We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved hotel just what we where looking for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Schooner Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved hotel just what we where looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We where looking for place we could take our pet and this was perfect place. Very easy to access room and dog walk next door . It's small and has a simple beach life style to it . Nothing fancy about the room but it was clean , for the price don't think you can beat it . Only steps to the beach , where we spent all our time anyway . Plan on booking again next year .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jgosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    47
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
66
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I'm not one to usually complain but this place needs a HONEST review.

1. Extremely noisy.....paper thin walls and I mean paper thin as you can hear EVERYTHING.
2. Large stains on the comforter, filthy!
3. Fire Alarm was missing....this is a huge safety issue.
4. Staff not very friendly as we felt like we checked into the trailer park.
5. Bathroom window was missing and when we notified the staff no one really seemed to care. HMM...how sad.
Do yourself a favor and DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrsTricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great place and clean. just renovated..people very nice. patio very prety and great view of the gulf ,also try dakari shack acrosss street for oysters and margarita!! awesome The beds were great very clean the micro and fruidge came in handy. very quaint and not so commercially. going back in january.

Room Tip: get one in the back kind of noisy in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We rented room 105 for a night to celebrate a friends birthday and wee had a great time! The room we had was small but was recently renovated and was in great condition for an older beachfront hotel. No mold or mildew, just a fresh clean room. It had a microwave, TV, coffee maker, small fridge and small microwave. Beds were very comfy. The best part is that you are right on the beach. If the beach is not your thing they have a small but nice pool area. The only drawback I could see is that the commons area is located outside of some of the rooms and it can be noisy in the morning. Staff is friendly, and helpful, but they too can be loud in the commons area having a coffee break of cig break. We enjoyed ourselves and will surely be back. Pet Friendly and that is a plus.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room away from the commons area for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank missingmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here twice, in August and then again at the beginning of Sept. The first room I got had two double beds, and a mini fridge and microwave, on the second floor. The second room was an "efficiency" which also had a stove and full size fridge, and was on the first floor.

As previous reviewers have said, the doors do not seal very well, which causes a couple of problems. The smoke from outside is able to drift into the room s(didn't bother me), and the noise levels are pretty high.

As a dog friendly hotel, there was constant barking during both of my stays, but I didn't really hear it inside the room at night.

During my second stay, there was a huge group there for a party, and they were very loud. They seemed to calm down around 10pm though.

Staying here is also more like staying at a condo than a hotel. They do not have daily cleaning service, but they do provide a basket of towels that you can leave outside your door if you need clean towels.

Everything in the room was new and clean. I am really surprised at the reviewer that said the room they got was dirty. Both times, mine was spotless.

The parking can get tight, but they have an overflow lot across the street.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room on the second floor towards either end of the building will be quiter than the ones on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lvLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Loved this "on the gulf" hotel. Only 16 rooms, but all are remodeled and beautiful. Our dog had plenty of room to enjoy too. The pool was clean and open well into the evening. We were in the 2 bedroom apt. on the second floor. Nice! We had our own private patio.... ocean front and over looking the pool . 2 flat screen TV's, full kitchen, living and dining area. Bathroom was small but very modern and clean. Could have used more counter space there for health and beauty items. Rain head shower was great. I will return again. We checked out some other places while in the area, but if you are looking for pet friendly, small, and close to the gulf water, this is it. There is a park right next door for "Fido". King sized bed in master was very comfortable and well dressed. AC worked well.

Room Tip: Talk to reservation clerk for your room needs...all are layed out differently. They want to work wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here the whole weekend for a friends 50th birthday party. When I arrived I was unable to check in due to no one at the counter...The rooms were nice and new and clean. Loved the pool, and absolutely loved the water bowl to clean off the sand from your feet! LOL It's very close walk to the water too. I have lived in FL for 28 years and stayed at many hotels and this one was really great. Kudo's to Lam!! He was so friendly and helpful...I didn't like the fact the pool closes at 9pm, most hotels stay open till atleast 10pm. The maides were to be desired, we ran out of toiletpaper and they were no where to be found until the next morning when they were sitting outside our room early in the morning talking VERY loudly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.9 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach Suites Resort
Beach Suites Resort
#8 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Snug Harbor Inn
Snug Harbor Inn
#5 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
2.2 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#20 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Hotel

Property: Schooner Hotel
Address: 14500 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2180
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Madeira Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Madeira Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Schooner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida
Schooner Madeira Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing