We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Southern cooking at its best!”

O'Neal's Country Buffet
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Southern cooking at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Worth the drive to this small town off the interstate I-10. This hole in the wall has a terrific southern buffet at an unbelievable good price. The buffet includes salad, dessert and beverage. The catfish and fried chicken is the best. The creamed corn is just like momma used to make. Great service! I will definitely come back and will recommended to all my friends.
D Jones

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donsallstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Delicious small town value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We loved the food, the hospitality, and the cost! Well worth the drive off I-10! Great fried chicken and all you can test and drink - only $8!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie7957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We plan our route around it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have been planning trips around lunch at ONeal's for years. For me it's the fresh vegetables, fried fish and fried chicken. It's like going to Grandma's house and it is clearly the food of the ancestors. I always eye the banana pudding on the cold bar, but thus far have never made it. Last Sunday I had a plate of greens, pole beans, creamed corn, baby limas and fried chicken. I once had stewed okra and tomatoes that are the standard by which all others are judged. Also very affordable and can be gotten to go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
347 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Good lunch, would return here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

While traveling on a motorcycle road trip on non-interstate highways, we searched our gps for a nearby restaurant, not wanting a fast food franchise, and found O'Neal's. We almost missed it, it looks like an old root beer drive in restaurant. The buffet had good tasting food, including: the chicken tenders, country steak and gravy, Italian sausage, Thai chili wings, fried okra and more. That was the Monday specials, plus all the regular side dishes and desserts, and today they had blackberry and peach cobbler. It is nothing fancy inside, but the food is good. We paid $ 8.00 each and it included our teas with refills. Good deal. One of the owners came over and asked how everything was and was very friendly. They also make their own chicken tenders by hand pounding and cutting fresh chicken breasts. Things like that are great over frozen food being fried up...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norme-ormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Down Home Country Cookin'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This place has the food that I was raised on! The chicken, sweet corn, sweet potatoes, oh my, I guess I shouldn't list everything that I ate and loved! We've eaten here twice, and loved the food both times. I am not a fan of buffets, but I am a fan of O'Neal's. Great food and very affordable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Neal's Country Buffet also viewed

 

Been to O'Neal's Country Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing