We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We stayed for 5 nights in September 2012, following 9 days of frenetic activity in Orlando. We booked and paid several months in advance, which meant we got a discount off the list price. We chose a a "full Gulf view"suite.

The suite had a small kitchen area - we didn't have a kettle at first, but one arrived 30 minutes later after we phoned to ask - it was brand new in its box, so I think someone had been sent out to buy one.

The room had a comfortable balcony, and we would often order room service and eat outside. We spent most of the time on the beach - with flying fish and dolphins coming close to the shore. The pool area was nice and we are able to take advantage of of happy hour in the cocktail bar.

There are a couple of restaurants and shops within walking distance. We also drove to a newer development called The Esplanande (I think) and found a nice restaurant for brunch.

It's a small hotel by US standards, but that suited us and service was excellent. And as a Brit, I could definitely get used to the idea of valet parking :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a full Gulf View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We've been coming back to Marco Beach Ocean Resort for the last few years. The service standard is high, the staff is friendly, as the food top notch. It's location cannot be beat and as the island is so small it is easy to get around by bike. Great place!

Room Tip: Read my other reviews for the simplest of advice regarding booking a room....same applies here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Derek_Rader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The reason we have returned four times is because the resort associates are friendly, warm, caring, and will do whatever is required to insure our needs are taken care of. The resort is clean from top to bottom no matter where you are. The food and beverage is of the highest quality and service is the BEST!! This resort has a Triple A Travel rating of four diamonds and should be given a five-diamond rating, it's that good!! We have made reservations for a return this December. It is always nice to return to Marco Beach Resort our home away from home.

Thanks to everyone at the resort for another GREAT week in Marco Island !! Brian & Doreen

Room Tip: Any room you pick will be rewarding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Ambiance, class, service, and serenity. Marco Beach Ocean Resort was one of the very first to establish on Marcos Island and is easily a benchmark for all others. First of all the backbone of any fine hotel is the service and without a doubt they are top drawer. Accommodating without being overbearing. They leave you to the business of your vacation and their business clearly being to make your vacation memorable. The one bedroom suite is spacious for two people and stocked with fluffy white towels, premium toiletries, a turndown service including chocolates, and the staff busing up the kitchen for you (including dishes - no dishwasher in the suite). Our garden view room afforded the sounds of the ocean, afternoon sun (perfect for sleeping in), and quiet nights. There is no loud music or bands, bingo, or drinking contests (aka Mexican resort style). There were plenty of families with kids, couples, solo, and business people. It seems to be the right mix of everything for everyone. Personally, I would have preferred a softer bed but essentially had no problem sleeping. The Marcos Beach offers it's guest free umbrella and beach chairs (other hotels we have paid $25 per day!). The white sandy beach is clean and a sheller's paradise. You'll want to pack some type of beach shoe or if you prefer walk in the edges of waves in the sand. The "U" shaped pool is refreshing clean and has great lunch and dinner service. The complimentary smoothie at 4 p.m. daily is a nice perk that leads into a daily happy hour with "bar bites". I'll be back! Cheers!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quiet with the sound of the ocean. Great for sleeping in and recharging those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maliajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Resort is very nice but restaurant is superb. Under less than ideal circumstances, I had one of the best dining experiences ever! Food was spectacular and the service outstanding. Thanks to Ronne and Christopher for making it a truly special evening. One meal not to be missed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bently1614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I go to Marco every year for a family reunion. Sometimes it is hard for a place to continue to impress year after year but Marco Beach Ocean Resort has yet to disappoint. The staff is so friendly and accomodating to our large party and makes us feel at home. The room I got this year was a handicap room so I did not get the nice tub and that was the only thing that I was disappointed about. Either way the bathroom and room was spacious and the fact that it faces the beach is always a plus. We got to watch the most gorgeous sunset right from our balcony. The beach was very nice and the pool area was nice as always stocked with plenty of towels. The smoothies the bar staff brings around to cool us off is always a nice touch! I am still not very happy about the menu change at the bar but there were better choices from the previous year (I will forever be bitter about them taking off the portabello mushroom sandwich off the menu but I guess everyone has to get over it eventually). I can't wait to return again this year!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean which is nice but the higher you are the better your view to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The bed was so comfortable! I hate when I stay at a really nice hotel and have an ok bed. But this one was perfect and I slept so well. When you get right down to it, lots of nice hotels have the basics in common - gorgeous view, clean rooms, balconies looking straight out to sea - but if the bed is not great then the stay is only ok. I didn't feel like I was sinking into a cloud - personally I find that suffocating - the mattress was firm but not hard and the covers were soft and the pillow was the perfect shape.

I share the same opinion as the other five star reviewers on the other aspects of the hotel, by the way!

Room Tip: We had room 911 - a king suite with an unbeatable straight shot view of the ocean! The perfect room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ChinaLakeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
72 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
582 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Naples
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145-5304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Green Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range: $225 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, TravelUp, Otel, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel
Marco Beach Ocean Resort Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing