We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just stopped by for drinks”
Review of O'Donoghue's Bar and Grill - CLOSED

O'Donoghue's Bar and Grill
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Coming Soon!
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very friendly staff, esp. the bartenders, wish we would have stopped by for dinner. Highly rec. for a late nightcap. Will stop in again, next time I am here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank imp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoirishbar, Manager at O'Donoghue's Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for stopping by for a drink! Glad you enjoyed our beer. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 448 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

The food quality has gone down the tubes.

The new location has turned out to be just another 'sports bar with terrible acoustics.
It used to be a beautiful Irish Pub - I wouldn't waste my time going back there again. Too bad it is.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BLBoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoirishbar, Manager at O'Donoghue's Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

First, I want to thank you for coming into our new location. During this off season we are working on acoustics in the restaurant. I apologize that the food was not up to par during your visit, we strive to provide excellent service and food to every customer, just as we did at our old location. We will continue to work on making this consistent and hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Visited during our recent trip to Marco Island we only ate at lunch time having sandwiches and fries, although I think the dinner menu is the same. Service was very good and friendly, would recommend. Great Irish background music

Thank holidaychicCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoirishbar, Manager at O'Donoghue's Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for coming into O'Donoghue's and taking your time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a wonderful spot on Marco Island. The service was extraordinary! Sean, the bartender, was very friendly and fun! The menu combines traditional Irish cuisine with American favorites. The Shephard's Pie is wonderful! The bar has an excellent selection of liqour to include great Irish whiskey! The atmosphere is wonderful. The restaurant features open air windows on one side and also features a stage for live music. This would be a great change of pace from all of the seafood restaurants on the island!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmExplorer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoirishbar, Manager at O'Donoghue's Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for coming to O'Donoghue's, we are so pleased that your experience was an excellent one. During the Summer we have live traditional Irish music every Friday and Saturday that provides a very fun atmosphere. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Loved the atmosphere and the service but the food was terrible! I had fish and chips and my husband had some Guiness stew. Both were not good. We were not able to eat the soda bread as it was salty and hard! We will not be back. Very disappointed.

Al & Carole

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoirishbar, Manager at O'Donoghue's Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for coming to O'Donoghue's, I want to apologize that your experience was not excellent. The items you mentioned are two of our most popular dishes. The fish and chips made with cod are prepared when ordered, and the Beef and Guinness Stew is prepared fresh daily. I do hope that next time you are in town you will give us another try as I believe our food can be just as good as the atmosphere and service you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Donoghue's Bar and Grill also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Goodland, Marco Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing