We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Song Resort Townhouse #343
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Spent 11 days at the Surf Song and it was another great vacation.This was our third year there,we were right by the pool and never was bothered by noise.it is the only place that I stay when we go to Madeira Beach.We have stayed at many places along Gulf Blvd and this one suits us the best, great location, directly across the street from John's Pass, lots of stores many good restaurants near by, short walk to the beach, great pool, and very clean, helpful staff, and great rates.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

I travelled to Madeira Beach in August 2012 with my 2 children and stayed at the Surf Song. This resort is located directly across the road from John's Pass - a famous fishing village, now tourist attraction. The resort is situation right on the beach, and also has a pool.
The staff at Surf Song are very friendly and go out of their way to help you in any way they can. We extended our stay by 2 nights as we just didn't want to leave!
There are several BBQs for guest use and there was never a wait to use one. There are conveniences all around: stores, restaurant, excursions, etc. The grocery store is a 5 minute drive away as well.
Parking is convenient, and covered, and the laundry facilities are handy too!
The condos are independently owned, so I can't comment on any of them other than where we stayed, but it was very nice! There was also a balcony with a partially obstructed view of the ocean, but nothing to complain about!
All in all, this is a great resort and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CdnMeliaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Surf Song for the past 4 summers.
Room 256:
The first 3 years we stayed in room 256. It is a studio right above the pool. Small and not glamorous but perfect for what we want: gorgeous view of the ocean from the bay window, close to the grills and pool. Read the description closely before booking this room as it is basically a motel room with a fridge, but you can't beat the price and still be right on the beach.
Room 239:
This past year we took our children and stayed in room 239, in the "newer" hotel side of the resort. We had a nice balcony and good side view of the beach. The room was a one bedroom one bath, and the bath was rather large. The kitchen could use some updating, but the rest of the rooms were very nice.
The weather the week we stayed (week of July 4th) was not good so we spent more time in the room than I would have liked. The hallway (an interior corridor) that lead to the rooms was loud. Throughout the day and night I could hear people coming and going, especially children up and down the hallway. I was thankful our room was near the end of the hallway and that lessened the number of people walking about. 2 out of the 4 days I was at the resort, however, the elevator was out of order. One of those days was the day I checked out and was a real hassle since I had to carry all of my families things down the stairs.

The pool at this hotel is one of the nicest I have been in. While it isn't large, it is in great condition and allows for different groups of people to socialize and enjoy the pool at the same time. They lock the pool at night (9:30, which I think is early), but I understand it is to keep the noise level down. There are many lounge chairs available between the pool and the beach for catching some rays, and the beach is steps away.
There are three propane grills available on a patio to cook on, however, during our most recent stay all three were having issues and had to be started with a lighter.

John's Pass with shopping, and restaurant's is directly across the street and an easy walk.

Check in is at 4:00, and check out is at 10:00. It would be nice if checkout was at 11:00, the extra hour would have been nice.

The resort managers/owners have attempted to institute policies which keep this hotel from becoming a "party" hotel, which I appreciate. Visitors are supposed to obtain visitor passes, and parking is very limited. That being said, it was understandably very crowded on July 4th.

We will continue to stay at this hotel for years to come, because the location and price can't be beat.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms around the pool/patio area unless noise is not a problem for you. It can become quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyFL03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

our family has been coming here for the past 20 years,stayed in room 118,we checked in sat .6/15/13 _6/22/13. we had two peaceful nights only,started getting woke up every morning by the loud noise of the laundry room next to both bedrooms at about 6:30 am,people are up past quiet hours drinking,swimming,talking loudly ,playing shuffleboard etc.,no matter where you stay in phase one of this property,you will here all the noise due to the fact that the sound echoes throughout the pool area.we were hearing loud talking from the third balcony behind our unit from phase two of the property which is much newer and has better insulating qualities where you wont hear this going on until 3 am.This unit doesnt even have a step mat in your unit to pick up all the sand and dirt from being tracked throughout the unit,so we purchased one for $1.98 at walmart,both alarm clocks are broke,very limited utensils in the kitchen compared to other units,no outlet cover in master bedroom wall,bed placed against window which should be against back wall to allow you to walk more freely,both bathrooms are outdated from the 1940s,upon checking in after 5pm,i walked in our unit taking off my shoesoutside the door,walked to the refrigerator to place our cooler inside and my feet were completely black from dirt and grit.This problem was corrected at 9am the next morning immediately.Also,dont plan on using the picnic tables for eating because everybody places their pool towels and sunblock on them instead of the lounge chairs which are by the pool.Bottom line is,you could stay anywhere on madeira beach or treasure island and pay the same price or slightly higher but get a real,vacation which includws getting some rest and relaxation.Something to know,all units are individually owned so some units may have more ammenitiesand more updating than others,this owner is just cheap and doesnt want to invest in his unit,especially since he was given thirty thousand dollars each for both of his units from BP oil spill compensation,im sure he was spending his money on a high quality vacation resort!!!!!

Room Tip: stay in phase two to avoid the sleepless nights,or simply find other places throughout the area as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Weve always loved staying at the surf song. Great price for the location, great view, short walk to the beach, very clean! We decided to stay in room #118 this year, which is right across from the pool & also beside the laundry room. You never hear the actual laundry machine while the cleaning crew is in session, BUT, you do hear EVERYTHING the cleaning crew is saying, AND they say alot starting around 730am. If your an earlybird, that wont bother you, if you want to sleep in, forget it! We chose room #118 because we have an 11 month old & a 14 yr old, so easy access beside the pool sounded great. HOWEVER, the "late" night crowds are very loud, ANYONE passing by your room, even at 1am or 3am, you HEAR everything!!!! It woke me up numerous times. I even heard random people from the beach at 3am jumping in the pool, then the next morning saw all their bottles around the pool.
AGAIN, we LOVE the surf song for many reasons, we just DIDNT enjoy ROOM 118 - very NOISY location!

Room Tip: any room in the 200s would be perfect! balcony, great view, less traffic
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jessica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

never staying here before it was a great choice. Gulf front room with all amenities. Friendly staff.....VERY clean and conveniently located across from John's Pass Village. It's a quiet location to be so close to a heavily travelled area. Anything u would need is within walking distance. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pr8head1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a beach view room (#227) and were very satisfied. To be able to walk out onto the white sands of Madeira Beach each and every morning was a bonus for us. The room was clean and very adequate and the kitchen had more than we needed as far as equipment. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The location of the Surf Song (across from John Pass) was perfect for evening walks or for dolphin watching if you are lucky enough to be there when they appear in the waters off the boardwalk. This resort would be a consideration for a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
748 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
1.2 mi away
Schooner Hotel
Schooner Hotel
#5 of 15 in Madeira Beach
163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Suites Resort
Beach Suites Resort
#10 of 15 in Madeira Beach
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Song Resort Townhouse #343? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Song Resort Townhouse #343

Address: 12960 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2637
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Price Range: $199 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Song Resort Townhouse #343 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Song Resort is not your typical high rise hotel. Only 40 units, all individually owned. No two units are alike, offering hotel units, studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms. Large beach front heated pool. Directly on Madeira Beach at John's Pass. Managed by SunHost Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Surf Song Resort Townhouse #343 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Song Hotel Madeira Beach
Surf Song Madeira Beach
Surf Song Resort Townhouse #343 Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing