We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!”
Review of Madeira Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madeira Bay Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Waterloo, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Traveled in the Tampa, St Petersburg area extensively. Happened upon Madeira Bay because of their offering of spa/massage services. Rooms have a condo feel with full kitchen, clean accommodations. Spa service was top notch and hotel staff was ready and available for any needs. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Choose ocean side room. Has a nice walk-out deck that faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    67
    28
    19
    28
See reviews for
163
88
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was an excellent resort in terms of location and accessibility. There are only 6 floors, located on the end of pretty calm inlet with a marina out back. Views from the inlet side were nice, not much activity and very quiet. We did look out the top floors and they have a great gulf view. The pool is small but clean and heated. An adjacent hot tub was nice for cooler days/nights. The units are very large and have great new appliances. The refrig and stove are full size. Dishwasher was large, and the biggest benefit was an in-unit washer and dryer. The kitchen had 4-6 of everything, although we did find that some units had more baking/cooking pans and trays.

I will say that the proximity to John’s Pass was the biggest plus – literally a 2 block walk. And the Suncoast Trolley runs right in front from St. Pete beach all the way to Clearwater. We rode the full loop- it takes almost 3 hours- beware – but you sure see a lot of the coastline area that way ($4.50 for an all-day pass / $2.50 each way). Daiquiri Shak is close and nice. Latitudes (next door) was so-so / they just opened with new owners when we were there, so maybe it got better since then.

Madiera resort was great, and huge shout-out to our good friend, Crystal, who helped all of our large family group immensely. We’ll definitely be back if we can!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, pick inlet side, street noise on gulf view side. Need a high floor to actually se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GardenDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed on the 6th floor over Christmas 2012. The 2 bedrooms and pull out couch and 2 bath was very comfortable for our family of 6. The full kitchen and washer/dryer made it very family friendly. We spent a great deal of time sitting on the patio chairs on the balcony watching dolphins! It has beautiful views of the ocean on one side and is on the bay on the other side! Parking on the first floor was very convient and there was always ample parking. It was also nice to be able to walk to Johns Pass. The appliances were new and the entire place was very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here from November 26 - December 1st in Unit 411 with two balconies overlooking the bay/marina. The staff was super friendly and geniune. The condo was clean and they had even just shampooed all of the carpeting so it smelled really fresh! We had a car because we wanted to drive up to Clearwater and look at other places, but there is so much to do nearby that you really wouldn't need one. Parking is covered and we always had a spot. In fact, that's why we picked this location because it's a short walk to John's pass and many restaurants. The beach is also right across the street. The condo's bedrooms each had a queen (I think..may have been king) each with it's own bathroom (the master being slightly larger). The second room had a full size washer and dryer in the unit. They have a very nice small heated pool and jacuzzi outside. This was a great affordable place for us and we will definately come back.

Room Tip: Units on the marina side have great views of the sunrise. You must try Screwie Louie's for brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at Madeira Bay Resort 10/27/12 - 11/3/12. We stayed in Unit 308 with a view of the marina. The unit was a 2 bedroom/1 bath with a full kitchen, washer/dryer and a small balcony. The 1st bedroom had a set of bunk beds. There was a good sized bath room and the 2nd bedroom had a queen bed. The living room also had a pull out sofa bed. There was plenty of room since it was just 2 of us. It would also work well for a family of 4. It is located across the street from the beach with public beach access (but no restrooms etc...). It is within a 3 minute walk to John's pass with many shops and restaurants as well as charter boats, jet ski rentals etc...We arrived the weekend of the Seafood Festival at John's Pass which included many food and craft vendors as well as fun things for the kids. We visted Clearwater Aquarium, St. Pete Pier and went to the movies in nearby Largo the first few days we were there since it was very windy and rough surf due to Hurricane Sandy up north. We went to Gators just across John's Pass bridge in Treasure Island to see the Elvis impersonator who appears every Tuesday night. It was alot of fun. We ate at Dockside Dave's. Los Mexicanos in Indian Rocks, Woodys and The Salty Rim in St. Pete Beach and The Brown Boxer for Sunday Football. My only complaint about the condo would be that there was only 1 good beach chair. The other chairs and the beach umbrella were broken. There was only 1 frying pan and it was not non-stick. Other than those few thing, we were very happy with our stay at Madeira Bay Resort.

Room Tip: HIgher floors on the front of the building will have a view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dsaienni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently spent the week at the Madeira Bay Resort. The condo and complex were clean and beautiful. It was nice to stay in a new resort as so many are older in the area. Even though we had a car we used it very little and spent most nights at Johns Pass and still did not eat everywhere we wanted to. The best part of the condo was the water view from the 4th floor. There was so much to see. I thought I would be disappointed not having a gulf view but I was pleasantly surprised. The birds and various fish that were in clear view were amazing. I will definetly be staying at this resort again and hopefully in the same condo.

Room Tip: Condos on the marina side have an awesome view both during the day as well as at night. We loved th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kawBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Wonderful place to stay and so much to do in the area,the beachs are the number one rated and there is all types of resteruarnts in the area,Johns Pass is a fun place and if you want a good Grouper sandwich go I mile north to Dock Side Dave's

Room Tip: Ask for a updated unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsnook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.0 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
711 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
1.0 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Bay Resort

Property: Madeira Bay Resort
Address: 13235 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2632
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern resort directly across the street from the Gulf of Mexico and 2 blocks north of John's Pass Village & Boardwalk. All 1 and 2 bedroom units have complete kitchens, washers & dryers in the unit and picturesque views of the intra-coastal waterway, Marina or the Gulf of Mexico. Free WiFi is available throughout the resort. The 6th floor "Sunset Room" is equipped with a weight machine and elliptical. A heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi are adjacent to the full service marina and restaurant. Oceans West Day Spa located within the resort provides hair, nail & skin care as well as massage. A 2,000 square foot function space is available for rent for private parties, family reunions, wedding receptions and corporate meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madeira Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Bay Hotel Madeira Beach
Madeira Bay Beach
Madeira Bay Resort Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing