We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marco Island - Beach Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Marco Island - Beach Fun!”
Reviewed March 9, 2006

I have been going to this hotel for over 20 years now and it has certainly changed a lot. I love Marco Island but it is no longer the remote island it used to be. The Marriott hotel is extremely nice and has something for everyone. The hotel staff is very nice and the beach is great for rest and relaxation. There are plenty of restaurants both in the hotel and near by.

My family and I had a great time at the pool and we especially enjoyed a sailing trip that concierge helped us schedule on a sail boat called Off the Hook Adventures. The captain grew up on Marco Island and was extremely knowladgeable of the 10,000 islands. We saw sea turtles, dolphins and even manatees. It was incredible. My kids are still talking about our trip and want to get a manatee as a pet. If you are trying to figure out what to do while in Marco we would strongly recommend charter the boat for either a half day or day.

Another incredible find was a French pastry shop called the Chocolate Truffle. MMMMmmmm! The truffles were incredible to see and taste..

Marco is not much for night life, but they have a really cool movie theater where you can even have dinner.

The Marriott hotel is located in the center of everything so I would really recommend staying there. They have a really cool waterfall too...

Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,282
    984
    271
    78
    60
See reviews for
1,414
1,106
46
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 9, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a two-night stay at this hotel. Overall, we really enjoyed it. We had a corner room with two balconies--one with an ocean view.

The staff was friendly and helpful, the room service was very good and delivered in a timely manner, and the view from the beach was absolutely gorgeous. My husband and I sat on the beach and watched the sun set over the Gulf of Mexico. The sand was very soft and we picked up some shells our children back home.

I will say that the room could use a little updating as some of the furnishings looked a bit worn, but our bed was comfortable and outfitted with nice linens.

They offer quite a few activities for guests if you're interested--short excursions out to see wildlife, water activities, etc. It may not be the "finest" hotel on Marco Island, but we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 7, 2006

This trip consisted of four Moms getting away for a relaxing, fun extended weekend (Thurs - Sun). Flew into Ft. Myers and rented a car. Took 45-60 min. to get to the property. Driving up to the hotel, the construction was less than attractive, but once we parked in the self-park lot ($10/day) and walked across the street into the hotel lobby, we soon forgot about the construction. This beautiful, clean hotel would be our home for roughly four days and continue to exceed our expectations along the way.

Our room was a suite and reportedly newly renovated. A ton of room for four age 30-somethin' ladies, luggage and room to store clothes. Two flat-screened TVs were available - reception was not that great and the people looked "spread out" on TV, but that was not the focus of our trip so none of us minded that. The full bathroom was beautiful with a closeted toilet - great for our purposes and getting ready at the same time. Another 1/2 bath was available in our room also. Our lanai boasted a beach/pool view.

Quinn's restaurant was good. Service was average/above average. Located by the pool and beach, it was extremely convenient. Their menu was not that extensive but enough items to choose from. Drinks were approx. $9 each. During certain times Quinn's would serve drinks by the pool. There was also a golf cart that drove on the beach and would serve food and drinks from Quinn's. Convenient. Not so expensive if you stocked up on your own drinks from Publix grocery.

We also went to Kurrents for dinner, also in the Marriott. Wonderful food. Upscale dining. Excellent service.

We went to Captain Briens for dinner one night. Cozy, family-style, casual is how I would describe it. We all thought great food, so-so drinks. Service was average - not good, not bad. Within walking distance of hotel.

One thing you don't want to miss is the Shelling and sailing tour, scheduled through the hotel. Six people max for this 24' catamaran. We paid $45 per person. Our "seasick" friend even went and said it was the smoothest sailing she had ever experienced. "Captain Tom" was so knowledgable about sea life, boating and the area; we all learned some interesting & cool things that day. We stopped on a sand bar and looked for shells. Doesn't sound interesting but it really was enjoyable. Don't forget to tip your boat captain if you do this. Be sure to wear water shoes/sandals because the (billions of) broken shells could tear your feet up.

Our only complaint was not enough days planned for the trip. We wanted to see Naples, reportedly 30-40 minute drive, and maybe Sanibel Island (west of Ft. Myers airport). We wanted to see more of Marco also. We were so comfortable and well taken care of at the Marriott all four of us decided to stay in the immediate area.

We all plan to take the same trip in two years to accomplish our goal of Naples, Sanibel and, of course, more Marco Island. -pbm

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2006

This hotel has great public areas. The pools, beach, spa and restaurants have all been upgrade to four star status and are very stylish. The service and the rooms, however leave a bit to be desired. We stayed at this hotel during peak occupancy and experienced some very long waits (45 minutes) for extra pillow and some very long waits in the restaurant for food. Overall, I think the staff is very friendly, there just weren't enough of them during school break week. The construction outside the hotel is wrapping up...don't worry about noise from this point on. Also, it is a 45 minute ride (without traffic) from Fort Myers airport...leave early for your flight.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Travel4Lving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2006

This hotel was a mixed bag. The beach, spa and fitness center are gorgeous, and the location, near Naples (great shopping and restaurants) and golf courses, is very nice. We ate dinner at Marco Island and Naples restaurants two out of three nights.
We were there during President's weekend, and the hotel was packed. Lots of families and kids and places around the pool and at the breakfast buffet (which was included in our package) were hard to come by. The valet parking occasionally got overwhelmed. However, I'd say the hotel staff did a pretty decent job of handling the hordes.
Our room had some serious issues. First, construction was occurring somewhere in our vicinity and power tool noise and hammering could be heard during the day. It didn't bother us too much because we were rarely in our room during those times, but this room was not for napping.
More importantly, the room was a housekeeping disaster. A nightstand light didn't work because it was not plugged in. When I pulled the furniture away from the wall to plug it in, there were several discarded candy wrappers on the floor around the nightstand. A large brown liquid stain of unknown origins was on the wall next to the bed. Overall, the room looked tired...needed painting, new furniture, etc. I believe that rooms at this hotel are being renovated and would expect better space in the future. I did request a room change, but the hotel was full and I could not be accommodated. Housekeeping did arrive quickly to clean the wrappers and the wall...so we made do. However, at the president's weekend rates, I certainly expected better.
Finally, the golf course affiliated with the hotel did not have a clubhouse, which was under construction. This should not be a problem in a few months when it is completed. The temporary facilities were adequate, but there was no real grill and temporary lavatories. Also, the course, which is beautiful with lots of interesting birds, is a good 20 minutes from the hotel, so it's not the kind of place where you can walk outside to the practice range.

Helpful?
19 Thank headless horseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
326 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2006

We stayed here 3 nights midweek for a meeting and it was a fantastic hotel. Everything was great.

Check-in was a snap and we went right up to our room. The bellhop arrived minutes later and gave the whole spiel about the hotel and amenities.

The king room was big with a very nice bed. I did get stuck on the non pool side w/o the view of the pool but it was still a nice view of the ocean.

Bathrooms were ok. I guess I could say a little cramped with 2 people trying to get ready at the same time.

The best thing was all the food was fantastic! Every meal we had on property was super.

This has got to be one of the friendliest staffs I have ever had at a hotel. Just about every employee you pass says hello and smiles. And if you had a question they got you an answer right away.

The beach is loaded with umbrellas and huts for the guests.

Downsides were hard to find.

I would definitely make this a stop again next time in Marco Island.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank morganrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2006

Just have to say that this hotel is absolutely lovely. Very beautiful. The beach is right off the hotel. There are wonderful restaurants also. The buffet is really nice. The rooms are very nice also. I had a really wonderful time there with my husband. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank equipesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
3.1 mi away
Olde Marco Island Inn and Suites
15.0 mi away
Naples Bay Resort
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,562 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
1.0 mi away
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort

Property: JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort
Address: 400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort is a renowned vacation playground that opens guests up to the world around them and creates an authentic sense of place. Situated on a sprawling private white sand beach along the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, the enchanting ecosystem of the Florida Everglades is at our doorstep and provides myriad opportunities for exploration and adventure. Experience true luxury in our newly renovated guest rooms and suites, feed your intellect through our locally sourced menu selections and interactive food and beverage experiences, and find balance, health, and harmony at our Spa by JW(R). Following a $320 million renovation, our resort pays homage to the Balinese-inspired Marco Island heritage and provides leisure and business travelers with everything they need. Two private 18-hole championship golf courses, three swimming pools, 10 restaurants, an array of water sports and recreational activities, and a children's Tiki Tribe camp deliver endless opportunities for relaxation and fun. JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort is an immersive sanctuary where guests can delve deeper into their passions while enjoying our legendary warm, attentive service delivered by those who genuinely love what they do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club And Spa
Marriott Marco Island
JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing