We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific excursion”

The Dolphin Explorer
Ranked #4 of 85 Tours in Marco Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A National Geographic approved tour, we see dolphins on every trip up-close and personal. Join the crew of the Dolphin Explorer cruising the waters of Marco Island in search of dolphins as part of the only dolphin research study in Southwest Florida. On our trip, you will visit rookeries, estuaries and a barrier island that you can explore and shell. Two trips daily, seven days a week. A fabulous family adventure.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Terrific excursion”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed this 3 hour excursion with our family. The boat had a naturalist on board who really made the difference in expanding our knowledge of dolphins and the local habitat. Obviously a person who loves his job and cares for the many dolphins we saw. We must have seen close to 30 dolphins many really close as they swam alongside and chased the boat. The trip included a 30 minute stop at a small island when we could stretch our legs and go shelling. Lots of opportunities for photos and the naturalist took a number of photos. copies of which were given (at no charge) to all the passengers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jakobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    35
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Real Tour not aSea World choreographed tour”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a real tour and a great day out the guys on the tour know what they are talking about and the beach they take you to is stunning. This isn't a sea world feed the dolphins take picture then go home, its dolphins, manatees and rays in there natural habitat but also fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CANIGOONHOLIDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great excursion!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This trip was fascinating and we saw many, many dolphins. The naturalist was informative and it was obvious he enjoys his job. The shelling part of this trip was awesome as well. Well worth the cost and your time. I rate this one excellent!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dedemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Times for everyone - Love the dolphins”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

If possible we take the tour everytime we're here on Marco. (If you've been on the tour before be sure to let them know, they'll knock off 5$ of the regular price.) We saw two baby dolphins today :-) Baby dolphins are born between Sept. - Nov. Got some great pictures and the 3 hrs on the boat were over way to soon! Great to be part of the dolphin research they're doing!

Helpful?
Thank mullersteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow! Awesome for all”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Better than described. Saw tons of wildlife. Learned more than could have ever asked about sea life, history, ecology and the amazing animals. Kids wanted to go again. Great pics for kids, excellent shelling on private island and extremely knowledgeable staff. Dolphins came right up to the boat. Staff was accommodating and went out of their way to meet everyone's needs and answer their questions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Explorer also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Dolphin Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing