We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marco Beach Resort - Nearly ----perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Marco Beach Resort - Nearly ----perfect.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2007

We have been looking for years for a property of this type in Florida. Most of the hotel rooms with kitchens are either really tacky or over priced. The Marco Beach Resort was nearly perfect in every way. We emailed ahead with a request for a high floor which was honored. We stayed in room 1212 top floor. The room, kitchen, decor, view, toiletries, bathroom, everything -top notch. Ocean view was well worth whatever extra we paid.

Supermarkets nearby and a 7-11 within walking distance. Although the fridge was a small size, it easily held all groceries for our family of three. Housekeeping gave us extra plates and bowls to use.

Ocean warm, sandy with gentle waves...we loved it. Beach attendents were really nice and attentive.

Pool was great, nice chairs and lots of towels. Here is what nearly ruined this idyllic vacation: A 'group" from a Florida health company with a "citrusy" name. While the adults must have been attending a conference during the day, the 12 or so children overtook the entire pool with cannonballs, tackle, football (yes football), and foul language in the pool. In an unruly and disrespectful way, they terrorized anyone who was brave enough to enter the pool. There was a general feeling of disgust by other guests. It was really, really...bad!


Otherwise the Marco Beach Resort was great. I wrote to the manager about the pool situation, but did not receive a reply. When we returned home we realized we had left something in the room, and they kindly Fed Exed it to us.

We would definitely return, but I will be sure that that particular group is not booked when we are.

The Marco website describes its dresscode, etc. I would like to see that management would be a bit more aware of enforcing the standards they present.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — unsupervised children at pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rileycando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    270
    85
    40
    23
See reviews for
428
569
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

This was certainly close to the best resort we have ever encountered in our travels!! We stayed here for four days with our three teenage sons. The service was second to none. All of the staff was friendly and attentive. Requests for housekeeping, room service or valet service were met promptly and professionally. We stayed in a two-bedroom full Gulfview suite. The suite was very roomy which gave everyone a place to spread out. There was a full kitchen which we used for breakfast and quick snacks. Sitting on the balcony in the early morning with the newspaper and cup of coffee taking in the scenic views of the Gulf was pure relaxation. The pool and beach were both beautifully maintained. Housekeeping services were provided twice daily.

Food and Food service was very good but a little pricey. However once again the staff at the Pool and Beachfront Grills were exceptionally friendly and genuinely eager to provide you with top-notch service. In particular Mike a bartender at the grills did a wonderful job of taking care of everyone in the family with Margaritas for the adults and Strawberry Smoothies for the boys.
At the beach and pool around 3 pm each day a refreshing lemon or raspberry sorbet was served to the guests. It was nice touch that we looked forward to after a day in the sun and the water.

The whole family enjoyed the resort from start to finish. We are already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Liked — Roominess and Quality of the Suite
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

We have been staying at this resort twice a year for the last 5 years. We obviously like it. This past Labor Day weekend, however, their service was up to par with the local motel 8. After 4 days, I never new what a pool towel felt like. We had to drip our way through to our room. The answer was always "we ran out of towels". The same person who told us this, somehow managed to show up with 6 fluffy new towels to a party of 4 drinking away at a table by the pool (He obviously was expecting a hefty tip from the not so illustrious crowd). We are still waiting for an order of pancakes to complement our breakfast. When we called 1 hour later, the answer was, "thanks for letting us know". Our turndown service was limited to opening the sofa bed. Same old wet towels, no shampoo, no toilet paper.
This is highly uncharacteristic for this property, but if they can't handle a holiday weekend, next time we'll be staying a place that really earns its diamonds.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank andsof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights in a two bedroom, gulf view suite. The service was exceptional. Valet parking is mandatory but the valets are very quick and helpful. Whenever we aked for the car it was brought around promptly and we were always offered a cold bottle of water for the road! The poolside service was great as well. Our lunch by the pool was tasty. This resort is pricey but worth the money. I hope to return again soon!

  • Liked — Space
  • Disliked — Slow hot water
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lrb3665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon, we wanted someplace quiet and romantic and we got it!!! I loved the ocean and the beach was pristine. I would highly recommend doing the catamaran beach trip to the island of shells, best shelling in the US! I even found a huge intact Conch shell! Also right off our beach we booked parasailing, go with the guys with the smiley face parachute, they take you out the longest and they are great. The turndown service every night was amazing, I've never stayed anywhere near this nice and their robes are to DIE for!! We loved the robes!!!! The bathroom is perfect for a honeymooning couple, huge tube and shower and they keep it so clean! We had an oceanview room and it was nice eating out every morning. I recommend going here during hurricane season actually, watching the thunderstorms off our balcony every night was beautiful, truly romantic - you also can't beat their beds and linens, so comfy! I would recommend this hotel again and again and again, i want to go back just a matter of when we can afford it!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank lydarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valrico florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

My husband had stayed at the Marriott next door the week before for business and loved it and Marco Island itself. Since we were going to be celebrating our 34 th anniversary I checked out trip advisor to book at the Marriott and decided with all the good reviews for the Resort i would book there instead. it was not terrible but it was not at all what the reviews said. The suite was very nice and the water view was beautiful. However we were disappointed in the service and the food in the restaurant. Although our waiter was very attentive but seemed to be quite forgetful. we did not recive our appetizer and our salad was wrong. this is a fine dining restaurant that did not meet any fine dining criteria. service and food mediocre at best. we would stay next door at the marriott next time.
beverly and tony
valrico florida

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank adellagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

My family stayed at the MBOR from July 17-21. I didn't personally pick this resort, I actually won a trip through a charity golf tournament. I have two children ages 4 and 7. This resort was very nice. It was clean and the staff was friendly. The 1 bedroom suite was a good size for the 4 of us. The room had a kitchen with a fridge, micro, and full size oven. The only complaint that I have with the kitchen was there was no can opener or cookie sheet - but we made due. We were in room 807 and had a partial ocean/beach view and full pool view that was nice. Other posts mention that the 5th floor is good for small children - which is true, but you will not get an ocean view on the fifth floor.

Also, they require you to valet your car. There is a $15 per day charge for this. There is no self park for your car.

This is a small family and couple type resort. It is very quiet and relaxing. The beach is very good for children as the water is very shallow. They provide chairs, towels, and umbrellas at the beach. All the staff is very nice. However, be aware they do NOT allow you to bring coolers to the beach or pool. We were asked to take ours back to our room. This was probably one of the most disappointing things for us. They have beach food/drink service however, their mixed drinks were $10 each (and kids virgin drinks $5) plus a automatic %18 gratuity and tax was added to every order - even if you walked up to the bar. Again, this rule seems clearly so that they can make more money, not about guests being comfortable. The pool is small but was adequate for us and the kids.

We took one day and went to Tiger Tail beach (coolers allowed!). This is a public beach which is extremely beautiful. You will have to pay $6 to park. Once you park and walk, you will come to a lagoon don't worry - the beautiful part is across the lagoon. Be aware that you will have to wade across the lagoon with your stuff (which is low tide and is shallow). My kids swam and walked across while we carried the stuff. Or you can take a long walk around and finally get to it. This beach is not easy to get to but makes it all the more worth it. Great sea shells. The ocean here is a little deeper but my kids were fine in the water here. You may want to pack some food and plenty of water/drinks for this trip. Also it is very hot and sunny so take plenty of sun screen. You can take an umbrella out there but there is no shade otherwise. Definitely worth the trip.

Another day we took a shelling/sailing trip. This was also alot of fun despite the storm that we got caught in (it made it more of an adventure). This is where we found our best sea shells and sand dollars. The trip was fun and the kids had a blast.

On our last day, it was raining all day. We decided to leave the resort a little early and drive to Naples. Naples is a very nice, upscale community. There are two quaint shopping areas downtown. It was raining so we didn't get out an explore too much but it looked fun. Not sure the kids would have enjoyed that part as much.

Overall, I would recommend this resort to families and couples wanting to get away. I would not recommend this resort for singles. It was a really nice property, however it did have alot of rules. The staff was very friendly always making conversation with my friendly 4 year old. I would say that we would go back, however our family has a rule - we never visit the same place twice!

  • Liked — Clean, Friendly Staff, Beach Location
  • Disliked — Rules!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMamma07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#4 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Property: Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145-5304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Green Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel
Marco Beach Ocean Resort Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing