We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but nothing exceptional” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nene's Kitchen

Nene's Kitchen
Ranked #13 of 120 Restaurants in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chisago City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, but nothing exceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Second family trip to Marco Island. We missed NeNe's last year, so wanted to make sure we tried it this year.
My teenage daughter gave high marks for the waffle with strawberries and whipped cream.
My wife ordered the short stack said they were average.
I had eggs, sausage and pancakes. The pancakes tasted fine, they are a more dense pancake. (I'm a Perkins pancake fan and these weren't that good.)

Service was fantastic, we arrived at 8:50 am and were seated immediately. By the time we were finished, there were at least 6 parties waiting to be seated.

The place looked very clean and well maintained.

Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    314
    124
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent food, but nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went to Nene's based on TripAdvisor recommendations. Had breakfast, and it was just a regular breakfast. Now that being said, we only had breakfast at one other place on Marco Island, so this still may be one of the better options for breakfast, but I thought it was just a typical breakfast place. I got the Eggs Benedict, and my husband got an egg/meat/french toast combo - both were perfectly good, just nothing extraordinary. The service was friendly. Food took a little longer than I would have expected to come out, but it wasn't too bad. Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunsetblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dreamy breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went to NeNe's Kitchen on Sunday morning after mass. Expect a 20-25 minute wait but it's worth it. I had the fruit crepe surrounded by whipped cream and it was delicious. The crepe was light, the fruit fresh and the whipped cream heavenly. The restaurant really bustles on a Sunday morning but you never feel rushed and the wait staff is efficient and courteous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler22281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, superb service at a reasonable pride . I will come again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

A good indicator of an excellent restaurant is when the place is filled with locals. This place was so popular that folks were happy to sit for 10 minutes or so for an open table. I had the daily special which was superb -especially after a full day of birding! We were famished! Large servings and friendly staff. Will recommend this place to all of our friends!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank russelljill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best breakfast in Marco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

pleasant little restaurant right on Collier. Outdoor tables, excellent food and service and prices are reasonable. My wife got the fritatta- it was huge and excellent and my omlet was perfect.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tvkscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nene's Kitchen also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Nene's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing