We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful for group events” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn

Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn
Ranked #29 of 120 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated. French cuisine and seafood specialities creatively prepared by award winning chef Denis Meurgue. Relax and enjoy your home away from home. Step back into history at the jewel of the island. Celebrate in our beautiful and charming atmosphere. If you are looking for a quick bite to eat, we will gladly oblige but the norm for us is not to rush our guests. In addition to our extensive wine list, we offer a full bar and have entertainment in our bar. Please call for details.
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful for group events”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I'm not usually impressed with the meal when an organization has a social function in a restaurant. By the time everyone is served, hot food is warm, cold food is warm and the service is lacking. Not so at Bistro Soleil. TThey did an amazing job. The salmon was perfectly cooked; the vegetables were al dente, and...the raspberry mousse dessert was delicious and the service was perfect. The owner, Lisa, worked the room to ensure everyone was happy. Definitely a venue to repeat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    56
    26
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Redemption”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had occasion to revisit this restaurant and had an awesome experience. Filet Mignon cooked to a perfect 135 degrees and laced with translucent intertwined shrimp and fresh vegetables that were steamy but crunchy. My wife and I had the same dish...as did 150 other people all served at the same time...a neat trick showing great skill by the chefs and their staff.

It cannot get much better than this.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jfomarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Reliably Exquisite, Down to Earth, Hearty French Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you have never tried French food, go to Bistro Soleil for delicious food served in a relaxing and unpretentious environment. The restaurant is in the Olde Marco Inn, the oldest building on the island, built in the 1800's . The award winning French chef, Denis his Wisconsin born wife, Lisa, and their girls have lived on Marco Island for years. We have our favorite dishes and they are always served the same way - rich, fresh, and delicious. The mussels in white wine and garlic are always such a treat. Dip your bread in the simple wine sauce with an aperitif. I had a glass of French Rose from Provence. I tried a new appetizer - Fromage de Chevre - a warm goat cheese tart. Need I say more? My husband loves the slowly roasted crispy duck and I had the grouper topped with crabmeat and a lemon butter sauce. We were naughty and ordered a side of frites (fries), served hot and crispy. There are many choices of top shelf French wines at reasonable prices. For dessert, we always order the apple tarte tatin served with vanilla ice cream topped with balsamic vinegar reduction.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much for personalizing and making our 50th wedding anniversary dinner so very special. The entire Bistro Soleil team did an outstanding job and as always the food was great! Thanks again. Paul and Judy

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gramlewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been dining at Bistro Soleil ever since they opened. Denis and Lisa just do a marvelous job. It's hard to select a favorite, but I do love their rack of lamb, and their grouper special is always great. You will not be disappointed

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatonMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing