We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Expensive!”

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Madison
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park & Campground located in beautiful North Florida! We are just off of I-10 (Exit 258) Address:1051 Old ST Augustine Rd. We offer rental cabins, RV, & tent sites! We have a newly added lazy river, splash pad, and zero entry swimming pool. Our 60 foot high water slide has always been a hit. Along with these amenities, we also have fishing lakes, ATV trails, putt putt golf, ping pong, playground, and a basketball and beach volleyball court. We have themed weekends such as Chocolate Lover's, Pirate, Hawaiian, Back Woods, Easter, Halloween, 4th of July, Memorial, & so much more! Combine all this with visits from Yogi Bear and there is no way you can go wrong!
Fleming island, fl
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Expensive!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have been going to this campground for years and have seen some improvements but nothing like you would expect for the price. We too did not appreciate the extra "amenity" fee for a pool that was closed due to weather, a 'mini golf' course that is useless or the broken kayaks without paddles and my personal favorite, ONE paddle boat. Years ago there were six or so...I saw at least three arguments over the use of the paddle boat and later that evening a number of us campers wondered what amenities we were being charged for. Due to an injury, I had to use the handicap shower stall....after lugging everything in there and getting undressed I found it didn't work. Not fun to get dressed again and lug everything back out. Dump station doesn't have even a garden hose for use. We put up with all of this because it is peaceful there but when we were told the prices were raising again in January we decided this month will be our last stay. I was hoping for more practical use of all the money they collect when they are busy but paying all of these extra charges when you have people fighting over the use of one paddle boat in insane. We were the only family left yesterday when we were leaving and asked, since this is not a busy time if we could stay set up in our site if we came back every weekend in Dec and one week for vacation for a discounted rate since this is not at all a busy time. Rather than accommodate the request and still make a guaranteed income of over 1/2 a month we were told it would be full price PLUS the daily amenity fees!!!! Really? This is when the greed overcomes customer satisfaction. I like doing business with local places but I also like to feel like our business is appreciated. Maybe when business decreases due to this attitude will things change. After Dec since we already made reservations, we will certainly take our business elsewhere where we pay less for more (like cable, sewer, free use of many paddle boats, etc). Sorry Yogi, this used to be our favorite campground!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager103, Public Relations Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hello, Mrs. Donna. I have seen your updated response about the pricing and am glad you like the changes we have made to the way we charge for amenities! The staff is currently working to update and renovate our putt putt golf course. It is a slow process but they have high hopes that it will be done before summer! As for the kayaks, you must get the paddles and life vests from the camp store. I am sorry if you were not informed of this! Yes, we only have one paddle boat. We used to have more, but unfortunately they were constantly being broken and we could no longer keep up with the upkeep they required.
I am so sorry to hear about your experience in the bathhouse and regret that you had to go through all that trouble! According to your most recent post, you had returned to our park a couple times more since we changed the prices and we hope that you had a much better experience! Again, on behalf of the park, I would like to apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay! I hope that you give our park another chance to prove that we can still be your favorite campground! If you are looking to stay with us this year, here is a list of some major weekends that are packed full of activities!

(April 18-20) Easter Holiday Weekend: Bring the entire family to enjoy a weekend of Easter celebrations! We will have age group Easter hunts, flash light Easter hunt, and a camp wide mega hunt complete with prize eggs that include free vacations back to our park, slushies, and more! We ask that everyone please bring plastic eggs filled with individually wrapped candy to include in the hunts**Holiday Weekend** Don’t forget: flashlights & baskets!

(May 23-26) Memorial Day Weekend: Come help us honor our heroes! There will be horse shoe, volleyball, & corn-hole tournaments, a light up parade, fireworks, and TONS of other activities for ALL ages! Book soon, we feel up fast for this weekend! **Holiday Weekend**

(June 6-9) Pirates of Jellystone Park: Ahoy Mates! Start practicing your pirate accent and don’t forget your costume! Come help Yogi Bear find his buried treasure! We will have treasure hunts, pirate face painting, temporary Tattoos, and many other pirate themed activities! Arhhhh! Pirate Costume Contest!

(June 27-29) Yogi Bear’s Birthday Celebration: Help Yogi Bear celebrate his Birthday! We will have a big party with cake and ice-cream to go along with our other activities! Also, this year we are asking that instead of presents for Yogi Bear, everyone bring baby wipes for our local pregnancy center to help young mothers & their new babies. (Yogi Bear is ageless for those of you wondering!)

(July 3-6) July 4th Holiday Weekend: A weekend full of fun! There will be fireworks, tournaments, and tons of activities everyone will enjoy. This is also our Back Woods weekend where we will have many southern and mud inspired games! Bring clothes you do not mind getting muddy!

(July 18-20) Yogi Bear’s Hawaiian Luau: Join Yogi Bear for hula skirt making, hula dance lessons, and other tropical themed activities! We will also have a camp wide luau! (More information to come..) **Holiday Weekend**
(July 25-27) Chocolate Lover’s Weekend: Come join us for the popular, action packed weekend! Activities will include: a chocolate pudding/syrup slip-n-slide, chocolate hair do contest, pudding eating contest, & that is just to name a few! You never know what new activities we will come up with! If you have never been to our chocolate weekend, you have to try it at least once! **Holiday Weekend** Bring bathing suits and clothes you don’t mind getting chocolate on!

(Aug. 29- Sept. 1) Labor Day Holiday Weekend: There will be fireworks, a parade, tournaments, karaoke, pudding eating contest and much much more! Plenty of activities for all ages! **Holiday Weekend** Decorate vehicles, bikes, golf carts for the parade!

(OCTOBER) Our Halloween Weekends will include a fall festival, hay rides, haunted house/trail, karaoke & much more! Stay 2 nights and get the 3rd FREE for the whole month! Things to prepare for: Site decorating and costume contest and bring candy for trick or treating!

If you have not already and wish to stay more informed about upcoming weekends, add us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/jellystonefl.

Sincerely,
Public Relations Manager,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    15
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a HAPPY camper”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Yogi Bear Jellystone Campground Madison Fla
I was there this past weekend 10-4 to 10-8 2013. After sending an email and NEVER getting an answer back. Of course to my surprise it was NOT anything I had remembered or expected... This campground is run unlike any other campground I have ever been to...I was very UNHAPPY and very disappointed...for the most part it is a beautiful campground property...but for the amount charged for the sites (45.00 a night) the site had no cable and the water was at one end of the campsite while the electric & sewage was at the other… None of the sites were paved. And then on top of the 45.00 night charge I got charged $6.00 per person to be at the campgrounds, was told it was the fee for all the activities but there were none the only thing we could do was the pool and the water-slide area everything else was an extra charge for everything else…and this park is on the Good Sam’s list. They came by one time the whole time I was there to pick up trash the rest of the time it sat on the side of the road next to our sites. The girls in the office had no clue as to what they were doing. I met up with my Dad and his wife there and they are 78 & 80 yrs old and was charged the 6.00 per person fee but they refused to pay it because there age does not allow them to do all the things it was suppose to cover...There for I will not be returning unless things change a lot…
I hope something can be done about this.
Thank you
Janet Blitch

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JBlitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager103, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I spoke with the managers of the campground and was told that adjustments were made to your reservation. We will be sending you a copy of the reservation. We are sorry that we did not
meet your expectations for our campground. We continue to be a work in progress. There is a lot
we would like to do and we are working on different projects. We have just put milling on all our main roads to help keep the dust down and fill in some holes along the road. Yes we would like to have tv at our sites but the $100,000 it would cost just doesn't seem to be a job we can handle at this time. Last year we added the lazy river and splash pad and a landing pool for the waterslide which now allows us to have treated water at our swimming areas. And fenced it in. We have had a lot of parents thank us for the fence..we put around the lazy river and splash pad..so they can keep up with their toddlers better!!! We are trying to run the water features on Saturdays till the end of October with weather permitting. Lots of water parks shut down right after Labor Day...but we try to be open on Saturdays since the weather is still hot and campers look forward to it. We do plan to add some concrete sites in the future but don't know when that will happen...but we will one day!!! I believe the weekend you were there we had taken Yogi Bear, Cindy Bear, and BooBoo to a
parade in a nearby town...even though the weatehr was HOT the characters gave it their best to let people know about the Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park. If you like a lot of activities we do them in June and July everyday...but about the middle of August kids are back in school as well as out staff and we have taper off and only do them on Saturdays. So hope you give us another try in the future.
We appreciate your comments and will forward them to the staff.
Thank you.
Latrelle Ragans, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Family Fun Campground”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After a recommendation from a co-worker, we recently spent a Saturday at the park to check it out. Needless to say we ended up having so much fun we reserved a cabin for the following weekend (this past weekend). I absolutely love the laid back family atmosphere, which is hard to find anymore. The planned activities are for all ages and can’t be beat!! I think my grown kids had as much fun as my grandkids did!!! I absolutely have nothing bad to say about this facility. The park is clean, the staff is awesome and we are looking forward to coming to the Fall Festival in October!!! Definitely our new family favorite picnic for the day/camp for the weekend spot!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BestGrannyEver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager103, Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are glad to hear that you had a good stay at our campground! It is always nice to hear of people enjoying their time at our park. It sounds like you had a fun and relaxing stay! Thank you very much for taking the time to post this kind review and we hope that you choose to stay at our park again! If you are looking to plan your vacation this year, here is a list of our major weekends that are packed full of activities.

(April 18-20) Easter Holiday Weekend: Bring the entire family to enjoy a weekend of Easter celebrations! We will have age group Easter hunts, flash light Easter hunt, and a camp wide mega hunt complete with prize eggs that include free vacations back to our park, slushies, and more! We ask that everyone please bring plastic eggs filled with individually wrapped candy to include in the hunts**Holiday Weekend** Don’t forget: flashlights & baskets!

(May 23-26) Memorial Day Weekend: Come help us honor our heroes! There will be horse shoe, volleyball, & corn-hole tournaments, a light up parade, fireworks, and TONS of other activities for ALL ages! Book soon, we feel up fast for this weekend! **Holiday Weekend**

(June 6-9) Pirates of Jellystone Park: Ahoy Mates! Start practicing your pirate accent and don’t forget your costume! Come help Yogi Bear find his buried treasure! We will have treasure hunts, pirate face painting, temporary Tattoos, and many other pirate themed activities! Arhhhh! Pirate Costume Contest!

(June 27-29) Yogi Bear’s Birthday Celebration: Help Yogi Bear celebrate his Birthday! We will have a big party with cake and ice-cream to go along with our other activities! Also, this year we are asking that instead of presents for Yogi Bear, everyone bring baby wipes for our local pregnancy center to help young mothers & their new babies. (Yogi Bear is ageless for those of you wondering!)

(July 3-6) July 4th Holiday Weekend: A weekend full of fun! There will be fireworks, tournaments, and tons of activities everyone will enjoy. This is also our Back Woods weekend where we will have many southern and mud inspired games! Bring clothes you do not mind getting muddy!

(July 18-20) Yogi Bear’s Hawaiian Luau: Join Yogi Bear for hula skirt making, hula dance lessons, and other tropical themed activities! We will also have a camp wide luau! (More information to come..) **Holiday Weekend**
(July 25-27) Chocolate Lover’s Weekend: Come join us for the popular, action packed weekend! Activities will include: a chocolate pudding/syrup slip-n-slide, chocolate hair do contest, pudding eating contest, & that is just to name a few! You never know what new activities we will come up with! If you have never been to our chocolate weekend, you have to try it at least once! **Holiday Weekend** Bring bathing suits and clothes you don’t mind getting chocolate on!

(Aug. 29- Sept. 1) Labor Day Holiday Weekend: There will be fireworks, a parade, tournaments, karaoke, pudding eating contest and much much more! Plenty of activities for all ages! **Holiday Weekend** Decorate vehicles, bikes, golf carts for the parade!

(OCTOBER) Our Halloween Weekends will include a fall festival, hay rides, haunted house/trail, karaoke & much more! Stay 2 nights and get the 3rd FREE for the whole month! Things to prepare for: Site decorating and costume contest and bring candy for trick or treating!

If you have not already and wish to stay more informed about upcoming weekends, add us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/jellystonefl.

Managers,
Trent & Ruthie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday, and had a pretty good time. Granted we were not able to use most of the amenities, due to the weather, (too cold) but kids did enjoy themselves. Not too many people here this time of the year, so it was quite pleasant. The staff was very friendly, and helpful, and were opened to suggestions for things to do. We are planning a visit back this fall, but are a little hesitant, as to some of the reviews, I don't want to feel nickel and dimed either. Will def. make a phone call, and ask plenty of questions before making our decision. Overall, we did enjoy our time we spent here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Place”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went with our children and grandchildren. This is the place to go. People were friendly, park clean, restrooms and showers clean. All activities were free inside park (large slide, lazy river, pool, putt putt goof, pin pong, soccer, etc). Great for all ages. Service was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank smithandjenkinsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieR180, Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Good Afternoon,
We are so glad you decided to spend your time with your family here, at Jellystone Park. We try our best to have activities for all ages, so it's wonderful that everyone enjoyed themselves. Please go to Jellystonefla.com to see all the exciting events we plan at our park. We thank you for your business and taking time to review us.
Hope to see you very soon!
Ruthie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park also viewed

 

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing