We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path with great shelling”
Review of Tigertail Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path with great shelling”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We heard several folks say that we needed to make a trip to Tigertail Beach. Some of the amenities were closed for the month of Sept since it's considered the 'off' season. We went at low tide and were able to walk across the water (inlet) to the beach. We came back around the 'long' way which was wonderful for finding lots of shells and very few people. Also enjoyed a little surf fishing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PamC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    447
    212
    62
    67
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tigertail beach”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A very nice lagoon, great place for bird lovers. The water is not good for swimming, too many sea weeds. Nice to rent a boat and just hang out. Very relaxing. A lot of different types of birds, great for photography and birding

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MHessNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazen, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you get to real beach it is great!The lagoon is a joke!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

we went here thinking it was a great place to rent a house next to and walk everyday by the website but,we were sadly dissapointed at the lagoon part the whole Cafe,paddle boats ect. it looked like a old desserted beach!!! nothing like the website!! it was all broken down empty with a swamp!!! we decided to cross the lagoon since we already paid parking that day and then it was great once you got to the real ocean!!! we even got a scare thinking it was a shark next to us when really it was a dolphin!! if you can, go down on marco island beach down by all the resorts though!! no walking through waist down swamp water !

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CandiceDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There are way better beaches elsewhere”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

After walking through muddy sand we came upon an empty lagoon. The water was murky and I was not about to walk through it, as suggested. So we took the long way and finally found the real beach. The beach was okay, it was clean. But it was also pretty deserted. We only went to Tigertail one day and then decided to spend the rest of our time at Bonita Beach in Bonita Springs.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beach is in ROUGH shape!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Too far to walk to get to the "nice" part of the beach. Too many pebbles and rocks. A charge for parking tells you they are not tourist friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Czar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tigertail Beach also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tigertail Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing