We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get the Grouper sandwich”
Review of Dockside Dave's

Dockside Dave's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted Best Grouper in the South...Southern Living Magazine, DuPont Registry, Best Grouper Sandwich!Now open for Breakfast: Saturdays 7:30am-10:30am • Sundays 8:am-11am
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get the Grouper sandwich”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

I would not have taken the family to Dockside Dave's if it was not for Trip Advisor. It just looks like a run down dockside grill, but its clean and the service was good. We went for the grouper and we were not disappointed everyone finished lunch with clean plates. Three grouper sandwiches, the fish cooked differently in each and my youngest had grouper bites. It's a place you would go just for the food (the grouper) and it did not disappoint. Trip Advisor is like a local telling the best places to eat, without it you would just walk past places like Dockside Dave's.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    365
    103
    61
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coal City, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I went here for dinner after sunset. Food was good and fresh. Hubby had the grouper and he really liked it. I had the chicken since I am not a seafood person. Would go back the next time we are near here.

Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great onion rings and burgers”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Dockside Dave's was just a walk across the street from our condo in Madeira Beach. We wanted something super casual with a good variety--we were not disappointed. We sat outside to escape the noise of a large party inside and got immediate seating. Not being a fish eater, I ordered the huge 1/2 pd burger and was not disappointed. The onion rings came in a half size order and they were crispy and not greasy. It was a great first-night eating experience and one we will repeat the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchula, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grouper anyway you want!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Been here before...... i couldn't wait to come back!!!! First time I had a grouper sandwich with huge onion rings!!! Both were outstanding:-) My most recent trip my wife and I both had onion rings and grouper tacos that knocked our socks off!!!!!! Once again they aimed for the fences and knocked it out of the park:-):-):-):-)!!!!!!! Must stop in!! I drove from Anna Maria while on vacation just to have lunch!!!! Worth it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nibarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grouper was good but nothing else was......”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

My wife and I were very disappointed . The only good thing I can say about our dinner is that the grilled grouper was good. We ate there because the hotel recommended it, causing us to disregard the poor outside appearance and definite need for a good cleaning inside. There was a "greasy" feel to the air including our table top. Service was prompt, however there was only a few patrons. Our food was prepared and served quickly but the only thing that appeared freshly prepared was the fish. The thimble sized portion of coleslaw was warm and the yellow rice was cold and chewy. We complained and were given a "basket" of waffle fries as compensation. The meal cost just under $50 with the tip. Definitely not a good value considering the overall quality.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Dockside Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing