We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, attractions in desperate need of upkeep”

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Madison
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park & Campground located in beautiful North Florida! We are just off of I-10 (Exit 258) Address:1051 Old ST Augustine Rd. We offer rental cabins, RV, & tent sites! We have a newly added lazy river, splash pad, and zero entry swimming pool. Our 60 foot high water slide has always been a hit. Along with these amenities, we also have fishing lakes, ATV trails, putt putt golf, ping pong, playground, and a basketball and beach volleyball court. We have themed weekends such as Chocolate Lover's, Pirate, Hawaiian, Back Woods, Easter, Halloween, 4th of July, Memorial, & so much more! Combine all this with visits from Yogi Bear and there is no way you can go wrong!
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
“Great staff, attractions in desperate need of upkeep”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Every year we travel to Alabama and our children see Jellystone from I-10, begging to visit. This year we planned a three day trip to Jellystone. Upon checkin, we were directed to a very uneven site. Frequent rains had washed out the site and made it very difficult to level our travel trailer. When we mentioned it to the staff, we were given a choice to move to a variety of other sites. We chose another site and set up. We really enjoyed the slide and lazy river. However, the slide has wood decks on the stairs and concrete base. The wood would develop a slick layer and become quite slippery. It desperately needed some non-slip mats or something. The same thing happened with the concrete around the bottom. I watched one teen take a nasty spill on the wood decking. It was very lucky how she fell she did not go tumbling down the stairs.

One other issue was the putt-putt course. It appears like it was set up and never upkept at all. All of the electronics were not working, even though the plugs indicated there were supposed to be some ball blocks and other things happening. Additionally, there were several really soft spots in the wood, rotten decking, tearing carpets. All of this takes money to fix, and I understand how renovating a park may be expensive, but someone is going to step through the decks. The most irritating part was the gravel all over the decks. Fixing this is as simple as sweeping it off daily.

Finally, we did some kayaking on the lake. It was enjoyable, but the kayaks had broken pieces, so sharp plastic edges were exposed. Given this is a camping experience, it is expected there will be some issues with equipment and overall we had a really pleasant time. The issue is one of value. Given the state of the amenities, the price seems really high.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjohnson254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieR180, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi CJ,
I appreciate your comments....we have hopefully fixed the slippery landings on the water slide and at the bottom of the slide...we bought some mats this past weekend and put them in place..
I was not aware of that issue...thank you for bringing it to our attention....and we have ordered motors for the mini golf holes that needed them....I didn't know they were not working...probably hadn't been working for a long time..and yes the mini golf does need some help...hopefully we can take care of some of the issues there soon....and we think we have the best staff we have ever had at the park!! We are striving to keep things clean and friendly!!! While there are areas (most of them!!) that need improvement we will continue to work on them and keep moving forward to
to having a great distination vacation spot in North Florida. We sincerely apprecate your reivews and try to respond to them in a timely matter...while it may take longer than we like we will do it asap.
Thanks again....and if you don't tell us we can't fix it...and it helps for someone outside the company to tell our staff the issues you have had....as owners we see a lot too and try to instill in our workers that it is the little things that mean a lot to our campers...like clean campsites, clean fire rings, clean bathrooms....etc..believe me we are trying to get it done...!!!!
Thanks again.
Latrelle and Jimmie Ragans, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    17
    19
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Fun activities for the kids, horrible cabins and extremely high prices!!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We rented a "Deluxe Suite" cabin for 175.00 per night ABSOLUTELY not worth the money, there were bed bugs on the mattresses, the cabin was infested with roaches... they were everywhere in the microwave stove cabinets. needless to say i didnt feel comfortable sleeping in this cabin. I immediately went to the front office to complain and the girl at the front desk said she would have someone to come spray our cabin...... needless to say they never did come spray or bring any bug spray. That was not our only complaint, the grass had been mowed everywhere except around our cabin needless to say with all the rain and four kids coming and going they were ate up by ants from it. Trash was never picked up the entire 4 days we were there even though it was sitting right outside our cabin for pick up. The door to the cabin half closed, there was crumbs and trash in all cracks and crevices of the couch and under all the beds inside the cabin. Even though we were not expecting a tv, it didnt work either... it would come on but the picture was all static. We enjoyed the water slide, lazy river and fishing...... most everything outside the cabin activity wise was great and the kids had a blast, everything inside the cabin and trying to resolve problems with it was horrible, we actually left a day early due to not being able to sleep in the gross enviroment......(would have rather slept outside) no one offered a refund for the day we left early of course or all of the problems we had with the cabin..... We spent almost 700.00 and for thurs-sunday, mind you left saturday and it was no where worth that!!!! They have alot of repairs and cleaning that need to be done, and until they are fixed we will not be back. Very unhappy camper right now :(

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieR180, Owner at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Stephanie,
We were using Ecolab for our pest company and we have come to find out that the service man was only spraying 8 cabins every other month...we were not aware of this...and he had sprayed that rental unit and he said when we approached him about the problems...he knew he would have to come back....and spray it again to correct the problem...needless to say we are looking for another pest company....and our house cleaning staff were not doing a good job...either...or they would have known of the issues there...we are trying to retrain them and if they don't get it then they will be looking for another job....I am so sorry this had to be a bad experience for you and your family. I saw the trash there you are talking about and I told the guys about it...and they said they would get it....but evidently it didn't happen...We brought the manager from the Days Inn to show the housekeeprs how to clean and they have been working really hard to get our cabins clean and ready for our guests. It was really bad when she showed us the photos of cabins that were supposed to be ready....so we are dealing with that...hopefully we are making some progress....
We sincerely take your comments to heart and will do our best to correct our short comings.
Thank you!!
Latrelle and Jimmie Ragans, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
1 review
“lots of activities”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Initially while setting up the RV-There was some electrical issues. The staff was prompt to repair the issues. Had a great week for the fourth of July week. Tons of activities. The fireworks were great. Lots of rain but it kept things cool. We might make this place a yearly destination. Sites were a bit cramped mostly due to the holiday.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy123456657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieR180, Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our campground does tend to get full during our busy weekends and that does cause breakers to flip occassionally. Thank you for being patient during this time and thank you again for your compliments. We would love to see you and your family again here at Yogi Bear Jellystone Park.

Thank you,
Jimmie & Latrelle Ragans (Owners)
Trent Abbott (Manager)
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEPTUNE BEACH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You Won't Find Better Hosts in a Great Setting”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were traveling on I-10 in our new travel trailer when we had a refrigerator problem. As we were just passing Jellystone Park - we stopped. What a fantastic setting for an RV park! And so convenient to I-10 but NOT noisy. A water park and slide were being enjoyed by the kids but what I wanted to jump on a paddleboat in the beautiful clear, blue river that runs along the park.

BUT not this time - we had a refrigerator full of food that was not cooling, and had just started out on our way to New Mexico - a 1600 mile trip. Trent, the assistant manager came out to our trailer and spent all the time necessary to diagnose and repair the refrigerator problem. What great customer service! You really couldn't ask for more - and we weren't even guests!!

If you're looking for a great RV park in a beautiful setting with lots of things to do for kids and adults, this is a park you shouldn't miss. You'll be treated royally. We can't wait until our trip back on I-10 to stay here!

Lynne B.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandLynne356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieR180, Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you so much for stopping by our park. We appreciate you taking the time to review our park even though you were just passing through. We are glad we could help you out. Hopefully, you will be able to come and enjoy yourself in the near future. We look forward to making memories with your family soon! Have a great day.

Thank you,
Jimmie & Latrelle Ragans (Owners)
Trent Abbott (Manager)
Julie Brooks (Assistant Manager)
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, nice staff, very kid friendly, popular local spot.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Recent changes are very nice and clean. Cabin rentals are clean and reasonable. Love the family atmosphere. Been here for three years in a row. Lots of daily activities for kids.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mmacfarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonnieR180, Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Good Afternoon,
We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to review our park. We are so glad you like the new additions to the water park. We feel it is much better. Thank you so much for your business. We hope to see you soon. Have a great day.

Thank you,
Jimmie & Latrelle Ragans (Owners)
Trent Abbott (Manager)
Julie Brooks (Assistant Manager)
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park also viewed

 

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing