We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Boat House Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Visited Marco Island in January. Had no reservations arriving on the island, but a few locals recommended the Boathouse. It was a clean place with a friendly staff. Great location. You can walk to a few good restaurants and the Everglades are just a short drive. I personally had a blast fishing from their dock. Got some live shrimp down the road and caught a lot of sheepshead, catfish, and snook at night. Also cheap for the area!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ChalrestonDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    199
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
159
347
26
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have been to Marco many times in the past but this was the first time that we stayed at the Boathouse. Management was very friendly and attentive. The room was very nice and was everything we needed it to be. We stayed 2 nights, then our 3rd night in Florida was at Rodeway Inn and Suites in Ft. Lauderdale (we had a 7am flight out of Ft. Lauderdale airport so it was easier to stay there as opposed to driving from Marco to the airport at like 3am).

Now, we encountered a major problem but I do not know which hotel it originated from, so I will write a review for both places to be fair to both. Within a week after our trip both my wife and I had our legs and arms covered in extremely itchy bed bug bites. Again, I do not know where we picked the bites up, we did not inspect the bed areas in either hotel but I feel I need to report it.

Above all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay on the Island, it was just an incredible surprise to have this happen after our return. The bites can take up to 14 days to show, they itch like crazy, and look pretty nasty too. Do not wish these on anyone.

Room Tip: Wherever you stay, my advice to all is to pull back the bedsheets and coverings, and make a very det...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoatHouseMotel, Front Office Manager at The Boat House Motel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Please allow us to open with our sincerest apologies for what you and your wife had endured during your vacation. We would also like to express our appreciation for bringing this to our attention. Unfortunately bed bugs have been popping up around the country in the past few years and naturally has raised serious concerns about the comfort of our guests and the quality of our rooms. We are a small family owned motel and we take great pride in making sure our guests are comfortable and their stay enjoyable. We are hands-on owners actively involved in the day-to-day operation of our motel. I work in our office most of the week to personally greet our guests and to confirm first hand that our rooms are up to the standards that I would expect if I were a guest. My husband personally maintains the property and performs repairs where necessary. Because of the level of concern about bed bugs...we have made it a priority to assure that we are taking every measure possible to keep our rooms free of them. My husband has taken the time to learn how to inspect our rooms for any evidence of bed bugs and to be quite frank, we have been fortunate enough not to have found any. So please understand that we have NOT taken bed bugs lightly. Upon reading this review we immediately hired a professional service to inspect that specific room for bed bugs and they found absolutely no evidence or sightings. We schedule routine inspections on a regular basis as well. We have also inquired with recent occupants of same room and they've not experienced any issues. If a guest of The Boat House Motel gets bitten by bed bugs in one of our rooms we definitely want to know about it ASAP to ensure that the guest gets any medical attention that may be necessary and then address the issue to resolve it immediately. Since your review did mention that you also spent a night at The Rodeway Inn and Suites in Ft Lauderdale we took the liberty to research their recent reviews and discovered that the majority of them were quite unfavorable; a few even mentioning that bugs were sighted in the rooms. Other comments included how filthy the rooms are and that the staff was not attentive or accommodating. I can't speak for any other property but after seeing what was posted about the The Rodeway Inn and Suites, I am confident that the bed bug issue is in no way related to The Boat House Motel. Further research also concluded that bed bugs can be found in public places such as libraries, airplanes, rental cars etc. So they are not found only in overnight accommodations which is what most are led to believe. Again, we appreciate the information and are very sorry to hear about this incident. We sincerely hope that you are feeling better and that you consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Excellent place to relax, close to great restaurants like cafe the Marco, Snook inn.
We would definitely go back to this motel.great clean rooms, awesome services, great location on the water.The management staff was super helpful.nice pool area on the water, great place for fishing & boating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raygarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We did not want to leave! The staff was warm and friendly. This was our first time at the Boat House Motel. We are frequent travelers to Marco Island and we definitely be staying at the Boat House again. The property is tucked away and private right on tbe water... yet walking distance to great places to eat and entertainment. Very relaxing setting with heated pool and large dock for sunning and fishing. Large comfy clean room... beautiful location for sunsets. The service is outstanding. Ps: the password is on the back of the roomkey. You will undedstand when you get there!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jewelsdana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Marco Island whilst driving around Florida and went on a search for a place to stay for the night - we weren't keen on a big resort type hotel and came across the Boat House in Old Marco - absolutely perfect!

The owner Desree was so welcoming and gave us lots of handy tips on places to go, including the Sunset Grille which was fantastic for watching the sunset over the beach.

We were very kindly upgraded to a King Room (thank you!!) which was very spacious with all you could need including fridge, microwave, dining table, plenty of towels (including beach towels) and heaps of handy info in the welcome book. We had a very comfortable night sleep, everything felt very clean and homely.

The outside deck area is wonderful! It was so quiet and peaceful, we were lucky to have it all to ourselves for the afternoon and loved every minute.

The motel is very near to the Snook Inn which has good food and another good view out onto the water...it is also very close to the Marina where you can head out and do boat trips, kayaking etc...so all in all a great location!

If you are looking for a good value, clean, friendly place to stay with the best outdoor space we came across on our entire trip..head to the Boat House Motel when in Marco Island!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank liv_sa_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The location of this hotel was very good, on check in the owner was very helpful with information on various restaurants in the area. The room was very nice and the cleaning staff were very good. I have only two grumbles, if you like sleep then beware of the air conditioning unit, the noise was like a jumbo jet taking off throughout the night! And while there was a fridge and microwave in the room, there were no plates or cutlery. Lovely dock .

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms were like but we rented room 20 and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The boat house motel was wonderful ! very spacious rooms very clean and lovely hostess desiree ! the location was great we walked to the snook inn for dinner and cocktails ( another great place) and also some very nice little shops and art gallery right there ! would definetly go back !

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor with a huge deck outside very nice to sit out !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Naples
Hyatt House Naples
Hyatt House Naples
#5 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Old Naples
Bellasera Resort
Bellasera Resort
#3 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Motel

Property: The Boat House Motel
Address: 1180 Edington Pl, Marco Island, FL 34145-2063
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Boat House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1994 The Boat House Motel is a quaint little place tucked away in Olde Florida. In this quiet and peaceful environment you will enjoy nature at its best while being close to “civilization”. We are committed to preserve the charm of “Olde Marco”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boat House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Motel Hotel Marco Island
The Boat Hotel
Boat Hotel Marco Island
The Boat House Motel Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing