We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised & Satisfied”
Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Siesta Motel
Reviewed July 10, 2012

After reading previous reviews I was afraid of what we were going to see when we arrived at the 3 bedroom trailer but decided to give it a try. I was definitely surprised. It was as stated by owner...CLEAN!! It is nothing fancy but for the price it is worth staying there if you want a decent place to sleep and eat. We felt very comfortable. There is no pool but you do have access to one about a mile down the road which we found to be very nice. We stayed only 2 nights but would return again. If you don't expect a resort or hotel with many amenities then I suggest you consider this place. I found the owners to be very cordial and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Grandma6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank_siesta, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Your review was refreshing and right on the money. we are a motel - NOT a a fancy resort. If you are looking for affordable and comfortable accommodations we are the place. If you want fancy and expensive please look at the resorts where you will find what you are looking for.

Hopefully you can visit us and the Keys again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 181 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great little non-resort motel. Well-kept and appointed place. The first time we stayed here in 2010 we were at first a bit worried about road/airport noise but over many days during three extended stays have remarked to ourselves how wrong we were. Place has oldstyle flooring, and the sheets and towels are always top-grade.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riqpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank_siesta, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

As always we appreciate an honest review... Thanks for the compliments and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The siesta motel owners are very misleading they claim the 3 bedroom 2 bath is a suite and when you get there they even tell you..it is a house you are staying in but in actuality it's a double wide trailer filled with spiders in every room along with mold in the bathroom. The beds are so uncomfortable everybody woke up with back pain. A reason I decided to book there is because of the kitchen but judging by the the oldest dishwasher I have ever seen the black stuff at the bottom of the dishwasher grossed me out that we never cooked in the kitchen we were afraid to get something. I understand this was a motel I wasn't expecting a whole lot but to lie about the accommodations that's not right. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heath52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Well I have to laugh at this review. The suite dishwasher has not worked in years and we do advertise it as having one. There is a large sign on the dishwasher that says "Dishwasher broken - please do not open". AND the funny part is that we have actually used several screws to lock the dishwasher shut to prevent guests from attempting to use it. So if this guest really did open the dishwasher they were really really determined to try and open it. And if they did get it open there is nothing gross in it - it is old and broken and much of the paint was worn away showing black metal. End of that story.

We have no spiders in the rooms and use a professional exterminator monthly to prevent such problems. We have NEVER had any mold in the bathrooms and we get compliments daily on the cleanliness of our rooms. The guest never mentioned this or any other problem to us ever and seemed very happy when they checked out. We did take an extra long time cleaning the suite after this guest checked out - their children had spilled juices on the furniture which we had to steam clean and had used crayons on the walls which took a long time to wipe off.

We do not lie about our accommodations - our website has great current pictures of every room on our property.

Oh and one more thing - just to prevent future "problems" the dishwasher was removed yesterday and we added some new shelves in its place.

Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Siesta Motel does not bill itself as a fancy resort with a pool, just promises clean rooms at affordable prices with a helpful staff. I've had family stay here on two occasions. On the second, my son and his fiance were visiting the Keys together for the first time and were given a room just off the small but delightful garden. While modest, it had everything they needed, including a fridge. And they liked it so much that they decided to stay another night. The owner/operator, Frank, is super friendly and very solicitous about helping out with anything you need. He makes sure patrons know that he lives right next door and is handy in case of emergency. That made us much more comfortable about having the "kids" stay there. Conveniently located midway down the Keys right on the Overseas Highway, this is a centralized point for traveling up or down island. After all, if you're in the Keys how much time do you want to spend sitting in a hotel room? This place fills up fast for good reason, so be sure to make reservations.

Room Tip: The rooms on the garden side of the property are quieter and more attractive. Again, this is not a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank_siesta, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

WOW... Thanks for a wonderful and honest review... We could not have described our property/philosophy any better.. We are happy they had a wonderful stay and we certainly hope to see them again in the future.

Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Hi,

My young family of six needed a motel to stay at for a few days whilst we quickly explored the Florida Key's area. Marathon, being roughly half way down the keys, seemed to fit the bill. As we are on a budget, Siesta Motel seemed ideal.

We booked the 3 bedroom accomodation which is not on site (but is only a few houses away). It's an old permanent trailer with three bedrooms. It sleeps 8 to 10 people and has a kitchen, two bathrooms, two toilets. It was clean but very dated. The kitchen facilites were very old and I didn't feel comfortable really to use it aside from have breakfast there.

The back sliding door didn't lock, instead it used a wooden pole as security to jam the door shut.

Aside from that, we were comfortable enough with it to stay those few nights.

Please note, the Motel is not beach side but is a short drive away to a child friendly Marathon Beach and about a 20 minute drive to Bahia Honda State Beach (which is very nice).

The owner Frank was very personable and helpful with his tips around the area.

PS. Bonus is that it had a washing machine and dryer on site.
PPS. I don't think we had maid service every day (if there was, there was no evidence of the place being cleaned).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jensy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Siesta. We booked the smallest double room but were upgraded to the middle-grade efficiency, with 2 double beds and a small kitchenette. The room was bright, clean and cheery. We read all of the reviews and the Owner's responses before booking and were not disappointed. When we indicated we might be arriving late, Frank the Owner called us right away to let us know about arrangements for a late arrival. The Siesta is not a resort, but rather a small 50's style roadside motel. It was right on the US 1 highway, very busy during the day, but traffic was quite calm by the time evening came. We weren't bothered by highway noise, although we were aware of it during the day. We also opened our windows for the fresh sea breezes and it might have been quieter still with the windows closed and AC on, but that is not our style. We were not bothered by the few small planes that landed or took off during the day across the highway. Frank was very helpful about places to eat (great lobster mac & cheese at Key Fisheries, on the dock a short drive away; nice breakfast at the Stuffed Pig, same area.) The Terrazzo floors were in excellent shape and added to the retro ambiance. Although the Siesta sign says "low, low rates," all of the lodging options we saw were a bit high for our budget, but the Siesta was a good choice.

Room Tip: The corner efficiency is worth the small upcharge, but we looked at the smaller doubles and they see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Hi everyone, if you like lose your money dont take reservation in this Motel. Is terrible and they have extra charge in the suppous low rate, so you need be carfully with the person work in this Motel special the Manager Frank. We have reservation in this Motel and after they say LOWLOW RATE later they excuse you need pay more money for nothing. The have trouble in the Rooms and for sure nothing confortable for nice trip and Fun. Again if you like Loseeeeee you Money never take this Siesta Motel in your reservation. This Motel is old facility and again the pict you see dont reflect the true situation. Thanks and i hope Expedia take out this Motel fron the your select location for best results.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon Shores
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
1.4 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
0.1 mi away
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 7425 Overseas Hwy, Marathon Shores, Marathon, FL 33050-3130
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon > Marathon Shores
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon Shores
Price Range: $184 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Siesta Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for having the cleanest rooms in paradise and affordable prices year round.We feature refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable television in every room plus we have several larger rooms with full kitchen facilities. Built on 3 spacious lots we have beautifully landscaped tropical gardens with barbecue grills and deck chairs in the rear of the motel for your use. The Siesta Motel has been a vacation favorite for years throughout the Keys. Known for having the cleanest rooms in paradise and some of the lowest prices year round ? all the top fishing guides keep their clients here. Minutes from Sombrero and Bahia Honda beach, Dolphin Research Center, Crane Point Hammock, Key West and shopping - we are centrally located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Marathon Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing