We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and Delicious”

Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn
Ranked #29 of 122 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $35
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family owned and operated. French cuisine and seafood specialities creatively prepared by award winning chef Denis Meurgue. Relax and enjoy your home away from home. Step back into history at the jewel of the island. Celebrate in our beautiful and charming atmosphere. If you are looking for a quick bite to eat, we will gladly oblige but the norm for us is not to rush our guests. In addition to our extensive wine list, we offer a full bar and have entertainment in our bar. Please call for details.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary here. The Russian waiter Paul was professional, courteous, and quite handsome.My fish special was excellent but my husband's rack of lamb was so delicious I couldn't stop asking him for another bite!! Since I mentioned it was our anniversary on the reservation I thought we might get a dessert but we were so full we went to the bar for an after dinner drink. Pleasantly surprised there was a piano player that night.While sipping my cosmopolitan, our waiter Paul. arrived at the bar with a complimentary key lime mousse topped with raspberry coulie and an engraved anniversary cookie. That was the superb topping of a special evening. Go here for dinner and order the dessert too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ScienceHollywoodFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerldb, Manager at Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us on Tripadvisor. We are so happy that you chose to spend your anniversary with us. Our lamb is one of our most popular dishes. At Bistro Soleil, we love to recognize anniversaries, birthdays and any special occasion. The anniversary cookie you mention is what my husband and our chef refers to as our "edible greeting card". We have even used it to assist in marriage proposals! Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again as we are now open for the season.
Merci beaucoup,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 299 of 379 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

The food is simply awesome! Multiple gluten free items on the menu and a nice wine list. And if you like escargot, theirs rocks!

Thank GlutenFreeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerldb, Manager at Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Bistro Soleil on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our sizzling escargots cooked in an aromatic garlic herb butter. They are a popular item in our dining room and a favorite on our happy hour bar menu. Many of our selections are gluten free. We are always happy to accommodate our guests and their dietary needs. We reopened this past week and look forward to serving you again.
Merci beaucoup,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Bistro Soleil, located in the section of Marco Island known as Olde Marco, is in the historical Olde Marco Inn. Chef Denis Mergue and his wife, Lisa, serve real French dishes, including the finest moules (mussels) this side of the Atlantic. Some of their other dishes such as sea bass, grouper, and steak frites are authentic, tracing their roots to Denis upbringing in Northern France. The service is outstanding and the ambiance is perfect for a French bistro.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bengoshi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerldb, Manager at Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time post your comments on your dining experience! We are so happy that you enjoyed your meal, especially our moules-(mussels)! Our guests are very important to us and we make every effort to ensure a wonderful meal. Our staff is trained to ask our guests throughout the evening, about their meals. If something does not meet the expectations of our guests, we make every effort to correct that. We are pleased that we met your expectations!
We just reopened this past week and look forward to serving you again.
Merci beaucoup,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

A unique French restaurant located in the historic Olde Marco Inn. A warm welcome from co-owner Lisa is the start of your dining experience. We recently enjoyed a formal meal celebrating our anniversary. (We have also enjoyed their small plates menu while seated at the bar.) Chef Denis prepared the most delicious Beef Wellington I have ever tasted! French Onion soup served hot and fresh.  Homemade Beignets for dessert served with light and airy chantilly cream. Servers are professional and attentive. Bartender Shannon is  most welcoming and makes a perfect gimlet! I always recommend Bistro Soleil to visitors to Marco Island. It's a great place to dine whether it's a special occasion or just another day!

Thank kcaruso322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerldb, Manager at Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your dining experience at Bistro Soleil. We are so happy that you joined us for such a special occasion, your anniversary! Our guests are very important to us, that is why we make every effort to speak with guests during their dinner, to ensure meals are cooked to the desired temperature, seasoning is accurate, etc but don't want to be intrusive either, especially during a special evening like this. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we look forward to serving you again.
Merci beaucoup,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We headed here based on a recommendation from a local. Great historic setting and friendly welcoming staff. The menu as exactly what you'd expect on a traditional French menu. Unfortunately they were out of all the stuff we wanted to order. We got the impression that the food was per-prepared since there was only one type of salad. I had the Brie en croute, it was really Brie and tinned button mushrooms in a deep fried spring roll. The food was tasty and good value but just don't expect French cuisine.

Thank rovingdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerldb, Manager at Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. I apologize if we did not have the dishes you were looking for. As we only use the freshest ingredients, sometimes products are sent back to our supplier if they do not meet our standards. There is some preparation that takes place prior to opening each night but none of our items are cooked ahead of time, sitting under a warmer. Everything is cooked "a la minute". I apologize if you did not enjoy our homemade salad dressing. We do offer our homemade dressing or vinegar and oil as a house salad accompanies each entree. Our dressing is very popular and many guests purchase it at the restaurant or when we feature it at the local farmer's market. Many of our items are what you expect to find in a French restaurant (French onion soup, escargot, mussels, foie gras, seafood cassolette, duck a l'orange, apple tarte, beignets, key lime mousse to name a few) but when creating our menu, our chef takes into consideration local products and the fact that we are located in Southwest Florida. For example, he creates light sauces not heavy cream sauces that you would expect to find in a traditional French bistro or brasserie. I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve again! Thank you for dining with us.
Best regards, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bistro Soleil at the Olde Marco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing