We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO TRESPASSING FELONY”
Review of Hideaway Beach

Hideaway Beach
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“NO TRESPASSING FELONY”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Everywhere you look within three blocks of the beaches on Marco Island you see these "No Trespassing" signs. I have never felt so unwelcome as I have in the Beach vicintiy of this community. Having spent most of my life around beaches, I can't imagine why anyone would come to Marco Island as a Tourist for its beaches.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank HowlerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    3
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Lifestyles of the rich and sometimes famous. The best homes on the island are here. The beach is at your backyard.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AL33076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were married on the beach here, followed by our wedding breakfast.

The location is magical and the service and attention to detail we received from Karri and her team did us so proud, thank you so very much.

Special mention must be made of the Filet Mignon, which is probably the best steak I have ever eaten, and believe me I have eaten is some of the best restaurants in numerous countries.

Overall a perfect start to our married life.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hushpuppy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing private beach”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

You must be a member or guest to visit, but hideaway beach is heaven on earth. Mansions, fine dining, beautiful quiet beach, golfing, tennis what more could one ask for? Valet parking at the clubhouse. Delicious lunch fare at the Sand Bar.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ariel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Private Gated Community on Marco Island”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I don't think it is accurate to describe Hideaway Beach as an attraction. Hideaway Beach is a private gated community on Marco Island. The shoreline along the water adjacent to the private homes of the Hideaway Beach Community is accessible primarily by boat. It is a gorgeous location along the Big Marco River and Gulf of Mexico. However, this area is really not a public beach that you can drive to or walk to easily unless you are a guest or a member of the gated private community.

In the past couple of years, marco Island removed the word "beach" from the signs leading to the gated community to read "Hideaway Community." There is often a debate among politicians about taxpayer funds being used for renourishment projects along the shoreline because of limited public assess.

Facilities within the community are excellent for members and guests.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank MI_Resident_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Beach also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hideaway Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing