We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Excellence of Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“The Excellence of Relaxation”
Reviewed May 30, 2006

We arrived on 5/25 through 5/28. This is our third visit. I must say, the staff is extraordinary. The service is outstanding. This year, I found the BEST MOJITO drink probably in all of South Florida. You need to find Carmichael, the bartender by the pool and ask him to fix one. This is an outstanding drink to sip by the beach as you lay in the beach chair watching the surf, and dolphins frolic in the water.

I would recommend, they add a pasta dish to the room service menu. Other than this, we absolutely enjoy our stays in this resort. They were able to accomodate our wish for a fishing trip, golf and shopping.

Doesn't get much better than this!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    275
    85
    42
    23
See reviews for
443
587
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2006

A nice all suite hotel but we were disappointed to find that we had a gulf view but were not able to see the beach. Even though we were on one of the higher floors we could not see any beach because the restaurant Sale E Pepe's is beach front and blocks your view. If you are in a gulf view and a high floor room you can see the top of the restaurant and the AC/Heating units that are on top of the building. We were able to see a small view of the water beyond the restaurant. We found it strange to be out on our gulf view balcony only able to look at the restaurant (and to think we paid extra for this view)! This wasn't what we had in mind when we booked our room. If you are going to stay here you might as well book the garden view room which is on the same level as the pool and cheaper.

The rooms were nice but very small. We had the one bedroom which was ok for two people. We had no place to put the luggage racks for our suitcases as every inch of space was taken. The sofa made a bed but I'm not sure how you could open it up and use it. The kitchen cookware was very limited and even though we had a microwave there were no bowls or microwave dishes to use to cook anything. There was an oven but no cookie sheet. My worst experience was when a previous guest's thong underwear fail from the closet shelf on me. (Yuck!!)

The hotel web site mentions they have a dress code but while we were there it was not followed. There were several things that we did like about the hotel. The beach and pool areas were not as crowded as other hotels we have stayed at on Marco Beach. Providing beach chairs, umbrellas, water and sorbet were nice touches.The concierge staff were excellent and even delivered directions and copies of restaurant menus to our room. We were on The Beach, Bed & Breakfast Getaway package and you could have breakfast in the restaurant or room service without additional charges. Breakfast was very good! Our hotel stay was not bad but not as upscale as we had expected for the price. Definitely don't stay here for the view (or lack of it)!! I think we will stay at the Marriott next year!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank SCFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2006

Came across from east coast for weekend getaway with my wife. From arrival to check out,the staff and service was friendly and excellent. Our top floor suite with its spacious bathroom was spotless and had a great view. Our only objectives were to relax poolside and in our suite and we enjoyed every minute, especially in the resort robes and slippers that were on our turned down bed when we arrived friday night. This resort is not a congested cattle ranch like the ones down the street that we have also stayed at previously. We will come back again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Rocko352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2006

I appreciate all the reviews that brought us to the Marco Ocean Beach Resort. What a great place for a quiet relaxing vacation. We've been to Marco Island before so we knew that there wasn't a lot to do there, but we were looking forward to that. It's such a beautiful area. We loved our suite and all the extra touches. Huge shower, great linens, robes & slippers, turndown service with chocolates, sorbet at 3 everyday, etc. The staff created a happy pleasant environment. Our waiter Emil at Sale E Pepe's was excellent. Pelican Bend on the Isle of Capri had the best fried oysters I have ever had!! They melted in your mouth. We had breakfast at Breakfast Plus. Great selections, good food and lots of it. Had the best steak we have ever had at TruLucks in Naples. Yes the beach chairs at the beach were a little close together and the pool is small. Other than that it was a nice experience. Hi to Peter who works at the beach. You did a great job too!! (He reads the reviews. Doesn't that say something great about their staff????)

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank WmsptPaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2006

My husband and I had to postpone our honeymoon in St. Vincent right before our wedding and I have to say we ended up having a great time for four nights in Marco Island instead. We reserved a room on their internet website last minute, but everything went very smoothly. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and nice. The service in the hotel, spa and restaurant was also wonderful. The beach was very lovely and it was nice to receive sorbet and lemon water when it was especially hot. My only complaint is that the chairs are too close together, but there is only so much beach. Don't plan to have any "quiet time" on the beach, especially if there are families with children around. In any event, we would definitely go back.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank wgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2006

After reading the reviews on TA, we decided on a brief stay at the MBOR as part of my daughter's spring break vacation in south Flowida. While the ancillary faciities at the hotel were relatively modest in extent due to its small size (100 suites), they were certainly sufficient. The service from the front desk to the concierge to the belhops/valets were exemplary. Friendly and very helpful without being obsequious or pompous in the least. Tony (one of the valets) is typical of the staff---longtime staff member and local resident---extremely well versed and attentive.

Two minor shortcomings of little consequence: 1) the pool is very small and populated by small children
2) the beach lounge chairs are strap-type lower-end furniture and not consistent with the caliber of the hotel and its internal furnishings. The beach itself is very nice; very white with many shell fragments that may necessitate sandals for those with sensitive feet but with many intact and beautiful shells for the beachcombers.

We ate dinner every evening in Naples which is a twenty minute car ride away. Be sure to try Chops and Pazzo on Fifth Avenue if you can. Both excellent and would be competitive even in the San Francisco and New York restaurant scene.

The room was elegant and spacious; the full kitchen a big plus if you enjoy your own coffee and fruit in the morning. We have stayed at the Ritz in Naples and prefer MBOR by far. Would we come back? Absolutely. We also stayed at the Trump in Sunny Isles and the Westin Diplomat in Hollywood on this trip and both took a back seat to MBOR.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
20 Thank KlingonWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onekama, MI
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2006

We just got back from the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. Everything there was really lovely. The staff was courteous and helpful. Our Gulf view suite was very nice, including the full kitchen. The balcony view of the Gulf and pool were outstanding. Housekeeping was extremely attentive, including the turndown service. The pool waitstaff was really great, and so were the fun cocktail selections. The beach staff was energetic, too, providing chaises and umbrellas, as well as ice water and the daily afternoon mango sorbet. What a refreshing treat! We enjoyed the Beach and the Poolside lunch service twice. It was very good, although predictably pricey... (What hotel food service isn't?) It was worth it. There are also plenty of nice restaurants nearby on Marco. We used the Tripadvisor restaurant guide, and we were very happy with our choices. (Susy's for breakfast; Cafe De Marco and Blu Fusion for dinner, and The Snook Inn for lunch. All were very good.) Neighboring Naples is hectic, but we found Marco Island relaxing and just what we wanted in a March getaway to Florida.

Helpful?
16 Thank glenpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
3.3 mi away
Olde Marco Island Inn and Suites
15.2 mi away
Naples Bay Resort
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Property: Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145-5304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Green Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel
Marco Beach Ocean Resort Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing