We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Central Florida”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thurston House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Maitland B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have been coming here for nearly 20 years and thoroughly recommend this incredible bed & breakfast. When visiting the Orlando for business or pleasure, this is the only place I will consider staying. It's all the little extras that Carole puts in that make this home away from home truly extraordinary. The home itself is exquisite, beautiful surrounds, incredible porch (I've fallen asleep there), wonderful sitting room/library, comfortable beds (an insomniacs dream) and a nice desk to work on. Then, it get better! A breakfast fit for a King with an dietary condition. You walk away feeling refreshed and wanting to come back again and soon. Wish I could give this place six stars!

Room Tip: Been in every room -- all a equally wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merrilee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 54 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a Great place to stay. We especially liked the decor... we've stayed at B&Bs which are stuffed to the rafters with kitsch to the point where we were nervous to move around for fear of breaking something... Thurston is much more subdued giving it a feeling of homey, normalcy.

The room was very comfortable with extensive amenities - including a small flashlight on the night stand in case of a power outage, non-cheapy pillow chocolates, fluffy bathrobes and normal size pillows.

I am normally not a big breakfast eater, but Carole's breakfast was outstanding with a big selection - for me a special treat was canadian bacon ( Do Canadians call our strip bacon American bacon?) We both loved her fruit cup - the pairing of raspberries and pineapple was delicious.

For us, the crowning enjoyment was the porch. We're not sure what it's like in July/August, but in May it's wonderful. We had a cooling breeze anytime we were outside with very comfortable chairs for reading or just admiting the lake or the surrounding gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yarwak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Thurston house. Carol has incorporated little touches throughout to make your stay comfortable. Wished we had more time to enjoy the screened porches, including hammock on the second floor, but, we were attending a wedding. Carol was so responsive to our dietary needs (gluten free for me, dairy free for my husband) that my husband wrote in their guest book after our stay--best gluten free B&B. I agree. Quiet and clean rooms, comfortable bed, hot breakfast, newspapers, wrap around porch, free wifi, beautiful gardens, menu book and suggestions for where to eat, complimentary water bottles, drinks and snacks--what else do you need?

A couple of tips for things to do nearby that we enjoyed...Definitely check out the Morse museum (free 4:00 p.m.–8:00 p.m.on Fridays from November through April), and the Saturday farmers market in nearby Winter Park. For $12--got a caterpillar for our grandson (now waiting for him to come out his cocoon and turn into a beautiful butterfly). Here is more information about Lorenzo Zayas (butterfly man): http://bismarcktribune.com/news/local/butterfly-man/article_7a34cd24-bdae-5036-bcfb-888550f3bede.html

By the way, Thurston House accepts gift cards from Bedandbreakfast.com.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacontessa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We chose to stay at Thurston House on our last dat before the flight home from Orlando airport. We loved the area. It's everything you would not expect from Orlando! After a warm welcome from Carol and a tour of the house we were treated to wine and cheese on the porch with a wonderful view of the lake. Joe gave us some dinig tips then we headed out to nearby Winter Park. Even managed to see the wonderful Tiffany collection at the Morse museum because Carol mentioned the free late night opening on the day we were there! Fantastic. Breakfast the next morning was exactly what we had asked for. Altogether, a wonderful stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotter51_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Beautifully restored, romantic, comfortable, friendly host, superb breakfast (and plenty of it,) wine/cheese, snacks, comfy porches overlooking the lake, excellent mattress, even wifi. This is the perfect place to stay for adults. We were in the Hirsch room which we prefer over the O'Heir as we are not sunrise people, but all 3 rooms are lovely and just fine. And to make for a perfect evening, an outstanding restaurant, Antonio's, is just 3 minutes away. Although not too hungry the next morning, Carole's breakfast was so good, we ate it all...fresh fruit compote, lemon-nut bread, mushroom and onion quiche, citrus ham and roasted potatoes. And while there, be sure to enjoy Winter Park with its art galleries, small shops, outdoor cafes, and the fascinating Morse Museum dedicated to Tiffany.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltdVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We met friends here for a wonderful visit--charming decor, delicious breakfasts and afternoon snacks, and enticing rocking chairs on the big porch overlooking the water! Carole and Joe made us all welcome and helped us find great restaurants (Try Antonio's where we went twice!) and local sights including the marvelous Tiffany museum in Winter Park and the beautiful camellia and rose gardens nearby. We recommend this as one of the best B&Bs we have ever visited!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

One of the best bed and breakfasts have ever stayed in. Carol the innkeeper aims to please. Her breakfasts are great. The rooms are just beautiful. Quiet. All kinds of little things that make you feel special. Location also good. Highly recommend

Room Tip: There are only 3 and all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nedra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maitland
2.2 mi away
The Alfond Inn
The Alfond Inn
#1 of 2 in Winter Park
764 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Orlando North
Sheraton Orlando North
#2 of 6 in Maitland
363 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Winter Park Village Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Orlando-Maitland
2.1 mi away
Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
#2 of 2 in Winter Park
277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Maitland - 1776 Pembrook Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurston House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurston House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 851 Lake Ave, North Orlando, Maitland, FL 32751-6306
Location: United States > Florida > Maitland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maitland
Price Range: $248 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thurston House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurston House is central to everything, making us perfect for both business and pleasure travel. We are in the heart of Maitland, and 5 minutes to Winter Park, 10 minutes to downtown Orlando, 30 minutes to the attractions and one hour to beaches. Our three queen-sized guest rooms offer all modern amenitites. Our 8 acre lakefront setting provides our guests with quiet accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thurston House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing