We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Siesta Key”
Review of South Marco Beach

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the two top public access points to Marco Beach. It has great shelling.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I live in Cape Coral and never have been to Marco so we decided to make the 1 1/2 drive to South Marco Beach because we didn't want to go through the hassle of getting to Tigertail Beach. Parking was $8.00 for all day which is ok. At Fort Myers Beach it's $2.00 per hour. The walk from the parking lot to the beach wasn't a problem at all. The restrooms are in the parking lot so if you have to go while on the beach, you have to walk back to the parking lot. The beach wasn't what I was expecting. The sand is compact which is ok but full of shells. I'm glad we brought our aqua shoes. I expected the water to look better than what it was. The clarity of the water wasn't that great either. I was talking to one gentleman from Ohio that said it looked like we were at a lake instead of the gulf. Somebody said that a storm went through there a couple of days ago and made the water that way which is possible. Needless to say, South Marco Beach is not Siesta Key. At Siesta Key, the sand is white and powdery with a very wide beach and the water color and clarity is great. As a matter of fact, Venice Beach is much nicer than South Marco Beach. I guess this beach is good for those that live here and visit here but if I'm going to make a long drive from Cape Coral to go to a beach, it will be Siesta Key, not South Marco Beach.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank CaribLover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"public parking"
in 43 reviews
"sunset grill"
in 22 reviews
"white sand"
in 48 reviews
"crushed shells"
in 14 reviews
"red tide"
in 20 reviews
"collier blvd"
in 19 reviews
"south end"
in 15 reviews
"marco beach"
in 10 reviews
"great shelling"
in 24 reviews
"gulf of mexico"
in 9 reviews
"long walk"
in 11 reviews
"red fish"
in 9 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 13 reviews
"apollo"
in 19 reviews
"swallow"
in 12 reviews
"rocks"
in 19 reviews
"shoes"
in 20 reviews
Filter

566 - 570 of 881 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Typical, lovely Florida beach. The sand is hard enough to walk on but not to cut your feet. The water is beautiful. Place to get food and drink. Just sweet. Lots of room to spread out without feeling crowded by people.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a nice time at Marco Beach with our family. We enjoyed the water and waves. We would come back for sure.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank TheFamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

South Marco Beach was an amazing spot to enjoy the ocean.The public beach is equipped with lifejackets for kids though the main entrance (beside the parking area). Amazing white sand. The beach isn't empty, but there is enough room for everyone. More room farther away from the ocean to play frisbee, volleyball, football or whatever you're sport is. The best spot to go shelling is at the far left as you face the ocean, just before the rocks. The rocks at the far left are home to cute tiny crabs to look at (or catch) And apparently at near those rocks, the farther you go down is a good viewing area for dolphins. If you walk far enough to the right you pass south marco and enter tigertail. Beautiful beach. Lots to explore. South Marco SEEMED more sheltered than tigertail, fewer waves, better for small children. Not sure though

Date of experience: May 2014
Thank Josiah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We spend each summer on South Marco Beach - the sand and the water can't be beat. We love floating and relaxing the day away. Parking can be an issue, but if you get here early in the morning you will be fine. We have come in the summer and Spring Break and it is much more pleasant in the summer. Less crowds and the water is wonderful. During Spring Break it is too cold to really enjoy. It is our special piece of paradise!

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank Travelinggirl8844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Marco Beach also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Marco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing