We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant Pet Friendly Mini-Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Changing Tides Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madeira Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Changing Tides Cottages
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Pet Friendly Mini-Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were met at the gate by Cathy and her pooch, "Ace"...we were immediately given the rules about locking the gate behind us...we later met "Charlie", her cat. He was cool. We live in Orlando, the 2 hr drive was well worth it. We stayed in Southwest #2, 2/1. One bedroom had a full size bed, the other, 2 twin beds. The living room had a Futon that converted to a double. It was small and cozy. Yes it is dated, but we liked that about the place...the view from our cottage was Priceless. Cathy was a great host...she even rode from the boat ramp back to the complex with my husband so he knew exactly where to bring the boat. You'll have your own slip...easy access to John's Pass, fishing, paddle boarding, or whatever water sports you desire. Best part, it's intoxicatingly RELAXING! We will go back...

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    21
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
58
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Want the ideal laid back beach bum life for a little while? This is a dream come true! Kathy has made this rustic oasis on the intracoastal waterway. Her dog Ace roams around with guests and their pets.The collection of little cottages all woven together with walkways lined by native plants in a fenced in area feet from the water. We saw a family of Manatees lazing in front for almost 30 mins. Grab a kayak and vest on a whim to go explore the near by islands off John's Pass.The small docks and retaining wall are perfect for casual fishing. Drop by West Wind Bait and Tackle up the road and chat with Tom. He will give you tips on where to find fishing sweet spots. No fishing gear? He has loaners. On your way back the Candy Kitchen is a must see. Worth standing in line for! Changing Tides is the best!!! We now consider this our vacation home.

Room Tip: Expect cozy and casual apartment sizes with everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karma_shmarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I came here with my girlfriend and stayed in one of the cottages right on the water. Although the place was completely packed we rarely saw anyone other than our neighbors across the way. Our porch was literally right on the water, which was great for breakfast every morning and sitting out on whenever we weren't on the beach. The beach is only a short 2 min walk and crossing Gulf Blvd was no problem, they even have bright neon flags to wave down at drivers. Johns pass is about a 5 min walk. The kayaks were great, there were a good amount of boats out but it's a no wake zone so it was easy to navigate around them. If you have any questions just ask Kathy she will gladly give you helpful advice on anything you ask. I don't know when since I like traveling and experiencing different places but the next time I'm in the area I will definitely be back to Changing Tides.

Room Tip: Get a room right on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PowderBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

A very quaint closely group of little colorful cottages right on the water, and I DO MEAN on the water! A couple of blocks from the ocean, but right on a cup-de-sac of the canal with a good view of the boats moored there. Very friendly owners! The cottage was very clean, and there were several dogs around including ours..:-) The area is small, and there is not much to do except go to the beach, about a 5 minute walk. Be sure to go to Bubba Gump's..always a fun place. The cottages are somewhat small, as are the bathrooms, but perfectly fine for a weekend or a week or so. They are nestled in a very quiet neighborhood and blend in so well they are almost hidden from the street. The only suggestion I would have would be to get some new linens, and towels, both of ours were thin and worn, and perhaps update some kitchen utensils. It would not keep us from staying there again however, and it is a good value, with good staff. Just keep in mind, if you are looking for shopping malls, night life, or a variety of restaurants you will not find it at this beach. What you will find is total solitude!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PILOT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiteflier, Owner at Changing Tides Cottages, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort for reviewing Changing Tides Cottages.

We are glad that you enjoyed and found relaxing our colorful and friendly group of cottages, guests, and their pets. It truly does make for a homey, fun place to be on vacation and often the making of new friends.

Kathy is sure that ‘you guys’ and Renee schemed together to get the new sheets and towels that Renee has been mentioning for a few months! Needless to say, with a smile on her face, and a credit card in her hands, Renee is now off to find the White Sales within a 50-mile radius!

Should you choose to visit us again, which we certainly hope you will, perhaps you will take the short trip down to St. Petersburg, known for numerous wonderful restaurants, museums, and entertainment. Also, we will make sure we give you a list of our own favorite local restaurants and things to do.

Have a wonderful summer and again, thanks for taking your time to write.

Kathy, Owner / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I and our three hounds spent this past weekend at Changing Tides Cottages. We live about an hour away and needed a mini vacation that would accommodate three dogs, which isn't always easy to find. We were greeted by the owner, Kathy and her pup Ace. They were both very friendly and inviting. We stayed in the jungle room which was clean and adorable and a perfect size for all three dogs and ourselves. The furniture is pet ready with covers also! We arrived late on Friday so Saturday afternoon we let our dogs explore. The community is gated in except for along the canal, which worried me a little at first, but our dogs as well as everyone else's seemed to know better and just avoid. We spent a good two+ hours letting our dogs explore while we talked to all of the friendly visitors to the community. All of which did not mind the fact that our dogs wanted to explore their rooms also. :) Overall, I think Changing Tides was even better than expected. And for anyone traveling from outside the area, it is about a five minute walk from John's Pass, which has everything you would need for an extended stay and it's about a 2 minute walk to our gorgeous Gulf beaches!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was a very charming place with a very charming hostess. It was great to be able to open the door to our cottage and not to have to worry about the dog ending up in the street (the whole compound is fenced), and, although our place wasn't on the water we were allocated a couple of chairs and an umbrella to sit out and enjoy the channel and dolphins. Sadly, after driving 3 days to get here we found out that the only off leash areas were about half an hour drive away. I can't fathom such a densely populated community without an off leash area within walking distance of everyone so this was very dissappointing and will keep us from returning as the point of driving was to get some heat over the holidays without boarding our dog.

It could use some updating without a doubt, our little cottage was a bit too stuffed with furniture, the kitchen and bathroom cabinets mostly didn't close, the stove seemed to only function of one heat level regardless of the cook's intentions, and the bbqs were too old and rusted out to use. As well, if you are intending to cook either bring your own supplies or ask Kathy if she squirrels away some good stuff. I brought some pots and pans and utensils but we bought a strainer (donated at end of the week) as well as a cutting board. I forgot a good knife and didn't expect to find one so I bought a new cheap one. Knife and cutting board went home with us - sorry. But, we accidently left the towels we had brought so we've added to the community there. Towels were provided but I wanted to bring old since we had the dog.

But, very charming. I'd recommend absolutely if you are travelling with a dog. Everyone will be comfortable.

Room Tip: Book early and get a view of the channel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiteflier, Owner at Changing Tides Cottages, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Since Madeira Beach and the South Central Gulf Beaches are so pet friendly, we are going to assume that we as Hosts did not do well informing our Guest as to the dog amenities of the area.

In Madeira Beach alone, we have one dog beach, several restaurants, and an entire boardwalk that opens their decks and water bowls to our four-legged friends. Madeira Beach’s main recreational center also permits on-leash walking and running; this walk is about a mile and half long with a major part of it along the edge of the inter-coastal waterway. Nice. We also have blocks and blocks of friendly neighborhoods for dog walking.

Outside of immediate Madeira Beach, 25-30 minutes away, we have Fort Desoto State Park Beach. This was rated the Number One beach in the US within the last few years and includes a mile of dog-friendly, off-leash beach fun. We think 25-30 minutes is hardly long for such a lovely day to enjoy with your pups on the Gulf of Mexico.

In addition, we have several large, beautiful treed parks, both county and state, within a 5-15 minute drive that allow dogs to run and play off leash.

So one can see why we feel we were not informative enough for our Guest.
This area definitely has a lot to offer for folks traveling with pets!

Our Jungle Room is one of our most popular cottages. Upon reading the review, we did go in and find a few squeaky doors and our knives were in disarray. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.

We are in the process of bringing in new BBQ’s; they usually get a good workout in the lovely days of summer and fall.

We thank our Guest for taking the time to write the review and for thinking of us. We hope at some future date that they will come again and enjoy the area.

Kathy, Owner / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in fishing cottage. Cathy is an outstanding hostess, personable and friendly. Cottage was clean and view was outstanding. So much better than a hotel room.
You can walk to most everything or very short drive. 2 blocks from Johns Pass. Your in the center of everything without all the noise that goes along with it. Changing Tides is pet friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jej55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
0.1 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#13 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Schooner Hotel
Schooner Hotel
#5 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
0.8 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Changing Tides Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Changing Tides Cottages

Property: Changing Tides Cottages
Address: 225 Boca Ciega Dr, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2882
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Changing Tides Cottages of Tampa Bay's Madeira Beach, a family and pet-friendly cottage resort, nestled on a small peninsula in Boca Ciega Harbor, beside the Gulf Beaches. The charming complex is comprised of one and two bedroom cottages, fully furnished, nestled along one hundred and eighty feet of a secluded inlet off Boca Ciega Bay, with boat docks and a water-front deck right next to the water. Changing Tides is located two blocks from the shops and boardwalks of John's Pass. It is also one block from an uncrowded sugar-sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Changing Tides Cottages Hotel Madeira Beach
Changing Tides Hotel
Changing Tides Resort
Changing Tides Cottages Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing