We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extreme fun”

Woody's Watersports
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Woody's Watersports is a great family fun activity. You can make many lasting memories with your family and friends. Jet ski/waverunner rentals start at an hour and can go up to four hours from John's Pass Village in Madeira Beach. Only takes 3 minutes to go under the bridge and in the Gulf of Mexico for a ride of your life. Both new and experienced riders are welcome to join us. You will be greeted by a friendly staff all who wants you to enjoy your rental experience. Call or go on our website for all the details.
LAKELAND FL
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“extreme fun”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was looking for something fun to entice my teenage boys to the beach and this is definitely it! First of all Woody was extremely helpful answering all my questions on the phone before I called to book. He continued to be just as helpful in person. It was the first time for all of us. We rented the 110 hp and even with those you can fly over the water. The boys loved it except the grumpy one who was too young to drive. It is a bit of a work out though especially so for the passenger who has to hold on. You will definitely feel it in your shoulders after an hour on the gulf. And if you happen to jump off into the water it isn't as easy as teenage boys make it look to get back ON! looking forward to going again...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JBDAVIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    11
    0
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
“Fun jet skiing experience. Excellent service”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Woody's Watersports provided a great experience to highlight my day trip to St Petersburg. We were greeted by Woody as soon as we walked in, and he referred us to an assistant, Michael, since he was already with customers. Michael was very competent and helpful in explaining the options, rules, and operations. All the staff was genuinely friendly, and even remembered our names after we got back after an hour! The jet skis are Yamaha 3-seaters and you can rent them at 110, 130, and 150 HP. We rented the 130 HP which provided plenty of OOMPH for 2 people. the 110 HP would have been plenty fine for those preferring a more moderate cruising pace. It was a blast zooming around the gulf coastal area! There are storage bins, disposable, waterproof cameras available for purchase, and a small, private changing area. When we left Woody even made sure we knew how to get to our next destination. I will definitely seek their business again if I find myself in the area

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ckairis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great and affordable jetski rentals”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband rented a jetski for an hour. The ski was in great shape and was much less expensive to rent than the ones at the resort ion St. Pete Beach. He got a discount from the rental packaged with a parasailing place next door.
The employees were really helpful and they locked up his phone so he could call me when he was done.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cartercrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best for Waverunner rentals at Johns Pass”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Have used Woodys several times. Woody is such a nice guy. Go early in the morning for discounts. We almost always see dolphins, and often have them swim beside us.

There are no deposits required like other places. He will also capture a pic for you as you go out.

Highly recommend!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Funvacations4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“GREAT TIME!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great time, very competative prices. Owned by a very nice couple. WE had a blast and cant wait to go back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 391nicoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Watersports also viewed

 
Madeira Beach, FL
 

Been to Woody's Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing