We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place.....”
Review of Keewaydin Island

Keewaydin Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place.....”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stopped by here today on the Dolphin Tour - what a beautiful beach. We looked for shells and paddled in the water, it was so clear. You must see it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SopranosMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    77
    12
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to chill”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

All reviews will tell you you can only access this Island by boat, so get a boat and go!
I thought I might get bored so I took my IPad, we explored the island, done some shelling walked in the surf and just chilled. I can't explain why I enjoyed it so much but the IPad never came out, it stayed on the boat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank scuffs-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damesa_2000
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, felt like Robinson Crusoe on it”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Went out this past Saturday--water was gorgeous and the shelling was incredible (found my first junonia)! We were the only ones on the beach...loved it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank damesa_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great easy destination for a days boating - love the lazy river!!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Keewaydin Island is a small barrier island just north of Marco Island or an easy run down the intracoastal waterway from Naples. It is a beautiful bit of paradise which is lovely to while away a day with family, friends or a partner.

I know this sounds like an advertisement, but honestly it is great - we've been heading here for the last 20 years and it is definitely a welcome relief from the modern world.

On the intracoastal side you can easily either pull up on the beach (much the easiest) or anchor just a few yards away and swim in. Once you are on the beach you can walk out to the Gulf side for a nice seaside walk with relatively few people around or stay inside. Either way its a nice place to while away a few hours.

The water is generally warm (not in winter!!!) and like yesterday, you can simply sit in the water and chat.

In fact our favourite is to take a life jacket or other float aid, with a drink (can even be water!?!) and float with the current along the back of the beach. When you've gone far enough just a couple of strokes back to the beach will allow you to stroll back to your starting point and do it again.

TIPS
- Take beach shoes as there are some burs around
- Try to avoid weekends as they get very busy
- Be prepared for the odd idiot who doesn't know how to run their boat etc and some music
- Do be aware of the current & tide both for boat management and basic safety
- Several hours out there can mean a lot of sun, keep putting the sun block on or you WILL burn!
- Don't drink too much or you will certainly feel terrible that night and probably also the next day, plus that is how most boating accidents happen
- It takes roughly an hour to get back to either Naples of Marco, so leave plenty of time.

Take what you need, as although there are a couple of food boats and they are pretty good, they are not too cheap.

Enjoy!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 171959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great boat trip”
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Well worth planning this trip into your holiday. Pack for the beach/day, Rent a boat follow the directions. Beautiful beach, can be busy with other boaters. When we went we watch in amazement a sea plane flying v.very low and then landed alongside our boat!!!!! Kids went mental..... Thee is an old boat selling beer and food also beached up. Enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Gullek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keewaydin Island also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Keewaydin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing