We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dockside Dave's

Dockside Dave's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted Best Grouper in the South...Southern Living Magazine, DuPont Registry, Best Grouper Sandwich!Now open for Breakfast: Saturdays 7:30am-10:30am • Sundays 8:am-11am
Ellenton, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small and busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Worth the visit. I always get the grouper and if you order the fries and onion rings you'll be taking food home.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    354
    101
    61
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beach eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Seafood Shrimp Tacos were amazing! Onions rings not so much. Too greasy. I like more breading. Great location walking distance right across from the public beach access. Staff very friendly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is old Florida. The Florida before all the high rise condos and t-shirt shops. It's small but that's part of its charm and doesn't limit the size of their grouper sandwiches....a full quarter pound. Try the grouper fritters...another quarter pound of delight. If you are looking for someplace that offers excellent grouper in a by-gone atmosphere....somewhere you'll fit right in with shorts and flip flops, Dockside Dave's is the place. Service was excellent!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had been looking forward to eating at Dave's Dockside--our family loves a good, casual seafood meal more than any other dinner out. Unfortunately, this place was a terrible disappointment. The restaurant is dirty from the door on, with sticky tables and grimy menus. Dave's wouldn't be the first seafood joint to be great despite the grime, so we didn't let it worry us at first. We realized something was seriously wrong when the seafood "bisque" arrived, along with an order of onion rings for an appetizer. The soup was gelatinous, pink, lukewarm and had the consistency of pudding. Yuck, yuck, yuck, yuck. Hands down the worst bowl of soup I've ever received in a restaurant. After bravely tasting it, we decided we couldn't eat it and set it on the edge of the table--and there it sat for our entire meal. The waiter never asked if anything was wrong, never offered to take it away. I finally covered it with a napkin because looking at it was making me ill. The onion rings were ok--very greasy with not much flavor. The 2 orders of grouper we had--one sandwich and one dinner--were easily the best thing we ordered. The fish was very good--fresh, nice texture, blackened and flavorful. Unfortunately the other dinner--blackened shrimp and scallops--came on a plate swimming with grease. The cole slaw side order for each was warm.. All in all, we spent $90 on food at Dave's, and left feeling sorry we'd come at all.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank storymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is not a fancy, upscale fish joint and it is not pretending to be one. This place is all about the food and it gets that right.

The grouper was amazing as were the scallops and shrimp. Many of the seafood dishes can be prepared in a variety of ways to suit your taste.

Seating is somewhat limited so plan ahead on busy weekends or prime dining time, but trust me it is worth the wait. Prices are reasonable and the staff is friendly.

And for the love of Pete - read the menu regarding dessert. They only have on thing - key lime pie, It is clearly stated on the menu, however I cannot tell you how many times I heard customers ask what they had for dessert. Kudos to the staff for their patience, I was ready to stand up and say "There is only one thing - pie!!!" LOL!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Em D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Dockside Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing