We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute of it!”

Unreel Fishing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Offshore and backwater sport fishing in the Gulf of Mexico with Unreel Charters. Located on Marco Island, we offer 3 hr, 1/2, 3/4, & full day offshore fishing trips aboard a fast, comfortable 29' Hydra-Sport with twin 275 hp Mercury Verado engines to get you there fast The boat is fully equipped to take advantage of all the great fish catching opportunities this area has to offer (including a head, all safety gear & emergency locator device). All backcountry fishing, wildlife, dolphin and eco tours are done aboard our custom 23' Tremblay. A boat specifically designed for stability and a very shallow draft of 8". This enables us to reach more remote areas. Expect to see dolphins, manatees, ospreys, egrets, herons and many others. All you need to bring is food and drink. We welcome families and fisher persons of all ages and experience levels. Offshore species include grouper, snapper, king and spanish mackerel, cobia, goliath grouper, permit, tarpon, sharks and many others Backwater species include snook, tarpon, redfish, sea trout, pompano, snapper, sheepshead, jack crevalle, sharks and others Wildlife tours species include dolphins, manatees, ibis, roseate spoonbills, snowy egrets, blue and green herons, white pelicans, kingfishers, anhingas and ospreys. Just want to ride to a private beach and/or watch the sunset, we can handle that too. Please feel free to call or email with any questions. We can customize any trip to suit your needs Thank you, Capt. Joe Cacaro
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Loved every minute of it!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Must admit, was a little apprehensive as have never fished before but what a great morning we had! Perfect weather (although a little windy) and Joe is the perfect fishing companion! Caught a few Spanish mackerel that Joe filleted and we are having for tea, and also many many grouper, 3 of which were brought home to cook.

Got the hang of fishing really quickly, didn't get messy and really really enjoyed it. If there's one thing you should do when visiting Marco Island, it's to go out with Joe, you will not be disappointed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JaynePiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It would be Unreal not to call Unreel First!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Fishing on and off of Marco is my very favorite thing to do. At Least two times a year I will hire a charter Captain. My very First call is to Joe. Many times I wait to long to call and he is booked by someone else in the Know! Call early to secure the best Captain on or off of Marco Island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shogunB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unreel Charters never disappoints!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Second time fishing with Capt. Joe aboard Unreel Charters. My wife and I took a half day offshore trip for red grouper. Capt. Joe gets you to the fish quick and works hard to keep you on them all day. We caught our limit once again with a few bonus snapper. On top of being a great fisherman/charter, Capt. Joe makes you feel welcome. His conversation makes you feel like you're fishing with someone you have known for a long time. I've fished with many different charters and Capt. Joe of Unreel is hands down the best in every way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Captain Joe is AWESOME!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

For our first time fishing in Florida we decided to use Unreel fishing charters based on the many previous great reviews. We are so glad we did! Captain Joe Cacaro is an extremely knowledgeable and experienced fisherman who is well known and respected in the area. He took us right to the fish and as soon as we dropped our lines in we were pulling them in one right after the other. My family is not very experienced with fishing and Captain Joe clearly explained certain techniques that helped my kids get the hang of things very quickly. We caught over 40 fish including Grouper, Lane Snapper, Blue Runners, Thumpers, etc. Joe was always ready with the fresh bait and a helping hand. In the short time we spent out with Joe we felt like we've known him forever. It didn't feel like a business, it felt like going fishing with a good friend. Joking with the kids and exchanging good stories made the whole experience perfect! It felt strange to say goodbye after it was over. Thanks for everything, Captain Joe. You're a good man! Hopefully we'll see you next summer! The Cardone's

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Can't recommend Joe highly enough.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited Marco for the month of August and arranged to spend 1/2 day fishing with Captain Joe on his boat Unreel early in our stay.

We have been on many fishing charters over the years, and I can say without hesitation that I have not come across such an experienced, helpful, entertaining and honest captain. On our first trip we were about half an hour out from dock when Joe cut the engines, and came to speak to us. The sea was pretty rough (though it was a beautiful bright day) and he felt it was only going to get rougher, so it was his recommendation that we abandon the trip and try again another day. We took his advice and returned a few days later.

We were due to head out ~14-15 miles into the Gulf in search of Grouper, but as we left the Marco river, Joe saw large numbers of birds circling. We made a bee line for the birds, who were feeding frantically on large bait balls. These fish were also being assaulted from below, by Spanish Mackerel. Joe, and his helpful mate Michael set up the rods to troll for these fish and off we went. Some of the fish we caught Joe said were as big as any he had seen. After an hour of so we had as many fish in the cooler as we could eat, so all further fish were released.

Everyone had a great time (and a fantastic lunch a the Sandbar who cooked some of the fish Michael has so expertly cleaned for us). We booked another trip with Joe later in our holiday, unfortunately the weather again intervened and Joe emailed me first thing in the morning to call the trip off - a great disappointment, but another example of Joe putting the safety and comfort of his clients ahead of his own financial well being.

The bottom line is, if you are visiting the Marco area and are looking for a fishing charter, look no further than Joe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Whyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unreel Fishing Charters also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Unreel Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing