fabulous Memorial Day Weekend on Marco. While we could stay at any hotel on the island, we always chose The Boat House Motel. There is something special about this place, nothing fancy, just right. The rooms are always clean and comfortable and our boat is docked just outside our room with quick access to everything. Often we stay in the upper room on the end because of the amazing view. This time we stayed on the first floor unit #8 that allows pets. It is a large lovely room with an additional queen size bed, just perfect for a family and a pet. We look forward to our stay here every year and this year did not disappoint. We happy houred at Snook in each evening and visited Capri Fish House and Little Bar on Goodland for dinner, both fabulous meals. We ate breakfast at Susie's every morning. Thank you for another great stay Nick & Desiree, we love your place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 17theresaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoatHouseMotel, Owner at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about The Boat House Motel! We are happy that you had another great experience with us. We are well aware that you have many choices when it comes to accommodation on Marco Island and we thank you for continuing to choose The Boat House Motel. We really do look forward to having our repeat guests come back to us year after year! Until next time, we wish you happy and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. It was only for a few days but it was very comfortable, clean and convenient. People very helpful and friendly. We've stayed on Marco before in some of the high rise hotels and this place was much nicer!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoatHouseMotel, Owner at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make each guests stay as comfortable as possible. We will look forward to seeing you again! Until then, may you have many safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had fishing trip planned and stayed 2 nights.The room was small but very clean with mini fridge and coffee maker( no coffee.. FYI) we fished off the dock at night and enjoyed the beautiful and quiet evening
.Not a fancy place, but just what we needed and a great price! we walked to the Snook Inn and had dinner, other restaurants in walking distance also.I would recommend this to anyone looking for a casual, clean, pleasant room.

Room Tip: we stayed on ground floor near office, it was nice, clean,but no balcony or view. They do have rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2fish66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
First off we would like to express our gratitude for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We take pride in our small motel and what we have to offer. We love to hear when people say they were comfortable and it was just what they were looking for. Even though some of our rooms are a bit small we do offer rooms that are bigger and more suitable for some guests needs.

We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location and were able to enjoy some of the restaurants nearby.

We hope to see you again soon and we are happy to hear that your stay with us pleasant. Until next time we wish you happy and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
531 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

This was a 2 night beach getaway and I snagged a good mid week deal here. It's my 65 th birthday and the motel was maybe 30% occupied so I asked if we could have a room closer to the river and not next to reception since the place was empty-Nope. Today I was returning a found earring By their pooland mind you the office is generally open only 10-4 and asked if we could have a late check out so we could go to the beach and come back and shower -Nope. So I asked where do I leave my keys in the morning since you don't open before we go to the beach? Is anything wrong?? Well having been in the travel business for 38 years, yes. If your motel is empty why not move a client up, if you motel is empty why not give a late checkout does it matter if you clean the room Wednesday or Thursday?? There's nobody here. That being said it's a well kept motel that fronts the river, small pool, rooms are good, clean, tv, coffee maker, microwave and fridge. Water pressure is good and hot. Chairs outside for sitting and by the dock as well. Boat dock for a fee and pets permitted, extra charge I would assume. Next door they run the upscale condos and a 2 bedroom riverfront unit. Depends on what you pay and what you expect. My guess Europeans love this place. It's old world Florida and fine. Also restaurants and shops within walking. Everything by car in 5 minutes

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
First off, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Motel. We truly do take every word into consideration and use it to give our guests the most pleasant experience possible.

We do understand your frustration with not being able to be upgrade to a better room and not getting a late checkout. However we usually only have one housekeeper cleaning the rooms during the week and with only a few rooms occupied, our housekeeper could be out by 11 a.m. and we feel it would not be necessary to keep our housekeepers waiting around for an extra hour or so just to be able to clean one room. We also don’t like to keep our rooms dirty if we do have somebody checking into that room the next day and we don’t want our housekeepers to be stressed with cleaning extra rooms. As well as our housekeepers not being kept waiting, when we have somebody who uses a booking website/company other than us directly, we have to follow strict guidelines as to what type of room we are allowed to give our guests or we would be the ones penalized if they were not followed. We do hope you, as well as our other guests, understand.

We hope you decide to come visit us again and until next time we wish you happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have nothing bad to say about this motel. We have stayed here several times over the years. The room is clean, the pool is nice, and having our boat just a few steps away is great! The bed was comfortable and the A/C was nice and cold!!!

Room Tip: just talk to them and tell them what you want and how many people are in your party and they will se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoatHouseMotel, General Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
So glad to see your stay with us was once again satisfying. We love our guests especially the ones who continue to return to us throughout the years. We love hearing back from you since you have stayed with us throughout the changes we have made and we are glad to hear that they have all been the right ones.

We hope to see you back soon and until then, we wish you happy and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
559 reviews
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,562 reviews
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Motel

Property: The Boat House Motel
Address: 1180 Edington Pl, Marco Island, FL 34145-2063
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boat House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1994 The Boat House Motel is a quaint little place tucked away in Olde Florida. In this quiet and peaceful environment you will enjoy nature at its best while being close to “civilization”. We are committed to preserve the charm of “Olde Marco”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Boat House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Motel Hotel Marco Island
The Boat Hotel
Boat Hotel Marco Island
The Boat House Motel Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing