We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2005

My wife and I just returned from a 5 day getaway at this hotel and we were pampered each day we were there. The beach service is excellent and we saw dolphins every day. The best time to see them is before 10am or after 4pm. Dinner at Sale E Pepe was outstanding with excellent service and a knowledgeable sommelier. If you like fine dining, drive to Naples and eat at Bleu Provence. This was one of the best meals we have ever had and this restaurant compares favorably with the best restaurants in Atlanta. One evening we saw a movie at Marco Movies and this is the coolest theatre we have ever been to. You can eat a full meal or do as we did and have popcorn and beer while you take in the movie. A waitstaff will take care of you during the movie... a truly unique experience. Also try the Irish Pub in the parking lot of Marco Movies. The singer was outstanding and the decor is authentic. Try Breakfast Plus for a good inexpensive breakfast. We had massages at the spa and they matched the rest of the hotel - outstanding. There is much talk of the shells on the beach. You must wear some type of shoe but the shells do not detract from a great beach with beautiful sunsets. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    267
    85
    40
    23
See reviews for
420
565
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2005

We just returned from 6 nights at Marco Beach Ocean Resort We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Very roomy. Everything was spotless and the housekeeping staff kept it that way. The bed was very comfortable. It is a pillow bed and has down pillows and a down comfortor. One of the hair dryers did not work in one of the bathrooms. I notified the front desk and within 10 minutes it was replaced with a brand new one. No delays here. The beach staff is friendly and as stated in another review, they do take you to a chair and lay out a towel for you. The pool was at a perfect temperature and the pool side service was wonderful. Valet parking only. There is a $15.00 per day charge for this. The valet staff was quick, professional, and friendly. We ate at Sel de Pepe for dinner one evening. The food was outstanding as well as the service. Expensive. The meal for 4 including 2 glasses of wine and tip was nearly $280.00. But you can save up for this excellend dinner by eating quick lighter meals in the room. The suite we were in had a full refridge, sink, dishwasher, stove and microwave. There was a set of dishes for four and pots and pans, along with a toaster. A short drive to the grocery store is worth the effort. We preferred Winn Dixie over Publix. I did not try out the spa services, but I would expect them to also be at the same level as the rest of the hotel. The exercise room is well equiped, with bicycles, eliptical trainers, several weight machinges and free weights. It gets a bit crowed with about 5 people in the room, but is still managable. When we called for a bell hop he was there shortly and our car was pulled to the front, trunk open, air conditioner running, and 4 bottles of ice water set up for our drive back to Illinois. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. We are already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

I booked this hotel for 5 nights. I read the reviews on tripadvisor which helped me make my decision on this resort. From the moment we checked in the hotel staff was very courteous, polite, and was willing to do just about anything to make your stay a pleasant one. The rooms were spacious suites with a queen size pullout in the livingroom area. The balcony overlooked the gulf of Mexico (Great Sunsets) and the beach area. Having a kitchen in the room was very helpful. We all ate breakfast and lunch in the room everyday, savong lots of money. There is a Publix supermarket a few miles away to get you grocery needs. We ate dinner out eveery night, the restaurants in the area are just "ok" . Cocomo's, Bimini's and the Snook Inn were high priced, and the food just average. The pool is on the small side, but you dont have to rush down in the morning to reserve a chair for the day. The beach is nice, and you will get a chair and umbrella when you arrive there. There is turndown service everynight. We will definetly come back to this resort next year.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank ericm315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2005

My husband and I celebrated our 21st anniversary at this spectacular resort from July 5 - 10th. Even a little thing like a hurricane could not stop our amazing vacation! We were treated like royalty and will miss the personal touches that make this place special! Who will turn down our beds and let us know the weather for the coming day? I can't say enough about this beautiful resort. The only down side was that my husband lost his wedding band :(. So if anyone reads this and found a two tone men's wedding band on the beach after July 6th, please contact me at RCogan8@aol.com! The ring belonged to his father and it is very special to him. It is yellow gold with white gold in the middle with a raised design. There is a date inscribed as well. The hotel was amazing about helping us look for the ring. We even received a call from the security manager letting us know that he also looked for it on the beach and will be continuing to look after we leave. Enjoy your stay at this fabulous place! We also met an amazing family from Yonkers and that really added to our fun!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank RCogan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2005

Without going into too much detail, I had a special occasion planned here (marriage proposal) that required much secrecy by everyone (while still being aware of it so that they could help with the events), as it was a surprise for my girlfriend. The entire staff was wonderful, especially the concierge, who went above and beyond to ensure that everything that I had planned for the weekend went smoothly, and made wonderful dinner and transportation suggestions and reservations for us. The bellman (someone I hadn't spoken with) congratulated us at our departure, and the servers at dinner congratulated us and had a special dessert for us (unrequested), as well.

The beach was great. There were attendants ready to guide you to open chairs and umbrellas, setting up towels on the chairs for you. There is also food and beverage service to the beach, as well as water with lemon provided for guests free of charge on the beach. I was a little concerned about previous descriptions of the beach as shelly and stating that shoes were necessary, but I didn't find this to be the case. The beach is great for walking by the water, especially around low tide, and even the shelly part (farther away from the water) wasn't that bad. I would wear shoes to the beach to be safe, but I think that most people would have no problem walking around without shoes once they're there.

Didn't go to the pool - the beach was too nice, and our stay was too short.

We dined at the resort's restaurant, Sale e Pepe, and while not cheap (probably not somewhere you want to plan on eating every night you're there), it was great food with great service and a wonderful view. There is the opportunity to have a quiet, romantic dinner there at a semi-private table, but there are also places for larger family-sized groups. Overall the restaurant was pleasantly quiet.

The Beach Bar isn't actually on the beach, but it's on the pathway between the hotel and the beach. You can see the beach down the pathway from some of the tables, but don't expect a full ocean view. If that's what you want, you can have the same menu for lunch at Sale e Pepe and sit on the terrace with a great view. The menu had some basic seafood options, chicken entrees, a few pizza selections, and salads. We ate there three times without being bored with the menu.

We had dinner one night at Backwater Nick's, a restaurant affiliated with the hotel about 15 minutes (and $15 via concierge-arranged Towncar) away from the hotel. Also recommended for a more casual, outdoor dinner with a great on-the-water location and sunset views.

The spa received a rave review from my girlfriend.

A walk down to the Marriott was eye-opening; it was exactly what I didn't want for this romantic trip: a packed pool, an hour wait for a table at the large outdoor restaurant (at 2:15 p.m.), people of all ages everywhere, and loud. It seemed like a place for families with kids, and not a quiet retreat by any means. I can't speak for the other resorts on Marco Island, but if you're deciding between MBOR and the Marriott, realize that they are worlds apart in purpose and feel.

Almost everything was perfect during the stay, but if there is anything to complain about, it is: (1) the bath towels - they are fine, but they are a contrast with the otherwise very luxurious rooms, and (2) there is no place on the resort (other than in your room) to have lunch in an air conditioned location.

If it matters to you, there were multiple good vegetarian selections at Sale e Pepe, the Beach Bar, and Backwater Nick's.

Marco Island isn't a rowdy place, as other reviews have pointed out. If that's what you're looking for, head elsewhere. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing, romantic trip, then I highly and fully recommend the Marco Beach Ocean Resort.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
32 Thank jasonrsa034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2005

We stayed in this hotel for four nights (extended the 4th July, 2005 weekend). We made reservation of the package for $1477 (with $70 cancellation policy) thru yahoo-travel on-line. We flew from and back Hartford non-stop to Fort Myers. Our flight to Fl was at 7 am, so we called to the Resort before to ask if the room for us would be avalaible sooner. They promised and it was so.
Yes, definitely rental car is a good idea. By the way, we use the Thrifty for last 2 years and we are very happy with this company: cheap rents and good cars, plus great EASY service during checking-in and checking-out. We highly recommend Thrifty, especially after our mandatory evacuation the last year (from Palm Beach we had to drive to Tampa that catch last 2 avalaible tickets to Hartford! Thrifty helped us even with that!). Any way, this time we ordered simple Dodge (because it was only two of us) and we paid total (with all taxes & fees) $147 from 11:30 am on Thur, June 30th, until 8 pm on July 4th ! Is it a good deal or what?!
So, from Ft. Myers airport we drove around town, highly recommend to visit the Edison & Ford Museums, Tropical Gardens, to see the famous Banyan Tree --- the biggest in the USA and the 2d biggest in the world -- in Edison Gardens.
Driving from Ft. Myers to Marco Island was easy and pretty fast. We didn't use Rt 41, but Rt 75-it was empty.
Marco Island is beautiful. Love it. For sure, have to visit around, go to Olde Marco Island Part, to Snook Inn cafe, to Esplanade with cafe in the center next to Marina and canals, tiny shops and galleries.
Resort is EXCELLENT!!!!! Service is PERFECT! Doormans, concierge, boys on a beach or beach bar were ALWAYS smiling, nice, very-very friendly, very helpful (especially concierge Cindy--she gave us the best tips for our safari adventures around West-South Coast without spending tons of money)
Definitely make parasail and dolphin catch tours (remember it's ~$40 each ticket, but it's worthy)
Instead of bying $72/each ticket for the Everglades airboats and safari tours, ask Cindy for free maps/tips/broshures--we made our own alligator and Floridian panthers trips, around Everglades National Preserve, visited the Chocoloskee Island (Amazing!!!!), Cypress Preserve Area.
Definitely try to order spa that were able to see the Fields Creek community (which is connected to the Resort), its wild nature marsh, etc.
We stayed in the "partial gulf view" suite on the 7th floor. We still laugh on "partial", because we had amazing 180 degree view on gulf, pool, around, gardens! Our room was # 711.
It was enough dishes, pots, pans in the room. We didn't have a dishwasher, but it's not a problem at all. We had nice dish wash soap, so, we washed, or our housekeeper washed while we were out.
The best time for beach is 8 am until 11 am, then from 3:30 pm until 6 pm. Not too hot, water is warm milk (in morning it was 83F, around 3 pm it was 88F!!!!)
For whole 5 days we didn't have ANY RAIN!!!!!
Before going to Marco , three times a day (crazy-;)) !) we checked a weather thru <accuweather.com> using narrow search "Marco island"--its forecast is 100% correct.
Beach is really clean and nice. Only remember that is not sandy velvet beach, but shells' one. If your feet are very tender, then use some kind of slippers.
For sure every evening we were on beach to see amazing Mexican Gulf sunset. On Key West sunset is a big crowdy time, here it's more quiet, romantic time. Colors of sky, gulf, beach were changing an each minute and were amazing.
Yes, bars of the Resort and famous restaurant are expensive (our lunch costed $35, our dinner with min of order was $125. A glass of wine was $12!!!, but one time dinner must be! Especially because of tasty dishes, desserts, wines, and of course, of ORIGINAL Paintings of Toulose Lotrec in Toulose Lounge)
We recommend the "Publix" supermarket-it's not huge, but with nice choice of wines, veges, prepared dishies like grilled chicken. We didn't cook, just used to buy made stuff, a lot of salads. It's great to be in no-rush and have your own breakfast on your own balcony, make a toast or muffin, then, around noon have lunch on the balcony.
What shocked us is service twice a day, especially in the evening -we come after sunset time and find out that our bed is ready for night, 2 chocolates with a card and weather info for next day, with fresh towels and soaps, everything is clean and washed.
When we sat in our car to go back, we found 2 bottles of fresh water inside. It's a very nice treat.
Some travelers before mentioned unfriendly staff, we disagree. We smiled and always got smiles back. We really didn't have any bad moment with any housekeeper, or beach boy or front desk. Really.

Recommend to visit Capri Island, Naples, Bonita Bay, Pelican Bay, stop by the 5th Avenye and 3d street South, visit Naples' Galleries, have lunch in the Vergina restaurant, visit the Venetian Village.
On the 4th July after our morning beach time and checking-our after, we had plenty of time for exploring. Cindy (concierge of the Resort) gave us a good map, plus our search in advance helped a lot. We even stopped by Sanibel & Captiva Islands, but we were not thrilled by its looks at all, especially after elegant Naples and beautiful Marco Island. Although had very very tasty seafood lunch in Key Lime Bistro on Captiva. Highly recommend. Their grouper sandwich and lobster croussan were delicious. Margaritas and mango with rum and ice too-;)
We had great time. And sincerely hope that if you choose the Marco Beach Resort you would not be disappoint at all. Just enjoy every minute of your time there like we did.
Good luck to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2005

The Marco Beach Ocean Resort lived up to all of the previous reviews!! The service is what sets it apart from other hotels on the island. Prior to arriving at the hotel I gave the conceigre instructions for packages that would be delivered. She followed the instructions to a tee. My extended family of 4 adults and 3 children stayed in the 2 bdrm suite. The suite was spacious and unlike the previous comments, we DID have a dishwasher...although we did not need it. The maid service washed the dishes daily for us.
The stay was PERFECT. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#13 of 59 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Property: Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145-5304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Green Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel
Marco Beach Ocean Resort Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing