We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Christmas Buffet”

Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn
Ranked #32 of 120 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $35
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Family owned and operated. French cuisine and seafood specialities creatively prepared by award winning chef Denis Meurgue. Relax and enjoy your home away from home. Step back into history at the jewel of the island. Celebrate in our beautiful and charming atmosphere. If you are looking for a quick bite to eat, we will gladly oblige but the norm for us is not to rush our guests. In addition to our extensive wine list, we offer a full bar and have entertainment in our bar. Please call for details.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas Buffet”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We decided to go out for Christmas Dinner this year and after having it at Bistro Soleil, we might just have to do it again next year. They focused on having fewer but high quality and well prepared items. The Beef Wellington was cooked to perfection and full of flavor, the rotisserie cooked turkey was one of the best we've had, the ham was excellent and the tilapia was amazing. Some of the people in our party had the smoked salmon (smoked on-site) and said it was delectable. There were a number of very tasty desserts and we sampled them all; after a meal like that, there wasn't much room left for desserts though. Pasha was our waiter and he took very good care of us and made sure we had everything we needed throughout our meal. I would highly recommend this restaurant without hesitation. We would like to try their regular menu sometime in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HazySunshine2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerldb, Manager at Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Christmas Day buffet experience! We are happy to know that you enjoyed our buffet and its' choices. Yes, we smoke our salmon on site. We also have a large rotisserie which we used that day for the turkeys and anyone sitting outside enjoyed the aroma's that created! We are also happy to learn that you were happy with the service provided. We will look forward to seeing you next Christmas but hopefully before that, so you will have the opportunity to enjoy our nightly menu.
Merci beaucoup,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    57
    28
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Definitely try this place when you want a nice, quiet and upscale evening in Old Marco. The food is wonderful and the service is great (ask for Pasha). Located in an old hotel it has the charm of antiquity. All it lacks is a water view.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Mom880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerldb, Manager at Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your dining experience here on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your evening with us. Despite the lack of a direct water view, we just recently added outdoor dining to enhance what we offer to our guests, it has been a hit! We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!
Merci beaucoup,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming gem with delicious choices”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This place is attached to the Olde Marco Inn and has the feel of being someones very comfortable and nice looking home. The service and staff are great. And the food is fantastic! Recommend escargot appetizer, chicken with prosciutto, swiss and blue cheese and the mushroom risotto (best ever had)! The bar makes a good Kir Royale and they have a nice selection of wines. We were celebrating a birthday so our dessert came with pyrotechnics-made for a great and sparkling evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldtowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerldb, Manager at Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your dining experience at Bistro Soleil. We are nestled in a historic building, built in 1883. As guests enter Bistro Soleil, many enjoy looking at our framed tarpon scales, dating to 1906, including name of the person who caught the tarpon, length and weight of the fish and the date caught , an significant part of our history as the Inn was built when people started fishing tarpon. We are so happy that you enjoyed the service, food and ambience! We enjoy being part of birthday celebrations by adding our edible personalized greeting card and our pyrotechnic candle, making it all the more special.
We look forward to serving you again!
Merci beaucoup,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food ever”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Been coming to Marco Island for 40+ years and for some reason had never gone there. The food is outstanding and staff is very helpful. We are normally casual people and didn't know if we would like "French Food". The seabass was better than any lobster that I have had, unbelievable salad, could eat there every night !! The owner Lisa makes sure that everyone is comfortable and well taken care of. Great, great place. A must if you are going to visit Marco Island or the Naples area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerldb, Manager at Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bistro Soleil! We are happy that you found us! Our entire staff at Bistro Soleil work very hard to create a memorable dining experience. Situated in Marco Island, we are "resort casual"-we know and appreciate that many of our enjoy our island atmosphere. We thank you for dining with us and look forward to serving you again!
Merci beaucoup,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bottle of wine”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Food, live music, atmosphere excellent, but least expensive bottle of wine is close to $40.00 and when you ad tax, and tip to the bottle of wine it's close to $50.00 which makes me realize why so many customers I noticed were drinking soft drinks. I would go more often but not when I have to $40.00 for a bottle of wine.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerldb, Manager at Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your dining experience with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the food, live music and atmosphere at Bistro Soleil. After reading your review, I was concerned about your comments regarding our wine list. I double checked our wine list and found that we offer 24 bottles of wine under $40 dollars. Fourteen bottles range in price from $36-$39. Ten bottles range in price from $29-$35. In addition to our wine list, we offer a full bar. We also offer Happy Hour in our bar (please call for days and times) where we offer a $4.99 appetizer menu in addition to half price house wine, domestic beer and well drinks. I hope you will dine with us again so that we may offer you some suggestions in regards to our bottled wines in the price range you are looking for.
Thank you,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing