We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip for seeing dolphins”

The Dolphin Explorer
Ranked #4 of 85 Tours in Marco Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A National Geographic approved tour, we see dolphins on every trip up-close and personal. Join the crew of the Dolphin Explorer cruising the waters of Marco Island in search of dolphins as part of the only dolphin research study in Southwest Florida. On our trip, you will visit rookeries, estuaries and a barrier island that you can explore and shell. Two trips daily, seven days a week. A fabulous family adventure.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Excellent trip for seeing dolphins”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently took a trip on the Dolphin Explorer. I'm not a good sailor but it takes place in inland waters so was smooth. The boat is quite small so is good for taking with the other guests.

The guide on board was very good and took time to answer our questions. Although I've done a number of whale watching trips around the world I had never seen dolphins in the wild - now I have! The guides seem to recognise the dolphins and slowed the boat slightly to allow the dolpins to jump in the boat's wave - it was wonderful.

You're also taken to an island to go shell collecting on the beach - it was nice and relaxing and would advise to take a beach towel to sit on.

The tour lasts for 3 hours and you are given some photos at the end.

Would highly recommend this trip to all age groups but would make sure that you have a reservation as it appears to be a very popular trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank elmac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    35
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
169 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Terrific outing”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was a lot of fun. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the naturalist on board was most informative. The kids were given a pamphlet with dolphin facts which had a little section where they could keep count of the number of dolphins we saw. There was space for 18 and that's when the kids stopped counting. The naturalist photographed many of the dolphins and printed them off and gave copies to the kids. He then challenged them to identify the dolphins by comparing the photos to others in a catalog. We also saw many nesting ospreys and other birds. The kids had a terrific time. The crew also provides bottled water and soft drinks at no charge.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fobisque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
“a day with the doplhins”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

What a beautiful way to start your day! Out on the water with blue skies blue water and surrounded by nature! The staff was exceptionally friendly - we couldn't have had a better time, a perfect day! How fortunate we were to see so many dolphins, beautiful and playful creatures!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kathleen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must go”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great! Very friendly, knowledgable staff. Highly recommend. They take you to a beautiful private beach for shells and the kids will love how interactive it is for them.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun and educative. Great experience!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Friendly staff, beautiful area. We saw many dolphins and birds. Kent gave clear explanations about everything. It ended with three dolphins surfing and playing in the wake of the catamaran. Beautiful!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PH2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Explorer also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Dolphin Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing