We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food”

John G's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Manalapan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

May have a wait to get in because its a very popular place but its worth it, believe me. Can't say enough good about the food. The prices are not low but they are reasonable and won't break the bank.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank banana55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    116
    39
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in the area”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's the best place for casual breakfast dining we have found in the Lantana, Manalapan, Palm Beach, and Lake Worth area. The main down side we find is the line. Sometimes it has taken us 10 minutes in line while other times we've had to stand in line for 50 minutes or an hour.

While there is plenty of room for improvement we have found a few items from the menu we like that are mostly consistently good.

The prices are reasonable and the menu items we like are generally reliable. The French toast is the king as far as we're concerned. A fruit cup (blend of fresh and packaged fruit) or juice with the meal is a bonus. Fruit cup has a variety of fruit but always has citrus and grapefruit.

Staff members are friendly. Lately, the restaurant seems a bit understaffed. It has taken a while for staff to take our order and sometimes they have been so busy they haven't checked to make sure everything is okay after bringing our dishes. Breakfast is our time to relax so a few minutes more is not a big issue except that often there's a line of people waiting for a table.

It's clean, spacious, crowded, noisy, well lit, offering plenty of parking. They accept cash only.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food, but cash only.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great restaurant. We try to stop by every time we are in the area. Prepare for a wait and they take cash only. Once your inside you won't be disappointed. Portions are large and filling. Breakfast is the best. It's not open for dinner, just breakfast and lunch. Regardless you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpicchioldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in South Florida”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are looking for quality food and great service, look no further than John G's in Manalapan, across from the Ritz. This family-owned establishment is by far the favorite destination for breakfast. Serving breakfast and lunch, be prepared for the ever-present line to get a table, but there is a counter for those that are not as patient. From the almond-cinnamon French toast, to the glorious omelettes (served with mounds of the best hash browns ever!) you will be glad you ate here! And if you like fish and chips, John G's is, again, a favorite of anyone who has eaten here. The staff is ever so friendly and if there is a long line, often there is fresh coffee and snacks while you wait. I have been going there for 20+ years and I highly recommend to anyone!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Big Breakfast Locals Love”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My first time today and the pictures on their site do not lie. Big plates of good French toast cinnamon nut or regular, good ham, and great coffee. Bring your appetite and a little patience because there may be a line. Local favorite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyjimi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John G's Restaurant also viewed

 
Manalapan, FL
 

Been to John G's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing