We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Award winning breakfast!”

John G's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Manalapan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Award winning breakfast!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A wonderful breakfast can be had here. If you go for lunch, try the fish & chips, they are the best. The seafood casarol is great as well. A must visit while in the West Palm area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    116
    38
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Historic local hangout”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This used to be on the Lake Worth beach, but due to overpricing the rent they've had to change locations. No longer on the beach, they're in front of the Ritz Carlton in Manalapan now. They still have the same obnoxious queue at peak hours, but the food is still just as consistent as it's always been. The M&M machine at the checkout that takes the free pennies has been around since I was a kid. It's an unfortunate change in location as the Ocean Ave bridge from the mainland side is closed, so for the time being (since they re-opened, and who knows how long until the bridge is finished) one has to drive from Lake Worth or Boynton Beach to get here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cruciatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate breakfast here after our bad hotel stay and it changed our attitude. It's breakfast, the most important meal of the day.
The food was hot, plates were warmed, to keep the food warm. I was happy.
Service was good, food tasty, and fresh.
No complaints, we would eat there again.
Good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobodaclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

May have a wait to get in because its a very popular place but its worth it, believe me. Can't say enough good about the food. The prices are not low but they are reasonable and won't break the bank.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank banana55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in the area”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's the best place for casual breakfast dining we have found in the Lantana, Manalapan, Palm Beach, and Lake Worth area. The main down side we find is the line. Sometimes it has taken us 10 minutes in line while other times we've had to stand in line for 50 minutes or an hour.

While there is plenty of room for improvement we have found a few items from the menu we like that are mostly consistently good.

The prices are reasonable and the menu items we like are generally reliable. The French toast is the king as far as we're concerned. A fruit cup (blend of fresh and packaged fruit) or juice with the meal is a bonus. Fruit cup has a variety of fruit but always has citrus and grapefruit.

Staff members are friendly. Lately, the restaurant seems a bit understaffed. It has taken a while for staff to take our order and sometimes they have been so busy they haven't checked to make sure everything is okay after bringing our dishes. Breakfast is our time to relax so a few minutes more is not a big issue except that often there's a line of people waiting for a table.

It's clean, spacious, crowded, noisy, well lit, offering plenty of parking. They accept cash only.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John G's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to John G's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing