We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On The Water”

Mangos Dockside Bistro
Ranked #17 of 121 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Waterfront dining on Smokehouse Bay...Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and sushi. Large full liquor bar. Salt water aquariums, waterfall, and family-friendly for children. Dogs are welcome for patio dining too. Gluten Free menu choices, as well as vegetarian selections. Numerous fresh seafood choices. Family owned and operated. And Marco Island's premiere catering service!
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“On The Water”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Eat inside or outside waterside. Plenty of parking. I loved the Salmon dinner. Sunday Brunch is wonderful and Drinks are great. Walk along the docking area and check out the boats and yachts.

Helpful?
Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    450
    187
    86
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great setting”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Dining outside on the dock is a treat. We went for lunch on Friday and the weather was beautiful. They serve breakfast until 2, and that was a plus. The food was very good but our waiter was only so-so. We went back on Sunday around 1:30 and it was very crowded. They had a buffet and it was obvious that this is a popular spot for Sunday brunch. There were about a dozen people waiting to put their names on a wait list and the hostess virtually ignored all of us; it wasn't at all obvious what she was doing. Nor was she apologetic about the delay. It was also obvious that there are a lot of regulars in that several who arrived after us were seated ahead of us. The owner went to a number of tables and socialized, but didn't stop at our table. Nevertheless, the food was very good ( I can especially recommend the tropical salad) and we may go back but with lower expectations of the staff.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fobisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren F, Guest Relations Manager at Mangos Dockside Bistro, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Hi, my name is Jamie, I am the owner's Aunt along with Chef Annie's sister, we try very hard to keep things moving along at this very busy time. Not sure if you realize that we have only been open since Oct. 2012. We so appreciate your review about the great food, the Sunday Buffet is a huge success. One suggestion would be to show up for the buffet on Sunday at about 10:15 or so before the rush by at least 11:30. We hope you try us again, in the future if you have issues always ask for Lauren or Harry (our head server), when you really need her, Chef Annie will be there! Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eat elsewhere”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Prices were way too high. Cup of soup for $7, not one hunk of lobster in it.

Servers didn't know what was going on: requested sushi but was told there was none because it was Sunday. But, we saw 2 different tables get sushi.

But the worst part: bus boy spilled quite a bit of mystery liquid down my back. He and other servers noticed but did not say a word to me. Inexcusable.

This was easily the worst dining experience I have had, and I dine out several times a week. Will never return and will never recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank oak121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren F, Guest Relations Manager at Mangos Dockside Bistro, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Hi, thanks for taking time to write your review. I'd like to share with you why our soup. by the way had to be lobster bisque, did you know that it is made from scratch, from boiling down carrotts, onion, celery, lobster to even make the stock? We offter the freshest home made soups you will find in the area, that cost just a little more.

Sorry about the spill, someone should have said something for sure. Please always feel free to ask for the owner, Lauren or our head server, Herry, they are sure to make you happy.

Thanks and please try us again, the food is great!
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We tried Mangos for lunch. The veggie wrap was a shell with lettuce, the burger average. We decided to give it another chance, since it was our favorite breakfast place last year (their old locaton). After waiting 15 minutes for a waiter/waitress, we approached the hostess to see if we could get a table with service. She didn't understand, but the 2nd hostess said she would take our table. She came over and took our order, delivered our drinks, and we didn't see her for another 40 minutes. We left without eating. Rick was mingling with the customers, but he never approached our table, maybe because we didn't have service and he didn't want to hear it. I think there is vast improvement needed to even come close to their old style and quality.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren F, Guest Relations Manager at Mangos Dockside Bistro, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Hi Jim, this is Jamie, I'd like to thank you for your review and try to help. As you already know the food is suppurb at Mango's Dockside Bistro as it was at The Chef's Express. Some growing pains and a new location takes a little time to get it all right, we apologize for any inconvience we may have caused you.

By the way, Rick cares about their business and would never ignore you because he knew you didn't have service, always ask for him, or call him over, he would have waited on you himself!

I hope you'll try again and remember we are new much bigger than before and that takes a little time to get perfect. We strive to keep you happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
1,177 reviews
1,171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Casual Elegance on the water.”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

A beautiful restaurant with a stunning view. Great service from a friendly staff. Food is very good and I love the presentation. The owner came through and chatted with each table. A nice touch. Breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4bird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren F, Guest Relations Manager at Mangos Dockside Bistro, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Hi, my name is Jamie, I'd like to thank you personally for taking the time to wright this review. We work very hard to make the freshest, prettiest food you can get on Marco Island. Chef Annie says, people eat with their eyes, so true, the food tastes as good as it looks. We care as a family, will continue to try our best to keep our staff and food the best it can be.

Thanks again, see you soon.
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangos Dockside Bistro also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mangos Dockside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing