We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mc Donald, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for three nights mid week. With only about 50 total rooms, no crowds. Clean, comfortable rooms with balconys overlooking the beach. Most parking is covered. Beach chairs, toys and umbrellas are provided (free) on a first come basis. The hotel is a short walk from John's Pass, plenty of little shops and restaurants. Seabreeze Grill was by far the best place we ate, just few miles north on Gulf Blvd.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    196
    47
    22
    20
See reviews for
237
338
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I live in central Florida and were just looking for a place to get away for the weekend. Driving down the coast we came across this hotel. It was perfect. Very quiet private beach. Very clean. They gave us a room on the top floor with the balcony overlooking the beach for the sunet. It was a 5 minute walk to St Johns Pass which is a nice place with shops and places to eat. We ate at Bubba Gumps on the Bay outside and watched the dolphins jump in the Bay as we ate our meal with the sunset. In the morning we watched the dolphins go up the coast from our room and enjoyed a swim at the beach and then the pool before heading back home. Great place for a quiet trip away.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for a family wedding ,it sits on the beach and has beautiful sunsets .
The room was very clean and bed was comfortable .Sand is every where . Johns Pass is within walking distance and has a lot of things to do and see.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpanos408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

What a wonderful place!..we stayed at a 2 bedrooms overlooking the ocean and my what a view. It is def not a fancy place or anything but the view is awesome and we absolutely love the convenience of everything...beach on one side and swimming pool on the other..local restaurants everywhere ..some walking distance. John's Pass is full of locally owned shops that are welcoming and willing to work out a deal!...My kids absolutely enjoyed their stay and had a blast.

The only flaw is the stained pillow in one of our room..(please have housekeeping do a check when cleaning) ..which is no bother since we always bring our own pillows and blankets when traveling.

If you want to relax and enjoy the beach ....stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drakejn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Just going to give my pros and cons

Pros:

Excellent location location directly on the beach close to John's Pass.

Staff is nice and parking is no problem.

Nice pool area. Probably 5 or 6 tables with umbrellas and plenty of lounge chairs.

Balconies for all rooms.

Microwave and small frig.

Cons:

Room size 320 square feet is really small.

The 2 chairs on the balcony are $4 ones you get at the home depot. Sit in the chairs and you look directly into the railing so you are always stretching up to see over it. They need to invest in some decent bar height chairs. And the AC is right there making a racket.

Air conditioning cools unevenly and is loud. My kids slept on the pull out couch right next to the AC. My wife and I slept on the queen bed. There is a half wall in between the acts like a barrier for the air to get to the back of the room. For the kids not to freeze we had to be uncomfortable warm. It's Florida you should have your controlled climate work better.

Bathrooms are tiny.

Bed is hard.

Need to replace the shower heads by the beach and pool.

Summary:

If you are staying for a week get a condo,. I paid Iess per day for a 1100 sq ft two bedroom two bath condo with a washer and dryer than this place.

For a couple it is OK.

If you have more than 2 to a room look elsewhere.

Would I stay her again? No. like to be comfortable when I sleep. I wasn't.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrimsonBlackMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Traveler thank you for your recent review. We are very happy you enjoyed your visit to Madeira Beach. I am however sorry that you had a couple issues with your room. All of our rooms cooled by Amana PTAC AC units. They work well and sometimes too well. They do tend to cool the occupants on the sleeper sofas down first. This is why we provide a heavy blanket for your comfort in the room. Also all of our balconies have the A-50 Aruba strapped chairs on them. They are very comfortable and we have very few if any complaints on them. Here is a link provided to the chairs we have.

http://floridapatio.net/product/a-50-outdoor-patio-strap-chair/

We are very thankful for your review. Please keep us in mind for a future stay as we do offer a 2 bedroom Beach Front Suite that you may find more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a wonderful experience in April 2014. The beach is lovely, and the pool was great. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We watched dolphins from the balcony every morning. Very convenient location. The prices were right, the views were AMAZING, we will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a typical old Florida beach hotel. It isn't fancy but very nice and clean. The staff is friendly and attentive. If you want a laid back hotel with a great beach and pool. Give it a try. The also have a very nice gas grill for guests.

Room Tip: Ask for one not bordering the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
1.0 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
1.0 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Tre...
#5 of 48 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Property: Barefoot Beach Hotel
Address: 13238 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708-2633
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where you will find shopping, dining and entertainment for the whole family! We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing