We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Nice Location”
Review of Rangetsu - CLOSED

Rangetsu
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lake Avenue
Description: Welcome to RanGetsu, Orlando's ultimate Contemporary Japanese Dining and Entertainment experience! Our newest venue, RanGetsu at Lake Lily, together with our new and exciting Orchid Lounge, opened on April 2011 in our brand new facility overlooking Lake Lily Park in Maitland, just a mile north of Winter Park Village at 901 South Orlando Avenue (17-92). Our mission is "refining and re-defining Japanese dining" and complementing this with modern technologies and ambiance to make it a complete late night dining and entertainment experience. Our focus is to provide excellence in service to proudly serve a select urban modern menu from our Chef Yuichiro Yamanaka. Early and late, his kitchen will tempt you with dishes ranging from traditionally known Japanese fare, such as Tempura and Sushi, to sizzling morsels from our Robata grill, to the best steaks in the world, featuring our select Wagyu beef selections! Our ultimate goal is to make you forget where you are from the moment you join us to "Experience RanGetsu!"
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food - Nice Location”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Rangetsu in Maitland is a great place to enjoy a meal. The location is really kind of cool, and their menu is really great, especially if you are going with someone that does not like sushi, as they have many different items that can appeal to most anyone. The Sukiyaki is a must, it was excellent, and their Sweetheart roll, was unlike any sushi I have had in the past, and a really delicious take.

Would definitely recommend Rangetsu, and we will be adding it to our rotation of great Orlando area restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    27
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great for a Date Night”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The decor is beautiful, great atmosphere for young couples looking for an upscale date night. The Sea Bass is amazing, as is the Tempura appetizer. If you are unsure of what to get the Bento Box is great way to sample a number of items.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crusnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sushi, great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Shared the Orchid boat sushi and could hardly eat it all. Great food, good service and fun atmosphere. Kids had a great time and so did the parents! We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Town, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Average, at best - hopefully just an off night?”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The restaurant has a nice feel, and the staff quickly seated us - these were the positives of the whole night.

We came here and the person who decided to assist us immediately told us he was the Floor Manager and that half his staff had called out. That should have been an immediate red flag for our party, but we decided to stay. He also told us he would be our waiter for the evening, if we didn't take issue with it. Sure, no problem, of course.

In short, the mussels tasted off. Of the sushi rolls I had (2) one was pretty decent and one was less than good as the whole roll tasted extremely fishy, and as I recall the roll was shrimp, scallops and something else - both things that should NOT taste fishy unless they're ordering in fish that is either frozen or from colder waters (and even then, that's pushing it on the "fishy" taste), leading me to believe this stuff might be a bit off, too. The Tuna tartar was bland and underwhelming. The crab puff appetizer (can't recall proper name) was overly bland but the sauce was great...in truth, the sauce was the only good thing about the whole meal except the fabulous Miso soup. It's sad when you go to a nice sushi restaurant and the best thing of your meal is Miso soup.

The Floor Manager had to go and ask the Chef about the mussels (not only tasted off to one friend, but to another she said she had sand in one), he first told us that they "don't clean the mussels" (no, but you shouldn't be cooking them unless you've rinsed them off fully, correct? If one was open, it shouldn't have been cooked in the first place). Typically, you don't find a LARGE amount of sand in any mussel in a good restaurant. When he came back he said the Chef approved them of removing this from the bill. But...wait, isn't he the Floor Manager? ::sigh::

Overall, I'll give this place another chance in the future, but this visit was beyond good. Hopefully it was just a one time thing, but I felt I should share my less than happy experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangetsu, Manager at Rangetsu, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for the response. I remember your party and am sad to hear that you felt that your dining experience was hit or miss in terms of some of the items you ordered. The mussels, on your particular night, had just arrived and since they were closed we were not aware that they contained some sand, but we were happy to take the item off your check. I would like to invite you to come back and try us again. Please email me at winthara@gmail.com so I can make sure that a manager stops by your table and makes sure that your dining experience is what we expect from our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We came here for the happy hour specials. Happy hour is from 5-7pm. It's a limited sushi and appetizers menu but the prices drop to $5 ea. Also, the higher end mixed drinks are $5 and the import draft beers go to 2 for $5. Very good quality of food and very friendly service. Try the Mexican Roll, it sounds weird but is very tasty. Also got the spicy edamame, spicy tuna and pork gyoza. Would recommend them all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Plumberandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rangetsu also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing