We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for teenagers and pre-teens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Crystal Shores
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Perfect for teenagers and pre-teens”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for a week in an ocean view 2 bedroom. Parking is a little limited and the trip from the parking to the rooms is far and open to the elements. The rooms are large enough and the appliances adequate and well furnished although there could have been more dishes and utensils. The activities staff was the best we have seen at any of the resorts. Chad, Matt and Zara were outstanding with our grandchildren. We know Marriott trains its employees to be courteous, but this was beyond training, it was genuine. The number and variety of activities was amazing. The beach is nearby and the sand is lovely. This is only the first phase of the resort and it was not crowded. My grandchildren had a ball in the pools and with the pool tables and car track. We found the pool chairs to be uncomfortable and there could have been a water cooler by the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    117
    41
    17
    3
See reviews for
278
111
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The island is beautiful. The view form our room was spectacular. The beach was at best average, the water color was murky, and the sand filled with shells (hard packed). The pool is oddly shaped for swimming and at its deepest is 4' 3". To find the front desk in itself was an expedition. No lobby to mention. When we first checked in I noticed the A/C filters were both filthy and had to request emergency service to have them replaced, which they did.
Now why not to accept 1203: It is immediately below the gym. The booming, banging, clanking, will greet you each morning at 9a.m. and continue through the day.

What a horrible way to spend a 'relaxing weekend' at the beach!

We mentioned to the staff more than once and received the 'company apology' and not much else. Oh, a bottle of wine. My wife said' I guess they hope we get drunk and thus won't hear anything.'
It's about a half an hour from downtown Naples which is well worth the drive.
I will stick with the Atlantic and the East coast next time.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 1203
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harddo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This resort not only has the amenities I home but also of a first class resort! From the wait service at the pool area to the cool aromatherapy towels at the pool. This place is first class! If u have children, u do not want to stay anywhere else! They CATER to children with so many activities!! And don't forget about the kids night in which allows u to drop your kids off from 6-10 while you enjoy an evening out. Their is not enough that can be said about this resort!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

For readers unfamiliar with the area I want to ensure they know this is for the vacation timeshare and not the Marriott hotel down the block. Some of the other comments here seem to be getting the 2 confused.
We were very lucky to go the week before the 4th of July so we had a quiet uncrowded visit. By the time we checked out on 6/30 however It was already busier than it had been the whole week so timing is everything.
The resort looks like it was a former hotel that has been remodeled as the check in area was tiny and a little strange to get to. Other than that they actually did a beautiful job. The grounds were clean and nicely kept and the rooms were beautiful.
The balcony was the best I have ever come across. It was large and had not only a table but 2 loungers.
Inside space was clean, comfortable,and of course had everything we needed.
restaurant decent. Paid $12 for omelette and toast.
The beach was nice and while you could rent chairs etc we didn't really find the need. It was not crowded until the day of departure. We saw turtle nests and lots of shells.
2 pools-one a grotto pool the other more plain. Both have zero entry areas for small kids.

There is a security guard at the driveway ensuring only guests park in the tiny upper lot.
Regarding the lot: It rained HARD several days while we were there and there is no way to unload groceries or luggage without getting soaked. As of now there are no plans to chnage that per staff.
Across the street is a bookseller, movie theater, restaurants, shopping, and the best Irish pub ever. The theater serves food and beer chairside!
There are several grocery stores within 2.5 miles.
Best Restaurant find: Fin Bistro. Make reservations for this or any area restaurant if you plan to eat between 5:30-7:30pm
Tigertail beach: Small Lagoon for kaying before you get to the beach but it has a muddy bottom. Kids play area and cafe. If you plan to walk across to the real beach do so at low tide. Great sand dollars here.
This is a place to relax and not really a party/thrills area so it was perfect for adults and preteens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kimCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here with family (our kids and grandkids). Although we were on a high floor, we probably had the poorest view on the floor since we were furthest away from the ocean. The rooms are nice and the balcony is huge - biggest we have seen at any hotel or Marriott Vacation Club. We like the size of the complex as it never felt crowded. The pools are good and the bar/cafe was good.

Room Tip: Request an oceanfront view or as close to the ocean as possible on a high floor. My first priority...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NebraskaFan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family of 4 just returned from our 2nd stay at the Crystal Shores in 4 years & are already talking about returning again in 2 years. If rating the resort itself, we would give it a 5...absolutely love this place…rooms are spacious, clean, views are to die for, all staff encountered were very friendly & helpful & would return in a heartbeat. We love the resort so much my husband & I talked about ownership & since our room was not ready upon arrival, we visited the sales office immediately to see what we could find out about the ownership process. Since it was mid-day Saturday, the sales receptionist told us she had no one available to speak with at that time, so we promised to return during the week before our departure. The thought of ownership quickly changed after hitting the beach on Sunday & the reason for my "3" rating. We rented out 4 chairs & 2 umbrellas at a cost of $170 for the week. Not long after sitting on the beach we noticed something we had not noticed on our first visit to the resort….the beach was heavily occupied by non-resort beach goers. We were extremely disappointed to learn that Marriott sold out its owners & guests by making a deal with the city for a bigger piece of the real estate pie by allowing public access to the beach through their resort back in 2009. Since this had happened just prior to our last visit, it was not a noticeable issue, but fast forward 4 years & now it appears to be very popular. First off, half the parking lot which is small to begin with is now used for public parking at a charge of $10 per day. Secondly, not once did we go to the beach to utilize our chairs & not find public visitors sitting directly at our feet. If the Marriott was going to allow this, they should have stated public visitors need to sit behind resort chair set up. Also, we had a view of the beach from our room & majority of times when we left our chairs to go up to our room for brief periods, we could see in the 10 minute walk from beach to room people jumped right into our pricey chairs when we left. We had to have the Marco Island Watersports staff “evict” public users from our very expensive seats several times during our stay. In addition, security presence at the resort is much more prevalent since public users literally have to walk down the side of the resort to access the beach…we even witnessed 2 people getting kicked off property because they wandered into resort areas. And timeshare users are now required to wear colorful rubber bracelets which is a bit of a pain to identify themselves to resort staff & security as belonging on site because in the past public users were caught using the resort pools. Overall, our opinion is that the Marriott did a great disservice to its owners & paying guests by allowing public beach access. The price to stay at the resort is not cheap by any means & therefore, I should not have to be inconvenienced in any of the ways described above during my stay because of their greed. We will return in the future, but will never consider ownership.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank caanco40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Marriott's Crystal Shores. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the resort but disappointed the public beach access impacted your stay. In Florida all beaches are public and cannot be restricted to resort guests. Marco Island also requires beachfront resorts to provide public access to the beach. While we cannot change the laws regarding public beach access, we will advise the beach vendor to be more diligent in not allowing non-paying guests to use the rented chairs and umbrellas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

First of all, let me respond to the review regarding coolers. We too were very surprised by the policy of not permitting coolers at the pool. Our family has stayed at many MVC and never were told to get rid of our cooler. We also use the cooler to bring our lunch, water, etc...we do not bring alcohol. In discussing this issue with the MVC at Crystal Shores, it was apparent that this was a controversial issue. I believe Marriott at Crystal Shores needs to reevaluate this policy since many of us do not want to spend excessive amounts of money for food when on vacation.

Now to the good stuff....Crystal Shores is very quiet and peaceful. Construction for completion of the project is scheduled for later in the year. The nice thing about Crystal Shores was that there was no traffic or congestion. It truly is a paradise and the beach is absolutely gorgeous. You can easily walk to the Marriott hotel via beach or street and shop or have a snack. The Marco Island Marriott is stunning to say the least, and I have been at many Marriotts.

Probably the best part of Crystal Shores was the wonderful staff. The loss prevention staff was excellent as well as the activities staff. The activities staff (especially Matt) was so professional and accommodating. They all greeted you no matter where you were and made you feel like familly.

Crystal Shores had many complimentary activities unlike other MVCs we have been at...I especially enjoyed the coffee tasting event.

We will definitely put Crystal Shores on our list.

Room Tip: All rooms have gulfview....very beautiful...my new favorite MVC
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preciouscottoncandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
Marco Beach Vacation Suites
#11 of 12 in Marco Island
71 reviews
Naples Bay Resort
#5 of 59 in Naples
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#4 of 12 in Marco Island
572 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Naples
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Crystal Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Crystal Shores

Property: Marriott's Crystal Shores
Address: 600 S Collier Blvd, Marco Island, FL 34145-5604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Crystal Shores 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Crystal Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Crystal Shores Hotel Marco Island
Marriotts Marco Island
Marriott's Crystal Shores Marco Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing