We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Siesta Motel
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were on a Girls Bachelorette Weekend and thought we were staying in a "3 bedroom suite", which turned out to be a 3 bedroom double-wide trailer down the street from the motel. Even when we checked in, Frank said were were actually staying in a house, never mentioned trailer.
Was clean, dishwasher didn't work, but that was ok. We were told there was a maid service, but never saw anybody.
I looked at the site ahead of time and never did see anything about a double-wide. Felt it was a little deceitful.
Will be more careful next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phonelady_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    23
    22
    68
See reviews for
50
62
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

I recomend this hotel , i went with my family, husband and two kids, the room was very clean, it has a refrigerator, microwave, and coffe maker, also it has access to the patio , where the kids can play, and you can relax at night , they also had a grill on the patio, there is not luxury but what i needed was clean linens and clean bathroom and i found it, very good customer service also. they also have rooms with kitchen , we stayed in one of them our last night. great!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethanjair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIRGINIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Wow! This place is HIDEOUS!! My fiance and I were on vacation in Ft. Lauderdale and decided to drive down to the keys for a day. We only stayed @ Siesta Motel for one
night.... nightmare!!!!!!!! I am serious!!! First of all, the pictures online do not do justice. I am not even sure if there are enough adjectives to describe this dump. We had an "efficiency" ... d i r t y! The room just smelled like MOLD. We were not in the room that long since we spent majority of out day in Key West. So anyway, 11:30pm is when we came back to the motel. I didn't know I was going to have a guest with me in the shower and long and behold there were geicos in the window!!! Ewww!! The so called mattress was so utterly uncomfortable I would have slept on the floor if it wasn't brown colored. The mattress was soooo gross we didn't even get under the covers. We slept fully clothed for fear of something was going to crawl on us. It was soo bad .. that in the middle of the night my fiance left out and slept in the car!!! Hahahaa.. this place is a joke. Pay the extra $30 and stay somewhere else... oh yeah, FYI when we left the next morning there was sewage leaking out on the parking lot. It was just nasty.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank huniebebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank_siesta, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
WOW.. sometimes i think people do these bad reviews just to see their comments online.

1. Our pictures are extremely accurate and depict every room in detail. I can pull up our website and show you the room while you are looking at it.

2. Our rooms are EXTREMELY clean. We get compliments EVERY day about the cleanliness and we are always the highest rated motel in the Keys for cleanliness, comfort, service etc. BUT remember we are not a big fancy expensive resort. If you want fancy and expensive we are not the place you are looking for.

3. NONE of our rooms smell like mold - ever.. Our floors are beautiful Terrazzo marble and we have no carpeting which is the main cause why rooms smell like mold. Our floors are so great we were praised in an article in the Miami Herald and in Rachel Ray's magazine - "Everyday with Rachael Ray".

4. Our mattresses are less than a year old and in great shape. Everyone has different opinions on mattress comfort. I personally just came back from a trip where I was paying over $200 a night for the room. The mattresses were very expensive and great quality but killed my back. Nothing wrong with the mattress but not good for MY back.

5. Gecko's in the keys?? now there is a shock. There are geckos everywhere in Florida and the Keys. They come out at night and crawl over the outside of buildings looking for bugs/dinner. I can't prevent them from crawling on the outside of the windows. They are harmless and quite beneficial to the ecosystem. Most people- especially kids- love seeing them.

6. There has never been any sewage leaking in our parking lot. When we have rain we do have puddles in the parking lot until the storm drains empty out.

I will never understand the few guests who tell you they had a great stay and then cannot wait to race home and leave a "nasty" review.

If you are looking for a nice, clean, affordable motel and not big, fancy resorts give us a call and we will treat you right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon Shores hotels

Waco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

We rented the trailer, I think they call it the suite. I was very clean and comfortable, nothing fancy! Hard working people trying to make a living, very accomodating. While we were there the A/C went on fritz, called and reported it. Staff very apologetic, brought us fans promptly. Had a repairman there first thing in the morning, he had to order a part, again they apologized. It was repaired the next day. Everyone was great! It was comfortable to cook dinner @ night, relax, watch TV and surf internet on laptop! My mother is a neat freak!! and I was terrifed she would start cleaning the minute we got there, however it was up to even her lofty standards. We heard ZERO traffic noise and we live in a very rural area and Frank warned us that the road and a small airport was near and could be a problem. Thank you Frank, hopefully we will see you again next year!! Only issue we had was torrential rain a day and a half we were there and the owners can't change the weather!!

Room Tip: Ask questions, Frank is very up front, honest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowgirlark81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

i booked by phone not knowing what we could exspect was scared i made a bad decision, then we arrived to meet ms keena and was pleasantly surprized, she had no problem showing me the room 1st and it was not fancy but VERY clean .. i told her we did not want a resort just a clean room with no motel drama (partys, fights , rude ppl) ect.. we have been married 1 year and on our wedding day we went to hospital and spent our honey moon there so this trip was very important to us. we had a wondderful time slept good every nite no noices bothered us. we went to bed @ 9 or 10pm and got up @ 5 to 6 am everyday and everynite Never was there a problem. we were told up front that it was on a busy road and that it was not a resort. resorts run 200.00 and up a nite so you pay for what you get and i feel like we got a great deal @ 115.00 a nite i would go back again and again the only thing i can say bad about our stay is we couldnt stay longer .i dont wanna go home life there could be rate up our alley for retirerment, sincerely the Zuzich's from st augustine fla. bravo and hats off to ya frank you got a great lady working for you..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yzuzich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

No frills, but convenient, clean, and comfortable. Arrived mid-afternoon when standard rooms had be filled so we received free upgrade to larger room w/kitchenette. Frank (mgr) helped us find nice local beach and great place for fresh seafood dinner. Heard a little noise from airport across the highway; not an issue for us. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip-n-Out-4-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Title should explain. We show up to check in at this place and the office is a storage closet. The man n his wife are rude and disrespectful we went to see the room before we checked in and the fridge was nasty mold on wall hotel sits 5 feet from the major highway. When the owner told us his motel is voted most comfortAble in the keys we told them the mattresses were squeaking he and his wife told me i wAs A fat [-] ( their words ) . I 5'3 n weigh 145 pounds ( normal size ). I called to have my credit card cancel the payment cause visa said it was charged the owner screamed at me n told me thAt visa was lying. What a trip from hel! I told him we are the customer and his words , " i dont give a flying [-] about customers " we left he kept our money but we will dispute it through visa. O qnd the "lush gardens " is a banna tree i. have the owner on video. After we were threatned to be removed we went to another hotel. The hotel declined my card. Come to find out they charged my card 1300.00 ! I neverrr authorized thatttt! so long story short he kept callin us harassing us and we had to get the sheriffs department involved. Hotel moto should be " worst place on earth" Nothing around this place either looks like the only thing the have to offer in the area is for a prostitutes n drug houses

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ems8809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon Shores
2.7 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
0.2 mi away
Kingsail Resort Motel
Kingsail Resort Motel
#13 of 16 in Marathon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Property: Siesta Motel
Address: 7425 Overseas Hwy, Marathon Shores, Marathon, FL 33050-3130
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon > Marathon Shores
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Siesta Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for having the cleanest rooms in paradise and affordable prices year round.We feature refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable television in every room plus we have several larger rooms with full kitchen facilities. Built on 3 spacious lots we have beautifully landscaped tropical gardens with barbecue grills and deck chairs in the rear of the motel for your use. The Siesta Motel has been a vacation favorite for years throughout the Keys. Known for having the cleanest rooms in paradise and some of the lowest prices year round ? all the top fishing guides keep their clients here. Minutes from Sombrero and Bahia Honda beach, Dolphin Research Center, Crane Point Hammock, Key West and shopping - we are centrally located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Marathon Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing