We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stuart, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Laid back weekend”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent fourth of July weekend at this resort. We have never visited Marco Island before but are glad we did and will return. The hotel is great. The staff are accommodating and friendly.
Although I'm not sure, it seemed that all rooms have a balcony which I enjoyed reading and drinking tea in the morning overlooking the ocean.
There are 2 pools at this resort, one more geared towards kids. The town itself has a very beachy laid back feel with lots of good restaurants. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,328
    997
    275
    81
    60
See reviews for
1,453
1,124
46
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,020)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you are looking for the perfect destination wedding location this is the place! As a bride I was so concerned about everything going off with perfection...well I got it, and my Marriott Coordinator Mark Williams was the icing on the cake to making my wedding day dreams come true.
About the rooms:
The rooms are all very clean with comfy beds and awesome linens. We stayed in the lanai suites 191, 192 and the large 2 bedroom suite 193. These suites are amazing with breathtaking views right out your back door to the ocean. We also stayed in a tower suite. Talk about perfect! These are all higher priced rooms but we got a chance to see some of the guest rooms and they are still clean and worth the stay as well. We didn't spend much time in the rooms anyway so you can stay in a basic room and get great quality if you just need a place to put your head for the night.

Pools and restaurants:
There are 3 pools available. Two are open to all guest and one is the spa pool. The spa pool is very private and available if you use their services. There is the Quinn's pool which is close to the lanai suites and is the pool you see from the lobby. This is great for sun and drinks for the adults! This one won't have as many young children. The other pool is more kid friendly. (see my picture) If you want to relax I don't suggest this pool, it is really great for the families though!! it has a water slide for the kids and our 6 year old couldn't get enough of it!!

Food, etc. :
Marco Island Marriott is a great place for your most important day. The service from the staff was spot on. The dinner choices are all so good its hard to choose and they accommodate you even if you have that one vegetarian plate needed!! We went with the desert station. The desert station is fun and full of mouth watering selections! We had a cake brought in but the guest really loved the deserts because they got to choose something to their liking! The meals came out at perfect temperature and the meat was cooked just right! I heard the next day how everyone was trying a bite from one another at their tables because everything was so good! Bar service was quick and my guest didn't have to wait long for a drink with the 2 bars set up. That keeps the guest happy!! We chose to get married on the Palms Lawn. This gave us the gorgeous beach background setting but without all the guest getting sand in their toes for an elegant wedding!

The set-up and break-down was all done by the staff on hand at the Marriott. Mark oversaw everything and he made sure every little detail was perfect! We chose to hire an additional assistant from the Marriott for the day and she was able to help with little details like relighting a candle if it went out during dinner service. She also helped escort me to a private room to wait with my father so none of the guest could see me before walking down the aisle. At the end of the night the staff had all of my wedding centerpieces, candles, etc all boxed up, bubble-wrapped and ready to load. They really are so helpful and made it less stressful on my family.

Room Tip: Lanai suites and corner suites are much more expensive, but If you are on vacation then splurge to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The view from the room was gorgeous! Completely enjoyed the beach and the simple sit back and relax atmosphere! Great for family as well as just couples! Went there for the 4th of July. The fireworks was fantastic! From the room (5th floor; tropical view) we got to see 4 different fireworks going on around town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Outstanding hotel on the water in Marco Island. Very easy trip for someone from West Ft Lauderdale. It allows you to feel like you got away, but really didnt travel far. Resort is laid out nice with easy access to both pools. Rooms are a little larger than average and offer wonderful views of Gulf (if you get water view). Resort is well groomed and very kid friendly, with a slide pool, a shallow pool, and a gameroom. Its a resort, so I probably should not be surprised by the aggressive prices of EVERYTHING, but it still seems a little high. Resort and I guess Island, shut down early. I got it (!), its Marco Island, I hear you, lots of old people, blah, blah, blah... But why close early? Everyone there for the fathers day weekend was middle aged and ready to spend money to have a good time. Why collectively flick the switch at 11:00pm? If you come from south florida, the water is disappointing because of clarity and temp (murky & very warm), but it is easy to get past because the beach is epic. Wide White sandy beaches, great shells, no rough surf, and pretty shallow (kid friendly). Everything is a tiny bit dated, but maintained well. Parking is tough. You can valet or self park across the street. When I say across the street, I actually mean; across and down the street for a long stroll. Not too bad if you park and never go back, but brutal if you need to run the car "for a sec". Staff was underwhelming, not mean or rude, just very ok.

Room Tip: Sounds cliche, but you either have a water view or not. Last 3 times I have stayed, water view meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLShirtguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last year for 4th of July and decided to go back after having such a nice time last year. We had accumulated enough Marriott rewards points so it was a great way to use them. The service is great. Every single employee was so friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the Islands Tower which was newly renovated. The room (double queen with partial ocean view) was beautifully decorated and fresh and had plenty of room for the 5 of us. We brought a blow up mattress instead of using a roll away bed for our 5th person. There was plenty of closet space, a small fridge & the sink was separate from the toilet & bath so that was helpful.

Kids love the Tiki pool with the slide but we all went to Quinn's pool and that was really nice too. The only downside is that there were no chairs available to put our stuff on no matter what time of day it was.

We ate fries at the tiki pool. They were pretty good and reasonably priced. The drinks are crazy expensive though but to be expected. We ate at Quinn's on the Beach (that was a good choice because the food is good and you can't beat the location but it was very expensive) and 400 Piazzo (never again - pizza was so small & ridiculously expensive for what you get & almost impossible to get a table. Next time we will order pizza from a location outside of the hotel and have it delivered).

It's nice that there's an arcade but very few games to play especially for younger kids. Luckily there was an air hockey table. Just outside of the arcade are 2 ping pong tables. Kids loved that even though you sometimes have to wait a while to play. Sign up near the front desk for the scavenger hunt. My kids have fun answering the questions. When they're done, they turn it in for 6 arcade tokens or a (junk) prize from a treasure chest. Prizes could be a LOT better. These were picked through and all the things that no one wanted.

The exercise room is huge & well -equipped & open 24 hours which is really nice. They even have headphones that you can borrow while using the gym.

The beach is your typical west coast Florida beach: plenty of shells & nice white sand. (If you're there for July 4th, the fireworks in Marco Island are beautiful especially if seen from the beach.) Lounge chairs & umbrellas are provided for resort guests while on the beach. Towels are also provided at the beach & pools. You get towel cards at check in which allow you to get your towels. Beach shoes or flip flops are recommended because of all shells. Plus the sand gets really hot in the Florida sun.

We hope to be back to this hotel in the future. Hopefully we can accumulate some more points. :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went here with the family about a week ago and it was the best vacation we've ever gone on! The location was great, the ocean/the beach itself was very clean, it was nice having two large pools (but get there early, there are a lot of chairs but there is also a lot of people staying there), the food was awesome (Pricey? Yes, but it is no more expensive than, well, any beach in the USA), and there a ton of great places around the hotel to eat. The staff was super nice and helpful and I just loved it.

Before going I read all the "complaints" that people had about the hotel like:
*Having to pay for internet in the rooms-- Well all hotels down there are like this, it is nothing special to the Marriott.
*Food was expensive/Bad-- Like I said, I usually go to Ocean City, Maryland (I live in PA), and it was no more expensive than anywhere there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this Marriott with our young toddler. Here's the good and the bad.
Good- great customer service, concierge, grounds, easy layout, nice large pools with separate kids pool, pack'n plays available, kids club option, extra empty fridge in room, every room has a balcony, modern rooms & bath, clean big beach with delivery from Quinn's, delicious food at breakfast buffet, everything on island within 10 minute drive, some restaurants off property have free car services with car seat included.
Bad-it's now a category 8 Marriott so points are high and everything expensive that other reviews mentioned for example, daily parking fees, Internet fees in room, food & drink prices, no night life other than Quinn's, etc.
This is a really great resort that will have tons of kids so be prepared. Best food on island is LeeBee Fish and Fin's which are off the property. Would come back again without hesitation!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank alfredo91480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
3.1 mi away
Olde Marco Island Inn and Suites
15.0 mi away
Naples Bay Resort
Naples Bay Resort
#6 of 59 in Naples
1,582 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Naples
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
71 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort

Property: JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort
Address: 400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort is a renowned vacation playground that opens guests up to the world around them and creates an authentic sense of place. Situated on a sprawling private white sand beach along the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, the enchanting ecosystem of the Florida Everglades is at our doorstep and provides myriad opportunities for exploration and adventure. Experience true luxury in our newly renovated guest rooms and suites, feed your intellect through our locally sourced menu selections and interactive food and beverage experiences, and find balance, health, and harmony at our Spa by JW(R). Following a $320 million renovation, our resort pays homage to the Balinese-inspired Marco Island heritage and provides leisure and business travelers with everything they need. Two private 18-hole championship golf courses, three swimming pools, 10 restaurants, an array of water sports and recreational activities, and a children's Tiki Tribe camp deliver endless opportunities for relaxation and fun. JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort is an immersive sanctuary where guests can delve deeper into their passions while enjoying our legendary warm, attentive service delivered by those who genuinely love what they do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club And Spa
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club Hotel Marco Island
Marriott Marco Island
JW Marriott Marco Island Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing