We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sculley's” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sculley's Boardwalk Grille

Sculley's Boardwalk Grille
Ranked #20 of 79 Restaurants in Madeira Beach
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alberta,Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sculley's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a great place to kickback, enjoy the scenery and the atmosphere while eating lunch or having a drink. I recommend sitting out on the pier as you might be lucky enough to spots some dolphins. However if you sit down below at the pier you might catch the live music which is great as well. The service is friendly, relaxed and prices are reasonable. Definitely would revisit if in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buggedeyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    276
    201
    114
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Like many beach places, the atmosphere exceeds the food. Same sort of menu you kind find hundreds of places near the water....much of it fried. Drinks were very good. Service was good. The fun atmosphere made up for the average food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's all about location, right?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The view of the water, waiting for another dolphin sighting is priceless. Johns pass is a great place to hang. The food here was very much just "ok" and the service was the worst I have had in a long time. The are riding the wave of location and it is very obvious, and unfortunate. Would not return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glcharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Even though we live in the area, I'd never been to John's Pass. Made a day of it with a walk through Pass-a-grille further south then stopped here for a late lunch. John's Pass is basically a tourist attraction with lots of little shops and quaint decor that makes it look like it was a fishing village long ago. Several restaurants cater to visitors with the typical beach fare of fruity drinks and seafood.

Sculley's is designed to look like a collection of buildings on stilts and does, in fact, sit partially over the water. The outside deck has a few tables which provide a good dose of sun and a view of the pass and boats that cruise by, as well as the tourists strolling along the boardwalk.

The food is decent, not heavily greasy and seasoned just fine. We had the fried shrimp, fried grouper, calamari, and a salad. The fried dishes were lightly breaded and tasty as was the salad.

Though I wouldn't go out of my way to drive down for a seafood meal when there are so many quality restaurants in Pinellas County, Sculley's is definitely a good bet for a good meal and excellent ambiance if you're in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cvanthul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No trip is complete unless we eat at Scully's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Every time we go to Florida we make sure to dedicate a day to stop at John's Pass Boardwalk to visit Scully's. Food is great and so is the atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mandymoe_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sculley's Boardwalk Grille also viewed

 

Been to Sculley's Boardwalk Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing