We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views, excellent fare, great service, & bill a bit pricey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellow Dog Cafe

Yellow Dog Cafe
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Malabar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $70
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Confort food with a flair. On the river in Malabar, Florida. On the Water with a long dock for a walk after diner. Outside dining, business meetings, weddings and private parties, event space.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, excellent fare, great service, & bill a bit pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stopped by to treat a friend for lunch who wanted to try this restaurant on a perfect weekday.
Views from from our table on the deck out over the Indian River allowed us to watch boats, birds, and dolphins while we ate our delicious lunch consisting of one unsweetened hibiscus tea (very light and perfect for day); one crab bisque (loaded and creamy); two, onion crusted chicken-bacon wraps (delicious!!!) with included sides of coleslaw (not too wet or too sweet) and yucca (too starchy) or potato pancake (light and crispy); and one sampler dessert with three tiny, but beautifully presented desserts on one plate (profiterole - a bit dry; creme brulee - perfect; and kiwi cheesecase - melt-in-mouth). Excellent service. Bill was $51 without tip for this lunch. Have enjoyed dinner here, too (very $$$$), so recommend save for special occasions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willypickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    52
    29
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stopped by for lunch and to enjoy the view. He quality of the food and service lived up to the prices. This is some of the best food in the area and one of the nicest views. I would be happy to return any time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, and expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had great food. My was potato crusted salmon and my wife had trout and we both loved our meals. they came with a vegetable and a salad. The service was great. We were never rushed and we had a great table overlooking the water. We were so full from the meal we could not bear to order desserts, even though they looked great. It was expensive (to us) with $30 to $50 entrees, but the good food was worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited the Yellow Dog. To go for a special occasion overlooking the water is a fabulous location. The food is all homemade which I have very rarely found in the U.S. coming from the U.K Will be back later in the year to try some more delightful food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not to be missed! So, so good!!,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Yellow Dog never ever disappoints! The service is excellent, never intusive.
The food is delicious, the setting is relaxing located in the water. The price is
fair....what's not to love!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sjava911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Dog Cafe also viewed

Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 
Indialantic, Brevard County
Melbourne, Brevard County
 

Been to Yellow Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing