We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offensive smell, moldy and grimy condo, stay away!”
Review of Sea Winds of Marco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Winds of Marco
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We booked in May for room 505 for Aug.1 for 1 week. Me, my husband and our 6 yr. old daughter were so excited when we were finally driving there from our home in Orlando.We were going to spend the week on the beautiful Crescent Beach. We were there last year for 1 week and loed it! We stayed at the Eagles Nest. We loved it so much, that we wanted to return. We booked Sea Winds because Eagles wasn't available this time..No big deal. The pics on the computer were beautiful and the owner was nice on the phone, so we didnt suspect anything bad could possibly happen. Well!! After driving 4 hours, we got the key from Prudential, and drove to the condo. As soon as we walked in, we went to the guy at the window to check in. He smelled of ciggarettes, but we over looked it. We noticed one of the 2 elevators in the building was wrapped with caution tape, broken. So we took the stairs instead of waiting forever for the only other one. We opened the door to the condo and were startled by the ammonia like stench. We now had eyes running and nose and throat burning. We knew we couldnt stay. We were looking for the source and found mold all over the bathroom door and the a/c filter was filthy and on the floor.It seemed like the smell came from the a/c, so we shut it. It got so hot, that we opened up the doors to the beach view and had a nice breeze, We went and bought candles and room fresheners hoping it would help. We wanted to leave the next day after we couldnt stand it any longer. The owner apologized and promised us a full refund of $1200. We left, and found another place on the beach that was wonderful, but our vacation was cut short due to the availability of the second condo. Now we recieved an email from the owner of the filthy condo telling us how its all our fault that she paid for a/c inspection and mold inspection and for her maid to come by to smell the apt. By the way, the maid said the smell was so terrible that she felt so bad for us. She actually came in our car with us for the resy of the afternoon to help us find another place. She showed us a few condos, but they werent on the beach and the one that was on the beach was too expensive.We thanked her, and we exchanged #s incase she found anything for us. The owner wrote in her email to us that the maid smelled nothing! She also wrote that the previous renters had no problem. Id like to hear that for myself...If there ever were previous renters there. We dont want anyone to go through this, especially with children, so beware of the room505!We will be suing her for a full refund plus travel expenses that we wouldnt have paid if we never rented from her, plus any other fees that accumilate.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DreaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seawinds505, Owner at Sea Winds of Marco, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2010

Our first indication of a concern was a phone call Sunday August 2 from this renter.
-She claimed an odour was coming from the A/C system.
-On calling the renter back we were told by the husband that there was no problem with the unit.
-We sent our house-keeper to the property within 30 minutes.
-She reported no odour other than the vinegar used by the renters to clean the counter-top.
-The A/C had been turned off by the renter and the patio doors were wide open.
-Temperature outside was in the high 90's.

-Our housekeeper had cleaned the unit the previous day and left the A/C at the usual 72 degrees.
-The housekeeper is personally contracted by us for the past 4 years and always cleans our unit personally.
-We immediately contacted the A/C contractor who could not attend until Monday morning.
-On calling back again I spoke to her husband who stated "honestly, theres no problem with the unit".

-We offered to accomodate the family at the Beach Club, directly across the street, until the alleged A/C concern was addressed.
-The renter declined the offer and departed.

-A thorough inspection of the A/C system to conducted the following morning. The technician reported no fault or odours.
-He recommended a precautionary flushing of the system due to shut-down by the renter for 36 hours in such period of heat and humidity.
-This was completed immediately at a cost of $350.00.

-The elevators were totally replaced by Management in August 2009, at short notice. Only one elevator was available at any time that week.
-The renter's comments about the tobacco odour from the security person on duty is no reflection of the management.
-Smoking is not allowed anywhere on the premises.

-We never offered the renter her money back as her claims were groundless.
-We offered alternative accomodation at our own expense for the Sunday night which was declined.

-We have owned and rented this unit for 5 years without a single complaint.
-We have numerous return visitors who always provide very positive reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 73 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a one-week stay at the Sea Winds. The property is clean and well maintained - we always saw guys cleaning up around the pool / spa area and attending to the grounds. The location is very good on the southern part of the beach. The property does have a lot of locked doors and gates, but this is only a minor annoyance. The views of the beach and sunsets were great for the balcony on our unit. At night the building seemed very quiet, but the cleaning crews in the morning can be a little noisy.

Be aware that the beach itself is not soft sand. It is rather hard-packed and covered with shells. You will need water shoes / sandals to get to the water without hurting your feet. The beach umbrella in our condo had an auger attachment so that it could be drilled down into the sand. Once in the water though, the sand is firm but shell-free. Very relaxing.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Sea Winds. Given the modest rental costs, we felt that it was a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laslototh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We were happy with the condition of our condo and the cleanliness of the amenities in general. We loved the views from our condo a corner unit that gave you 180 degree views of the gulf and surrounding area. The lanai was large enough to accomodate 8 people with 2 tables and 8 chairs. I was also surprised that the building doesn't have any outdoor grills. I would caution people with children that this area is not particularly kid friendly. Also when leaving I asked the condo office if I could print out boarding passes and was charged $4 for printing 4 sheets, hmmm. All in all even though it is a older building our unit was nicely maintained. I would caution people to question owners when renting if their unit has been recently updated as not all units are equal.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank swolfe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

The SeaWinds of Marco is a 17 Story Condominium located on the south part of the Island. This was our first time ever staying at the SeaWinds and I was a bit scared because I was used to staying at some of the newer hotels on Marco rather than on an older condo. All the things I worried about were totally the opposite. This place is so beautifully taken care of. The lobby, the parking lot, the pool, and even the elevators. Everything is well maintained by the Condo - Association. We rented through a company called Charde Rental for one week. We really enjoyed it. We had beautiful views of the ocean from the 15th floor. It's great! If you stay here, you will find it very relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Arielitoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Seawinds. We were very impressed and will definitely go back. It is true that there are a lot of gates and locks, but I view this as a good thing!! We felt very safe and secure during our stay. Our condo was clean and well supplied with everything that we needed. The view from our balcony of the Gulf of Mexico was priceless. It is the first time that we had stayed at a beachfront condo, and it certainly spoiled us for anything else!! The pool was very nice, but I spent most of my time at the beach since the water was 85 degrees. Parking is very convenient, and the staff was very friendly. I can't wait to return for another stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank glitterbug55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Parsippany, New Jersey
126
Reviewed March 25, 2005

Seawinds is not a hotel. It is a 16 floor building of individual condominiums. It does not have a hotel staff. There is an office, with a building manager who is on duty from 8AM to 4 PM, Monday through Friday only. At night and weekends there is only a security guard. Each apartment is indvidually owned, individually decorated and furnished and individually maintained by its owner. There is no hotel style room service. The renter does the daily care. Those apartments that are rented to vacationers are rented either by real estate companies on Marco or by contacting the individual owner directly. There are 900 sq. foot units and 1100 sq. foot units. All have two bedrooms. The difference is in room size. All have terraces facing the beach. The beach is beautiful, like all of Marco, but the building does not provide beach chairs or huts. The individual unit owner may provide chairs for the beach. The pool and inground hot tub are beautiful, with plenty of lounges and chairs at no charge. The building is excepionally well maintained, landscaped and clean, public areas beautifully decorated. There are two tennis courts with no charge for using them. The place is great for a relatively low cost Marco family vacation, but don't expect hotel service and amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
26  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Indianapolis, IN
116
Reviewed May 11, 2004

The complex is very well kept. The pool and hot tub are clean. The condos (we stayed in a two bedroom) are kind of small (about 900 sq ft) and don't have full size kitchens. We rented through Century 21 and they did take care of most of our issues promptly. The beach is nice if you like shelling. It is also well kept and clean.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
4.1 mi away
Olde Marco Island Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
72 reviews
16.0 mi away
Naples Bay Resort
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
583 reviews
1.0 mi away
JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
#2 of 12 in Marco Island
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Winds of Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Winds of Marco

Address: 890 S Collier Blvd, Marco Island, FL 34145-6156
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Marco Island
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Winds of Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Winds Of Marco Hotel Marco Island
Sea Winds Of Marco Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing