We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
48
28
9
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
28
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom apartment across the street john's pass stores and restaurants kitchen area great pool full kitchen beach chairs ocean balcony summers office mattress florida dryer
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 90 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2007

A wonderful place on the beach that reminds me of old Flordia, before all the high rises and fast paced development. Friendly and helpful people who look after your every request.

Date of stay: November 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank r47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We just returned from another week at Surf Song - we were there last year and could not wait to go back. The unit we rented last year was unavailable so we booked another one, still overlooking the Gulf. We were happy to have made the switch - this one - unit 333 - had the living room overlooking the balcony and the gulf and it was wonderful to sit there, where inside or out, and be able to look out onto the beach. We saw some fantastic lightning way out at sea at night from our cozy chairs on the balcony. The bedroom was perfect for the 2 of us, the kitchen just right and the bathroom was surprisingly large. The living room/dining area had a couch, a recliner and tv and there was a table with 4 chairs also. The entire unit had an appropriate beach theme and was bright and sunny. The weather was on our side also - perfect days for the beach and jetskis and warm nights which we took advantage of by watching beautiful sunsets over the Gulf and then going to dinner at The Pub which has great good and casual dining outside if you wish. There's everything you could want or need (7 11, food stores, drug stores) nearby so you never had to worry if you needed something.
We're already planning our trip back next year again and might sneak a trip in during the year if the airfares are right!
I would definitely recommend this resort to all - families, couples - we met some really nice people again this year and hope to meet more!

Date of stay: August 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Malibubeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

My husband and I just got back from a week’s stay at the Surf Song in Madeira Beach. Needless to say, our trip was quite a disappointment.

We booked our condo at the Surf Song, #334, through the owner of the unit. We were told that everything in the condo had been updated and it had an ocean view. We were sadly misinformed. The condo did have a fresh coat of paint and some cute tropical paintings on the walls, but overall, the unit was very dirty and outdated. The worst was the bathroom, which had 40 years worth of crud on the sink faucet and a moldy shower curtain. As for the ocean view, our sliding glass door opened to the roof with a half-dozen air conditioning units on top. Beyond the a/c units, and only when standing twenty feet to the left of the sliding glass door, could you then see the ocean. As far as the beach outside the Surf Song goes, it was covered with seaweed to the point that you could not even swim in the water. The pool was OK, but didn’t seem to have much chlorine in it and it tasted like salt.

Unfortunately we had not done adequate research on Madeira Beach. The area is quite out-dated and seriously lacks in the restaurant department. The people there were not our type of crowd, as we were the only people in the town without tattoos! We had read quite a bit online before booking our trip, but one lesson I learned is that online reviews are subjective – what’s great to one person is might be awful to another.

Our trip headed uphill when we decided to go to Orlando for three days and Sarasota for another. If you ever need a great place to stay in the Disney area, head for the Gaylord Palms Resort – it saved our vacation morale!

I guess if you're looking for a cheap place to stay by the beach the Surf Song would be OK, but if you're looking for a little bit of class and cleanliness, skip the Surf Song.

Date of stay: July 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ashley520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed in room 334 in the Surf Song for a week this May. The room was a 1 bedroom apartment, complete with a small, full kitchen. The apartment had recently been remodeled and served our purposes quite nicely. It wasn't exactly luxurious, but for $400 for an entire week, it was a great value. The overall resort was old, but quite nice. The pool area is especially nice--all seems to be new with a shuffleboard and nice covered picnic tables. The people staying at the resort--some who come there regularly or own units--seemed very friendly and helpful. The one downside for us was that the beach umbrella rentals are actually in front of the Beach Club, about three properties down. Other than that, we'd definitely recommend the place for budget minded travelers looking for a good deal.

Date of stay: May 2007
1  Thank lms347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

My familly and I have been vacationing at the surf song resort in Florida since my first birthday way back in 1976, 30 years later we're still enjoying this place for all the same reasons. The cozy rooms and beach front location provide fabulous sunset views and the premises are always clean. The nice sized pool offers a refreshing splash when your returning from a day at the beach.

The shops across the street at Johns Pass offer all the souvenirs you can wish for and there are even water sports offered such as parasailing and wave runners.

Local restaurants offer good food and there are many to choose from within a couple miles.

If your looking for the newest modern high rise resorts then the surf song is not for you, but if you enjoy the old style quaint ambience of a 60's era motel take a trip to the surf song in spring (april, may june).

Date of stay: February 2007
1  Thank Flyer803157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews