We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Restaurant on Marco Island so far - great service, too!”

Davide Italian Cafe & Deli
Ranked #44 of 121 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: You can find good reviews and thei menu on Urban Spoon
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant on Marco Island so far - great service, too!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

What a pleasant surprise it was to dine @ Davide's (pronounced Daviday's) on Marco Island. It was the third restaurant visited this trip and was, by far, the best food & service we've had to date. We arrived w/o a reservation. Although it was crowded, two gentlemen we later found out were Davide's son and father pushed a couple of tables together and seated our family of 5 promptly. We ordered a couple of appetizers - Mozzarella Caprese & Antipasto Mixto - to share while our entrees were prepared. Both were fresh and delicious. The complimentary bread and fresh basil pesto were so good. We had to tell the waiter to quit bringing out more since my 8 yr old son kept snatching it the moment the basket was refilled & we knew he would not eat his dinner if that kept up. Our waiter recommended a nice bottle of wine to pair with our entrees. The best way I can think of to describe the entrees we ordered & enjoyed is the food was SUPERB. Authentic and fresh Italian. My daughter ordered the Pizza Quattro Formagio (4 cheese). It was divine. My husband had Lasagna Bolognese - it truly melted in your mouth (less sauce and more about the cheese). My Linguine con Vongole (linguine & clam sauce) was very good and the clams were fresh/in the shell. My son enjoyed the Polpetti (meatball sandwich) and daughter's boyfriend the spaghetti & meatballs. We were all too stuffed to eat dessert and had leftovers to take home, too. Not including the wine, our bill was <$100. Unbelievable! Best of all, the staff was so kind, courteous and friendly! We kept trying to guess who Davide was - a tough one since everyone we came into contact with took such obvious pride in the service and food - only to find out Davide & his wife were away for a short holiday. We felt truly pampered.
An added treat to the evening was being able to enjoy the live music and Davide's father singing several songs, including "Sweet Caroline" and "That's Amore." Everyone inside and out (including this family) joined in. I was extremely surprised our bill - not including the wine - was <$100. Unbelievable value and excellent food/service. What a great place too dine!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belmontacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    93
    30
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Italian Meal”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Went here tonight. Brought out a basket of wonderful bread first with a tapenade. I often don't eat bread, but this was so great we finished the basket full. Nice and light texture with great seasoning. We both had a glass of the Montepulciano red wine that our waiter said was excellent when I asked him to describe it since it was unfamiliar to me. I ordered lasagna bolognese and my husband ordered ziti al forno. Both entrees came with the house salad that had a wonderful Italian dressing on (the waiter did ask if that was o.k. or if we would like another dressing). Being so pleased with all the food we opted for cappucino and dessert even though we were not going to have dessert since we were satisfied. Shared a cappucino chocolate cake which was definitely to die for - came with strawberries and a powdered sugar chocolate sauce glaze on the plate. I highly recommend you visit this place if you're in the Marco Island area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirleylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes, New York
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu; Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Davide had expanded since our last visit, so we stopped for a late lunch to see what all the fuss has been about. Juany bounced out the front door with the biggest smile on her face and that set the tone for a very nice lunch. The lentil soup was hot and full of beans/diced veggies. The eggplant panini special had fresh mozzarella, the brightest tomatoes, with sauted onions and a spicy mayo on a fresh roll. The cappacola panini was spicy and fresh, as well. Nothing overdone, nothing out of sorts, just a nice, albeit slightly crowded on the sidewalk, place to have a late lunch. We'd definitely go back, and look at exploring more of the offerings.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westlakeroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Feels just like being in Italy.”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We LOVE this little place. The food is wonderful. Davide's Mom is in the kitchen in Season, cooking up lovely dishes. His Dad, Fillipo is outside singing his heart out. Davide's wife, Wani (forgive me for the spelling), seems to run the whole operation. Davide watched over it all. We love to sit outside, watch the little ones dance to the live music, sing along in our very limited Italian..We have always had wonderful servers. It is all good!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1944_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Family-run; tasty food”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stumbled across this place while making a quick stop at a CVS in the same strip mall. We were drawn to the place by the music being sung outdoors. The small restaurant was very lively and seemed to have a lot of regulars. It was noisy. The service was very friendly and I think there were three generations of a family working there. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the food very much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OakParker98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davide Italian Cafe & Deli also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Davide Italian Cafe & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing