We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some disappointments this trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We began staying at this hotel five years ago after having had enough of the chaotic Marriott. We have had the same two bedroom suite several times. The website claims the hotel has been renovated. We could see that the balcony furniture had been replaced as well as the draperies, bed linens and some of the upholstered pieces. Unfortunately the mattresses are the same, hard, lumpy and sway backed.
We were also looking forward to having an ice maker in the refrigerator and found to our dismay that the replacement didn't have one. Not even some cheap ice cube trays and the front desk said they didn't have any of those.
The book listing the hotel's amenities did not mention the location of ice machines. We found that they are on odd numbered floors, but we speculated that many guests didn't know this and had to resort to calling room service.
Also the amount of air freshner that is sprayed in the lobby needs to be reduced. It is quite overwhelming especially to those who have allergies.
As usual the staff was pleasant and helpful. The grounds are lovely as is the hotel in general.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLORIDAYS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

Yes, this hotel is beautifully kept and clean. I will give it that, which is why I am giving it 2 stars instead of 1. However, let it be known that 85% of the views from the hotel's balconies are completely obstructed by an eye-sore of a building that is in the back of their property. Whoever designed that building architecturally, has most certainly ruined the view for 85% of the rooms in this hotel. Unless you’re staying on the 11th or 12th floor, you will never have a full view of the ocean, but rather the garden, the pool, and the building, with little specks of the horizon in the backgrounds. DO NOT expect to see the shore line. Furthermore, their pool is depressingly sad; Again, an epic failure in design/architecture. There is no way on heaven or earth that their pool can possibly fit not 15% of their guests. The pool was always over capacity and VERY loud, due to the fact that there is no real space to swim around. You're forced to be side by side with other guests. For a hotel of such alleged grandeur, it is a sad representation of a pool; Very disappointing. But on to the epitome of our stay. Our reservations (in writing) clearly stated that we were entitled to a "full gulf view room" upon availability. In other words, so long as it was available, we would receive a room of that category...correct? Not the case. I literally called from the valet drop-off ramp, before entering the hotel, and asked if there were full gulf view rooms available, and I was told absolutely. I asked if there was more than one available, since we had family members looking for a hotel to check into as well, and I was told there were several available. I hang up, and walk in to the hotel. I attempt to check into a room of this category with an employee by the name of August, and I am told there are none available. I explain that I spoke with someone and was told that more than one room was available. He insists there are none available, and I was mistaken. As he steps away to get our room keys, a couple walks up to the counter and begin speaking with another check-in employee. After a few moment of asking other questions, they inquire about a "full gulf-view room," and guess what the check-in employee says? Of course to my belittlement, they were told that "full gulf-view rooms" WERE available. How do you think that made my husband and I fell? I was so incredibly disgusted by the lack of respect and ethics. The sad part is, I brought 3 other families with me to this hotel, and after telling them our story, and after they experienced similar problems and disappointment with the awful view and pool, none of these 4 families will ever be back to this hotel. It's a sad thing to say, because had it not been for the way we were treated, we may have overlooked the bad balcony view and small pool and returned, but after the way we were disrespected, we will never be back.

Room Tip: Unless you're on the 12th floor, do not expect to have a better view than the one seen in the ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Janie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bullockj, General Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Thank you for your recent visit to the Marco Beach Ocean Resort and for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. I am disappointed to hear about your challenge in receiving a gulf view room.

Upon reviewing your booking, a full ocean view room type was not the category booked or reserved unfortunately. The promotional rate and view type confirmed offers the best available rate at the time of booking with no view type specified or guaranteed. This type of reservation allows you to receive the lowest published rate. At the time of your arrival, the only remaining full gulf views available were for one night as the hotel was already sold out on the second night of your stay. Your reservation was for six nights. However, we were able to place you on the highest floor within the gulf and garden view category, just one floor beneath the start of the full expansive view category.

We try to accommodate all requests made by our guests, but occasionally have to provide alternative options based on what we have available. Please accept our apologies for not being able to fulfill your request.

Please note that the photos regarding the refrigerators are indeed different in size due to the comparison of a one bedroom suite versus a two bedroom suite, which is equipped with a full size refrigerator.

We would like to thank you again for your comments and for your stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest again at the Marco Beach Ocean Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Marco Beach Ocean Resort has become a tradition for us each Memorial Day weekend. It's perfect for a long weekend away, and we found that no other hotel in Marco Island compares. This was our 4th stay here and we'll never go elsewhere. This place simply exudes quality. Sure you can go somewhere less expensive with a bigger pool and more dining options, but you don't know what your missing. The fact that MBOR is smaller than most is a great thing! The pool is elite and so relaxing because it isn't loud and crowded. They serve fresh fruit and spray you with cool mist during the afternoon. How can you not feel like royalty? The restaurant, Sal e Pepe' is one of my favorites of all time. My husband and I travel here particularly for this restaurant. The food is delicious, the sunset is spectacular and the staff is wonderful each and every time! The suites are great and come equipped with a full kitchen. We always buy groceries at Publix and cook our own breakfasts every morning. Not only is it healthy but saves us some money. The beach speaks for itself....gorgeous!! Water...perfect! Be sure to get a massage at their spa...best massages ever! We travel a lot and get massages wherever we stay, and they are truly the best we've experienced yet! I really can't say enough good things about this place, except that there is not much night life. This is fine with us. We go here solely to relax and get away from the craziness of the grind back at home and we leave here feeling refreshed every time! Also, take a day trip over to Naples and enjoy some great shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella4280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Just spent three nights in a 2 bedroom suite with full Gulf view. I love the fact that the total number of rooms is under 100. If you like a very clean, classy resort without the mob scene and noise of a large Marriott then this is the place for you. We found the staff very professional at all levels.. Check out is at noon and we were able to get a late checkout at 2 pm at no additional cost. Beach umbrellas and lounge chairs are made available and set up for you at no additional cost. The kitchen in our suite is a big plus, everything you need to cook is there. While the food was excellent at the on site Italian restaurant, that is your only real option, the grill near the Gulf is small and outside, pool side has the same menu, so plan on going off site but you have quite a few to choose from.

The pool and hot tub are clean but small. One pool on property.

Room Tip: If you like good coffee bring your own and bring coffee filters!! The prepackaged coffee in your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnTampa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bullockj, General Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us and that you enjoyed your accommodations and dining at Sale e Pepe. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom suite, paid $420.00 for one night. We asked if we could have a late check out 1:00 pm, because we were going on a three hour jet ski tour. The hotel staff wouldn't budge, they said our room was promised to some one else. Fair enough, all I wanted was a room in the hotel were my young children could shower. Unfortunately the hotel staff said we could only use the pool showers. The pool showers was a ten minute walk and not very appealing to carry our luggage to either! We were forced to check out at 8:30 Am :(
I hope this review will force them to perhaps be more accommodating. This hotel is a ten minute walk from the beach and not easily assessable ( Ada) or for the elderly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CGF80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bullockj, Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Please know that your comments were addressed and that we continue to strive for excellence to ensure all of our guests have a memorable experience with us.

Thank you as well for taking the time to speak to me and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My 3rd visit to Marco Island...My first stay with Marco Beach Ocean Resort....an awesome experience. Staff is exceptional...Extremely clean...couldn't be happier....Stayed for 5 days...I will not stay anywhere else from now on.

Room Tip: Join Iprefer.com and book..and use your American Express card....lots of perks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetheBeach5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bullockj, General Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thank you for your recent visit to the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable resort experience with us.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The staff was so accomadating and polite. We especially loved Branka at the front desk! The hotel was so elegant. Quite different from the madness of the Marriott next door. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkbeaudoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bullockj, General Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thank you for the nice remarks. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the staff, accommodations, and the views. Thank you for selecting the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We will look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
72 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#6 of 12 in Marco Island
584 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#11 of 59 in Naples
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145-5304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Green Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range: $230 - $717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Otel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel
Marco Beach Ocean Resort Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing