We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible! What a Fraud! Never Again!”
Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siesta Motel
Reviewed August 12, 2012

i went to their online website, and sounded like a nice cheap and relaxing place to stay with family but when we get there it was nothing nothing how they mentioned. the place is old, dirty, and full of dust and mold. the beds were so uncomfortable they would skeak everytime you would move. the A/C worked very good, i think that was the best part of this place. the so called walking and biking trail was a back yard with parked cars, rocks and full of dirt every where, there were old and very dirty disgusting bbq grills with mold, their were dirty beach chairs completely dirty covered with black stains. you have to drive for everthing, their is no pool on site or near, there is no fishing on site like they said they had, same as beach. the doors in the rooms didnt work, we slept in this place practically with our eyes open, we were scared that some one would come in our room in the middle of the night. the motel is exactly in front of the airport and can hear all the cars during the night, this motel is nothing to what the site explains, please find some where else to go. never again would i ever go there or recommend. please beware and go somewhere else. i am not the type to write reviews but it botheres me to know that there are places like this that literlly just take your money and its not fair. PLEASE BE CAREFUL!

Room Tip: go some where else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandra9590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank_siesta, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Ok.. I will take each point separately:

1. Our motel as many in the Keys was built in the 1960's . It has the original terrazzo floors which we get compliments on every day. All of the furnishings are updated and current. There is no mold ANYWHERE nor dust. We are the highest rated motel in the Keys for cleanliness, etc every inspection.

2. I have no idea what "skeak" means. If you mean squeak our beds do not squeak. Many of our beds are less than 1 year old and some are soft and some are firm. Everyone has their preference on that issue. I recently stayed at a beautiful resort hotel where the bed killed my back. I am sure it was a very expensive bed but it was way to firm for my preference. And this was a place that charges 7 times what we charge per night. Absolutely nothing wrong or cheap about the bed - just not good for my back.

3. I have no idea what you could possibly have thought about a biking trail and walking trail being in our garden area. Our gardens are beautiful and enjoyed by many of our guests. There is a fantastic biking/walking trail right across from the motel that runs at least 8 miles along the island.

4. The outdoor lounge chairs are clean as are the bbq grills.

5. EVERY single door at the motel is less than 6 months old with new locks. Everyone of them works perfectly. If there was a problem you should have mentioned it to us. There could not have been a problem because our housekeeper uses the doors every day when cleaning and would let me know if there was a problem.

6. The only airport is a tiny private airport with small planes. On average probably 2 planes a day use the runway and these are not jet planes. No noise no problem. As for cars - we are a motel and motels are built near the road. Sometimes you can hear some traffic but at night there is very little traffic plus the walls of the motel are concrete block and prevent the noise from entering the rooms.

7. We have never said nor advertised fishing or a beach on site. You should do your homework before making false statements. Two of the best beaches in the Keys are just minutes from the motel. None of these beaches have lodging facilities on them. Anyone wanting to use these beaches must drive to them.

I think I have covered everything. One last point - this guest had reservations for 1 night. It seems that instead of being out and enjoying the Keys they spent most of their time trying to come up with a bad review..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 182 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our anniversary is the 25th of January. We made a reservation for the night of the 24th for a one night in there 3 bedroom trailer.My wife's sister and husband where also going. My wife came down with the flu on the 22nd and I on 25th we could not travel. Call on the 23rd they refused to give back our deposit. Being sick was bad, but be kicked while down is unthinkable. Will never return to this place again. kennethkopp64@aol.com

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank_siesta, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Our cancellation policy is very clear and our policy is about the same as every other lodging facility in the Keys. If you cancel within 2 weeks of your arrival and we are not able to rent the room you will be charged. It is very simple and very straightforward.

These guests actually cancelled the day of their arrival which made it almost impossible to rent the room to other people on such short notice. Most people traveling to the Keys make advance reservations so filling a room at the last minute can be difficult - hence the policy.

Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

After reading previous reviews I was afraid of what we were going to see when we arrived at the 3 bedroom trailer but decided to give it a try. I was definitely surprised. It was as stated by owner...CLEAN!! It is nothing fancy but for the price it is worth staying there if you want a decent place to sleep and eat. We felt very comfortable. There is no pool but you do have access to one about a mile down the road which we found to be very nice. We stayed only 2 nights but would return again. If you don't expect a resort or hotel with many amenities then I suggest you consider this place. I found the owners to be very cordial and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Grandma6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank_siesta, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Your review was refreshing and right on the money. we are a motel - NOT a a fancy resort. If you are looking for affordable and comfortable accommodations we are the place. If you want fancy and expensive please look at the resorts where you will find what you are looking for.

Hopefully you can visit us and the Keys again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great little non-resort motel. Well-kept and appointed place. The first time we stayed here in 2010 we were at first a bit worried about road/airport noise but over many days during three extended stays have remarked to ourselves how wrong we were. Place has oldstyle flooring, and the sheets and towels are always top-grade.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riqpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank_siesta, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

As always we appreciate an honest review... Thanks for the compliments and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The siesta motel owners are very misleading they claim the 3 bedroom 2 bath is a suite and when you get there they even tell you..it is a house you are staying in but in actuality it's a double wide trailer filled with spiders in every room along with mold in the bathroom. The beds are so uncomfortable everybody woke up with back pain. A reason I decided to book there is because of the kitchen but judging by the the oldest dishwasher I have ever seen the black stuff at the bottom of the dishwasher grossed me out that we never cooked in the kitchen we were afraid to get something. I understand this was a motel I wasn't expecting a whole lot but to lie about the accommodations that's not right. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heath52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Well I have to laugh at this review. The suite dishwasher has not worked in years and we do advertise it as having one. There is a large sign on the dishwasher that says "Dishwasher broken - please do not open". AND the funny part is that we have actually used several screws to lock the dishwasher shut to prevent guests from attempting to use it. So if this guest really did open the dishwasher they were really really determined to try and open it. And if they did get it open there is nothing gross in it - it is old and broken and much of the paint was worn away showing black metal. End of that story.

We have no spiders in the rooms and use a professional exterminator monthly to prevent such problems. We have NEVER had any mold in the bathrooms and we get compliments daily on the cleanliness of our rooms. The guest never mentioned this or any other problem to us ever and seemed very happy when they checked out. We did take an extra long time cleaning the suite after this guest checked out - their children had spilled juices on the furniture which we had to steam clean and had used crayons on the walls which took a long time to wipe off.

We do not lie about our accommodations - our website has great current pictures of every room on our property.

Oh and one more thing - just to prevent future "problems" the dishwasher was removed yesterday and we added some new shelves in its place.

Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Siesta Motel does not bill itself as a fancy resort with a pool, just promises clean rooms at affordable prices with a helpful staff. I've had family stay here on two occasions. On the second, my son and his fiance were visiting the Keys together for the first time and were given a room just off the small but delightful garden. While modest, it had everything they needed, including a fridge. And they liked it so much that they decided to stay another night. The owner/operator, Frank, is super friendly and very solicitous about helping out with anything you need. He makes sure patrons know that he lives right next door and is handy in case of emergency. That made us much more comfortable about having the "kids" stay there. Conveniently located midway down the Keys right on the Overseas Highway, this is a centralized point for traveling up or down island. After all, if you're in the Keys how much time do you want to spend sitting in a hotel room? This place fills up fast for good reason, so be sure to make reservations.

Room Tip: The rooms on the garden side of the property are quieter and more attractive. Again, this is not a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank_siesta, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

WOW... Thanks for a wonderful and honest review... We could not have described our property/philosophy any better.. We are happy they had a wonderful stay and we certainly hope to see them again in the future.

Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Hi,

My young family of six needed a motel to stay at for a few days whilst we quickly explored the Florida Key's area. Marathon, being roughly half way down the keys, seemed to fit the bill. As we are on a budget, Siesta Motel seemed ideal.

We booked the 3 bedroom accomodation which is not on site (but is only a few houses away). It's an old permanent trailer with three bedrooms. It sleeps 8 to 10 people and has a kitchen, two bathrooms, two toilets. It was clean but very dated. The kitchen facilites were very old and I didn't feel comfortable really to use it aside from have breakfast there.

The back sliding door didn't lock, instead it used a wooden pole as security to jam the door shut.

Aside from that, we were comfortable enough with it to stay those few nights.

Please note, the Motel is not beach side but is a short drive away to a child friendly Marathon Beach and about a 20 minute drive to Bahia Honda State Beach (which is very nice).

The owner Frank was very personable and helpful with his tips around the area.

PS. Bonus is that it had a washing machine and dryer on site.
PPS. I don't think we had maid service every day (if there was, there was no evidence of the place being cleaned).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jensy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon Shores
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.9 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
1.5 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
0.1 mi away
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 7425 Overseas Hwy, Marathon Shores, Marathon, FL 33050-3130
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon > Marathon Shores
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon Shores
Price Range: $173 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Siesta Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for having the cleanest rooms in paradise and affordable prices year round.We feature refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable television in every room plus we have several larger rooms with full kitchen facilities. Built on 3 spacious lots we have beautifully landscaped tropical gardens with barbecue grills and deck chairs in the rear of the motel for your use. The Siesta Motel has been a vacation favorite for years throughout the Keys. Known for having the cleanest rooms in paradise and some of the lowest prices year round ? all the top fishing guides keep their clients here. Minutes from Sombrero and Bahia Honda beach, Dolphin Research Center, Crane Point Hammock, Key West and shopping - we are centrally located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Marathon Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing