We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yogi is Just OK”

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Madison
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park & Campground located in beautiful North Florida! We are just off of I-10 (Exit 258) Address:1051 Old ST Augustine Rd. We offer rental cabins, RV, & tent sites! We have a newly added lazy river, splash pad, and zero entry swimming pool. Our 60 foot high water slide has always been a hit. Along with these amenities, we also have fishing lakes, ATV trails, putt putt golf, ping pong, playground, and a basketball and beach volleyball court. We have themed weekends such as Chocolate Lover's, Pirate, Hawaiian, Back Woods, Easter, Halloween, 4th of July, Memorial, & so much more! Combine all this with visits from Yogi Bear and there is no way you can go wrong!
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Easy check in with an attentive and friendly staff. RV sites are a nice size. Camp wasn't dirty. Pool was very dirty with hair and trash floating throughout. Pond was blue in color for algae and to probably hide how nasty the water is. Slide is big but very slow. Events and activities were pretty lame and unenthusiastic.
We did have a nice time just being together as a family but won't be rushing back. Looked like there was a really nice KOA just a few miles west.

Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager103, Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for responding to our park we are always glad to hear what our customers think. We are under New Managment this year and we are striving to make improvements.I see that you stay during are Labor Day Holiday. I was very happy to hear that you loved the staff at check in, the camp site size and how clean it was. I'm very sorry about the pool I will put on extra inspections to help prevent that. We do use special chemicals for the pond to treat it to prevent bacteria growth that turns it blue.We do have our water tested twice a month to make sure the chemicals are doing their job.It sadden me that you did not enjoy the events that we had scheduled every half an hour when we had such great turn outs for the activities. If there is something that you would like to see added we will be glad to entertain it. Our park does offer somethings that other parks do not like our slide it was on recyled water which runs a little slower. We will be refurbing the slide over the winter which will help fix that problem.We hope that you will come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"adults love"
in 2 reviews
"nice campground"
in 4 reviews
"costume contest"
in 2 reviews
"huge water slide"
in 2 reviews
"putt putt golf"
in 3 reviews
"jellystone park"
in 5 reviews
"obstacle course"
in 3 reviews
"off road"
in 2 reviews
"water area"
in 2 reviews
"great place to camp"
in 2 reviews
"older kids"
in 3 reviews
"rustic cabin"
in 2 reviews
"atv trails"
in 3 reviews
"whole family"
in 5 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 5 reviews
"yogi bear's jellystone"
in 4 reviews
"yogi and boo boo"
in 2 reviews
Filter

152 - 156 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Like a previous poster noted, this park does have potential. However, we were told a lakeside spot was not available because they were all booked. When we arrived to find the park empty we were quite surprised and disappointed. Our site turned into a pond (underwater) after a rain shower came through. The activities were neat but dirty.. All of the mats to go down the big slide were ripped and torn and the roof above the slide was in need of repair. The workers were friendly but very lazy.. It's sad this park just needs a little change to make it so much better.

Thank Jesslynm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager103, Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Im very sorry for the issues that you had. We are under New Management working hard to improve the park. We thank you for taking time to respond about our park and will try everything to improve on what you reported plus more. We have since your stay replaced our mats that were torn and have built the sites up that were flooding.Our slide is getting refurbed this winter and we hope that you will give us another try. At the time you booked there was probably not a lake side site for your length of stay and most sites on the water do not have sewer which could have been the issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The place has so much potential, but in it's current condition we would not return. Our campsite was a nice long pull through, but we had to police call it ourselves because of the bottle caps, plastic zip ties, plastic spoons and broken glass scattered around. The trash cans at the beach were overflowing all weekend. The hazards on the mini golf course did not work and when we asked in the office the boy (all we saw all weekend were teenagers running the place) said he didn't know about them because he always stays inside. The female lifeguard at the waterside spent all of her time text messaging on her phone. If there was an emergency I guess she would have just texted for help. The pool gate was not child-proof and last night I counted 7 children in the pool alone. No adult supervision. The restrooms were not cleaned on a daily basis. Karaoke and the hayride were canceled due to the weather last night, but we think the teenagers just did not want to work so they put in a movie instead. We were told the activities director went home today around 1. Really? The waterslide was closed this afternoon due to a thunderstorm that came through. It lasted for only about 30 min, but they sent the lifeguard home because it was going to rain all day. I am still here a few hours later and guess what, no rain. Definitely not worth the money we paid. If they would take the time to clean the campground, attention to detail, and be enthusiastic about having customers they may be as busy as the KOA down the road. When we told the girl in the office about why we were leaving a day early there was no apology nor concern.

Thank wanderingSerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager103, Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Im very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We thank you for taking the time to respond to let us know so that we may correct our issues.This campground is under New Management this year and I am striving hard to turn this camp ground around. Learning what works and what doesnt. Since this summer we started to upgrade our cabins, repaint and some landscaping. Over the winter we will be refurbing our slide and more. I know that we had some staff issues the ones that I got bad responses from are no longer with us. I now have a manager under me so that we may go out and inspect more to make sure everyone is doing their job. We now have in place that the bathrooms get cleaned three times a day in one shift. We did send employees home early if there was rain that lasted more then an hour. We now have them on call to return when it clears.Again we are very sorry we hope that you and your family will return to see our changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We visited this park in our Travel Trailer. They had full hook sites and pull throughs with grills and a fire pit. This park is great for "toys" You can fish, canoe, Kayak, bike ride, dirt bike, ATV, play basket ball, soccer and football. They have a pond for swimming with a huge water slide. The water is not very deep and only came to my shoulders at it's deepest and I'm 5'4". There is a great playground and beachy area for tanning and sandcastle building. The campsite was shady but it was not paved. The pool, lake and bathrooms were clean. They also have cabins of different sizes and tent sites as well. We went during Chocolate lovers weekend and they had activities all day Like chocolate BINGO, chocolate pudding slip n' slide and pie eating contest and karaoke. People also come during the day for "day camping".
The negatives: miniature golf, water slide and canoe/kayak is extra. You can add an all inclusive for and extra $20 per night for a family of 4. Which is cheaper that buying it separately. They only have rentals for Kayak/canoeing so you will have to bring your own "toys". There wasn't any cable at sites but we got great reception via our RV Antenna.
Remember this is camping so all food must be cooked at the campsite. They have a little snack bar with hotdogs, pizza and such but there is no real restaurant onsite (but you're camping). We had a great time and plan to return.

Thank simcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager103, Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you very much for the nice kind hearted reponse that you gave our campground. The Yogi staff was very happy to make memories for your family to last a life time. We look forward to you seeing the new improvements that we had made since your stay.We look forward to seeing you and your family one day again. Make sure you go to our website jellystoneflorida.com to check out the activities for next year and our face book account at jellysonefl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The staff was very rude, yogi was only out for 15 minutes a day and when we asked why the lovely staff told us it was to hot in the costume...its jellystone!! Unacceptable! The grounds were horrible, the amenities were very dirty such as the slide and pool, the so called putt putt area looked as if it had never been updated since 1970! We were very unhappy with our stay thank goodness for nice fellow campers. Save your money and go somewhere else.

2  Thank bldrkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager103, Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Hello, I know this was posted quite a long time ago however we are trying to respond back to unanswered posts and tell everyone of the changes that our park has made. First, we would like to say sorry if you felt the workers were rude to you! Since 2012, our staff and managers have almost completely changed and we now get complements on the friendliness of our workers. During our summer and busy seasons, we have Yogi Bear Visit at least twice a day. He come out three time a day on Friday & Saturdays and most weekdays depending on the number of people in the park. It is hot in the costume so the time he stays out is limited. The biggest change that we have made is the addition of our lazy river, splash pad, & zero entry swimming pool. The lazy river and splash pad has replaced the muddy lake that was once there. This has made for a much more refreshing and fun swimming environment. We still have the 60 ft high water slide which has been repainted! The pool has been cleaned and renovated so now it is zero entry and therefore handicap accessible. I am not sure what the putt putt area looked like when you stayed but I can tell you that it now has features such as a small moving wind mill, small building that the ball must go under, and a loopty loop. It has also been repainted and it in the process of being refurbished. Our new managers have been working our to get this park where is should be and we hope that you look into giving our campground another chance. Visit our webpage (www.jellystonefla.com) or add us on Facebook (Jellystonefl) for pictures and more information!

Thank you,
Trent & Ruthie (Managers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park also viewed

 

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing